Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Team Associated RC8Be Thread >

Team Associated RC8Be Thread

Team Associated RC8Be Thread

Old 07-01-2011, 05:39 AM
  #6511  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (11)
 
jwmustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 511
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

SEF, I use 2 FT diff gaskets, makes a big difference.
jwmustang is offline  
Old 07-01-2011, 05:50 AM
  #6512  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (97)
 
DavidR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lake of the Ozarks, Mo
Posts: 1,670
Trader Rating: 97 (100%+)
Default

I'd think that using 2 AE diff gaskets would create the same problem as using the Mugens...

I found out the hard way these last 2 weekends racing that the Mugen diff gaskets are not the answer... I've had to replace about 4 sets of spider gears because of them.

Like has been stated.. Just sand the diff cups till all the shiny spots are gone on the face of the cup, and use a stock AE gasket.
DavidR is offline  
Old 07-01-2011, 07:37 AM
  #6513  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (35)
 
Gabriel2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Stevensville, MD.
Posts: 2,288
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Does any one know where can I buy the upgrade suspension kit ? No one has it.

Last edited by Gabriel2010; 07-01-2011 at 11:04 AM.
Gabriel2010 is offline  
Old 07-01-2011, 09:38 AM
  #6514  
Tech Adept
 
southbound280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 138
Default

Originally Posted by CMaD
Ive got the dynamite tire balancer and you have to remove the grease from the bearings to make it spin freely. Just pop the seals off and spray the bearings with brake cleaner until all the grease is gone.
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!! Maybe I should send you the cash you just saved me?! :P Hahaha Sorry can't do that, I sent it in spirit though.. Haha
southbound280 is offline  
Old 07-01-2011, 11:45 AM
  #6515  
Tech Master
iTrader: (106)
 
rednck21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kennesaw, Ga
Posts: 1,797
Trader Rating: 106 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rednck21
about the new front tower....


several pages back i was having problems with steering. it was recommended that i lay the front shocks in up top. i did that (went to the 2nd or 3rd hole-cant remember) and it was a huge improvement. this new tower has the shocks spaced waaaaay out. im very hesitant to try them because im afraid ill loose the steering i have. am i missing something?

can anyone answer this for me?
rednck21 is offline  
Old 07-01-2011, 03:17 PM
  #6516  
Tech Master
iTrader: (58)
 
per4m28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,052
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DavidR
I'd think that using 2 AE diff gaskets would create the same problem as using the Mugens...

I found out the hard way these last 2 weekends racing that the Mugen diff gaskets are not the answer... I've had to replace about 4 sets of spider gears because of them.

Like has been stated.. Just sand the diff cups till all the shiny spots are gone on the face of the cup, and use a stock AE gasket.
+1 Ive seen these first hand with a few of our local racers they tried both doubling up on ae gaskets or one mugen, its thicker in material bringing the spider gear out not much contact surface with gears and ends up stripping eventually just enough play to ruin em. I had good luck with my diffs so far no leaks sanding em evenly with stock gaskets.
per4m28 is offline  
Old 07-01-2011, 03:21 PM
  #6517  
Tech Master
iTrader: (58)
 
per4m28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,052
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

I have a spare set of shocks but I notice em leaking a lot do you guys have issues with this? Kinda wierd my original set would leak a little bit after a track day and would stop but the new ones just keep leaking.
per4m28 is offline  
Old 07-01-2011, 05:18 PM
  #6518  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
Default

ON THE DIFFS

What i did is sanded the diff case and then put a thin film on grease on both side of the gasket and they are not leaking ant more.

Mave88
Mave88 is offline  
Old 07-01-2011, 06:42 PM
  #6519  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 125
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I used some black silicon a thin layer on the Diff cup no leaks
Radarmy088 is offline  
Old 07-01-2011, 07:03 PM
  #6520  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
JEFFs SC10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orlandooooo, Fl
Posts: 4,044
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Just picked up a nice used RC8e that was in great condition.

How much torque should I look for in a servo?
If I can get all my electronics and battery for it in I may be running it this weekend.

Is a Mamba Max Pro too small of a esc to use on 4s with a 1900 kv Tekin?
JEFFs SC10 is offline  
Old 07-01-2011, 07:27 PM
  #6521  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 125
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JEFFs SC10
Just picked up a nice used RC8e that was in great condition.

How much torque should I look for in a servo?
If I can get all my electronics and battery for it in I may be running it this weekend.

Is a Mamba Max Pro too small of a esc to use on 4s with a 1900 kv Tekin?
I use the hitec 7955tg 333oz really strong, fast servo lifetime Warrenty too.

I don't see the point on putting an 1/10th scale esc on a 1/8 scale. I'd go with a mamba monster or rx8. I'd run a rx8 or monster in a 1/10 scale but not vice versa
Radarmy088 is offline  
Old 07-01-2011, 08:24 PM
  #6522  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
JEFFs SC10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orlandooooo, Fl
Posts: 4,044
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

10-4 I was just looking at the specs on that servo.

Mamba Monster is a good esc ? I use the MMPro on my 1/10 scale and it does the job. I don't need anything super fancy. (yet) LOL
JEFFs SC10 is offline  
Old 07-01-2011, 08:41 PM
  #6523  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 125
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JEFFs SC10
10-4 I was just looking at the specs on that servo.

Mamba Monster is a good esc ? I use the MMPro on my 1/10 scale and it does the job. I don't need anything super fancy. (yet) LOL
Yeah my buddy runs a monster 2200 combo loads of power. It's faster then tekin but I heard that tekin has a better power curve. I'm gonna run a monster combo it's about 100$ cheaper then the tekin and I'm not looking to race. I have an rc8b , my buddies have an xt2e, HPI vorza, losi 2.0

I know with the castle link you can tune the esc so the power output is smoother or you can just step up your skills to match the motor. Myself and my buddies drive pretty good so 8th scale is just more of the fact of getting use to buggy, setting up the suspension and making clean laps rather then just trying to learn how to drive a buggy period.
Radarmy088 is offline  
Old 07-01-2011, 08:47 PM
  #6524  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
JEFFs SC10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orlandooooo, Fl
Posts: 4,044
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

The guy that owned the buggy before me said he had the 2200 in there and said it had stupid power.

I need to learn how to drive this thing so I think the 1900 Tekin motor will be what I use, not sure if mixing it with a MM will work. I am just trying to keep my costs low. My LHS sells a Tekin motor/esc for 299 and I get a discount on that so that might be the way I go. That hitec 7955 servo looks like my choice too.

I'm going with that Gen Ace cheapo battery for now. 4s

I'm sure it'll be much easier to drive than my short course LOL
JEFFs SC10 is offline  
Old 07-01-2011, 09:08 PM
  #6525  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 125
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I had a jammin scrt10 and every jump was full throttle, I drove my buddies xt2e with mamba monster and full throttle went twice as far as my SC 4X4 and I almost slammed it into a brick barrier. There's is a big difference. But 300 for a tekin is a good price. Just de tune the throttle and get used to the buggy and then add power later. Best way to keep that paper in your wallet. SC arms can cost 8$ 8th arms can cost 12$ everything is more expensive.
Radarmy088 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.