Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Traxxas 2wd Slash Thread >

Traxxas 2wd Slash Thread

Like Tree20Likes

Traxxas 2wd Slash Thread

Reply

Old 10-10-2011, 04:36 PM
  #61  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 132
Default

Okay thanks. I'll pick a temperature gun up next time I'm at the hobby store. This slash is my first electric and I'm hooked! They are just so much easier than nitro but still have great performance. Not to mention the slash is TOUGH, I've taken some hard off center landings with it and nothings broken
MT_MASTER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 05:10 PM
  #62  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
sperera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Posts: 588
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

+1 on the temp gun, its amazing how the slightest change can have a big impact on temps, i got mine from feebay for $18 and works fine for me, ive compared it to a mates more expensive gun and its spot on.
sperera is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 05:55 PM
  #63  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
godofcable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Spring Hill Fl
Posts: 2,022
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

I use a little $20 Duratrax one. Picked it up at the LHS. Works like a charm
godofcable is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 08:03 PM
  #64  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 132
Default

Sorry for all the questions but I have another one
With a 2s lipo does the slash overheat on stock gearing? The guy at the lhs said that I would need to gear down to run 2s. Has anyone had problems with stock gearing on the vxl and 2s lipos?
Thanks again
MT_MASTER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 08:40 PM
  #65  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,207
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MT_MASTER View Post
Sorry for all the questions but I have another one
With a 2s lipo does the slash overheat on stock gearing? The guy at the lhs said that I would need to gear down to run 2s. Has anyone had problems with stock gearing on the vxl and 2s lipos?
Thanks again
Well it depends on how lng you run it and how you run it. Best is to take a temp reading every minute or two to see where your at. After you check it you will have a better idea on the gearing for the type of running you do.
wyd is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 08:45 PM
  #66  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
sperera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Posts: 588
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

2s should be well ok.

this is no guranatee however. depends on how u run in, what the discharge of the lipo is (how many c) and if youve fitted bigger wheels.

the stock vxl system is great and the waterproof makes it an easy choice for most. i found running 5000mah 30c 2s that I HAD to have cool down periods after each pack, i suggest you do the same.

to be 100% safe get a temp gun, its the only way of knwowing for sure all is happy
sperera is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 08:57 PM
  #67  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (44)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Some where
Posts: 3,040
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

I made one before the STRC kit and made a pretty big difference in the jumping and overall turn-in def. a step in the right direction. Don't get me wrong my stock chassis slash was fun 2
NitroLuver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 09:14 PM
  #68  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 132
Default

Okay thanks. Where do you guys cut air holes? I'm figuring it's going to be necessary with electric just like nitro. Would the mesh in the entire windshield work? Or will I lose strength even if i shoe goo everything around it?

Last edited by MT_MASTER; 10-11-2011 at 10:30 PM.
MT_MASTER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 04:11 PM
  #69  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 132
Default

Will this also lessen the parachute effect?
Thanks
MT_MASTER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 06:17 PM
  #70  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
sperera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Posts: 588
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

holes in the body, as long as in the right place, will help the parachute effect.

i dont run holes, or know anyone that does, simply to cool the motor. if your motor is getting too hot under the truck body your gearing aint right
sperera is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 09:15 PM
  #71  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 132
Default

Originally Posted by sperera View Post
holes in the body, as long as in the right place, will help the parachute effect.

i dont run holes, or know anyone that does, simply to cool the motor. if your motor is getting too hot under the truck body your gearing aint right
Okay thanks. I wasn't sure if it might be like nitro where air holes are pretty much required. But it's good to know I don't need them.
MT_MASTER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 09:28 PM
  #72  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
sperera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Posts: 588
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

all good mate, done destroy a body for cooling

if you are experiencing the parachute effect look into one of the hi flo bodies out there, I think proline make a couple.
sperera is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 09:32 PM
  #73  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 132
Default

Originally Posted by sperera View Post
all good mate, done destroy a body for cooling

if you are experiencing the parachute effect look into one of the hi flo bodies out there, I think proline make a couple.
Thanks, very happy I don't have to wreck the look of the body
And I was looking at those bodies, they have good reviews and I'm thinking I might get one after I trash my stock body
MT_MASTER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 10:07 PM
  #74  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
koopesv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: A main
Posts: 1,265
Trader Rating: 18 (95%+)
Default

Can someone post there current setup.
koopesv is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 06:43 PM
  #75  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
sperera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Posts: 588
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

spent some more time on the conversion last night, my new spekky rx wont bind, why is it always the last thing that doesnt work and holds the first run up!
sperera is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service