R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-11-2005, 10:27 AM   #121
Tech Elite
 
Horatio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,056
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pttf
ok i think i found the problem. I noticed when the engine is running there are bubbles in the fuel line which are not moving. So i gather there is lack of compression somewhere. So this should narrow the problem which is causing the engine to run high. Any suggestion's
Check your tank, lines and filters - a leak in any of these will result in bubbles - especially if you have one of those cheesy priming buttons - they always leak. Also check to make sure your fuel isn't foaming.

Then double check the engine is sealed, carb, backplate etc.
Horatio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 09:13 AM   #122
Nitro Tech
 
dino.tw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I can drive!
Posts: 1,459
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pk
Hi dino.tw!!!

I just got and installed my STS28 yesterday.

I just have two concerns....

1. When I was configuring the radio, There are times when the carb gets stuck when im attempting to go WOT. What i usually do is 'double clutch' the throttle, which seems to 'unstuck' whatever is blocking the slide.

2. On the CG image of the shaft starter, i noticed that the hole for the rotostart is at the side. Will this fit the savage? I mean, the savage's rotostart hole is on the upper left corner. I hope you could accomodate us Savage owners

Right now im pumping some iron and strengthening my pullstart arm as im about to break in the beast! haha!
I'm back! Sorry it's very busy lately.

1) If you feel the slide valve is not so smooth,most of the cases are stuck by the idle screw. The edge of the valve's groove may not smooth enough. Please take off the idle screw and check the valve's groove or the idle screw. I will ask our factory to check it again.

2)I will get the sample next week. And I will report to you how its going.

Thanks,
Dino
dino.tw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 09:24 AM   #123
Nitro Tech
 
dino.tw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I can drive!
Posts: 1,459
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by skybolt58
Sorry ! But I wish I was kidding, I have been running Glow engines since 1973, I am sure I know how to tune a engine, cars/trucks/planes/boats/and helichopters. I have a lot of money in this savage! I doubt very much that the 3 speed would work, it needs more than 10% more speed to get past that losi lst. I thought for sure once I put that sts .28 in. and when I broke it all in I thought it was faster, But well it was faster than the stock .25! a lot of snott, But not enough for the losi lst. gearing is the main issue! the lst has a higher 2 speed ratio, and the diff's are higher geard. so I plan on buying a lst, and put my sts.28 on that.. then I can beat my son! thats the only way! on the lost ratio: is CB low 18 tooth, high 25 tooth, and the spur is 70t low and 63t high.. now that is some ratio's
WOW you ran glow engines since I was born 73".....

Have you tried to shorten the tuned pipe? Or another high speed tuned pipe? Tuned pipe to a 2 stroke engine is just like a turbocharge. The 2 stroke engine's power band is depended on the pipe.
dino.tw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 08:47 PM   #124
Tech Champion
 
jfc_tech's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: www.JonehRC.com
Posts: 7,000
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to jfc_tech
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dino.tw
WOW you ran glow engines since I was born 73".....
i was walking & running already
Quote:

Have you tried to shorten the tuned pipe? Or another high speed tuned pipe? Tuned pipe to a 2 stroke engine is just like a turbocharge. The 2 stroke engine's power band is depended on the pipe.


STS buggy pipe would be nice...just a tot ere
__________________
If you are in front of me, That's because I let you!
jfc_tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 02:14 AM   #125
pk
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Mr. Suavage
Posts: 129
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dino.tw
I'm back! Sorry it's very busy lately.

1) If you feel the slide valve is not so smooth,most of the cases are stuck by the idle screw. The edge of the valve's groove may not smooth enough. Please take off the idle screw and check the valve's groove or the idle screw. I will ask our factory to check it again.

2)I will get the sample next week. And I will report to you how its going.

Thanks,
Dino
Cool! Thanks dino!

The engine is wonderful!!!!
pk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2005, 10:29 AM   #126
Tech Elite
 
Horatio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,056
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by skybolt58
How sad, a savage cant beat a losi! ;( I guess I wil be selling my savage and get me a stock losi, 55mph out of the box! we had it clocked about a hour ago...
How did you come up with this figure of 55mph for the LST?
Horatio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2005, 11:26 AM   #127
Tech Champion
 
pininfarina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: red dot!
Posts: 6,670
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to pininfarina
Default



LST out-of-box.. should be around 44mph
__________________
"Slow down and enjoy life. It's not only the scenery you miss by going too fast, you also miss the sense of where you are going and why." - my showroom below :-)
http://www.tamiyaclub.com/showroom.asp?id=9264
pininfarina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2005, 12:11 PM   #128
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to skybolt58
Default

that must have been in low range! we had a local police here with a hand gun and he clocked it at 55, what can I say?
skybolt58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2005, 12:35 PM   #129
Tech Champion
 
pininfarina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: red dot!
Posts: 6,670
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to pininfarina
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by skybolt58
that must have been in low range! we had a local police here with a hand gun and he clocked it at 55, what can I say?
'

__________________
"Slow down and enjoy life. It's not only the scenery you miss by going too fast, you also miss the sense of where you are going and why." - my showroom below :-)
http://www.tamiyaclub.com/showroom.asp?id=9264
pininfarina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2005, 09:32 PM   #130
Tech Champion
 
jfc_tech's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: www.JonehRC.com
Posts: 7,000
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to jfc_tech
Default

11 MPH difference
__________________
If you are in front of me, That's because I let you!
jfc_tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2005, 09:42 PM   #131
Tech Champion
 
jfc_tech's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: www.JonehRC.com
Posts: 7,000
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to jfc_tech
Default

This i quote from the Tech & Spec of the LST with XS3 & Mach .26 RTR.
this link

Speed: 40+ MPH

It should say there speed:50+ mph
__________________
If you are in front of me, That's because I let you!
jfc_tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2005, 09:45 PM   #132
Tech Champion
 
jfc_tech's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: www.JonehRC.com
Posts: 7,000
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to jfc_tech
Default

I really have to say this...i dont want to be caught by that police on speed trap on 90mph limit...when u only gone for 80 mph
__________________
If you are in front of me, That's because I let you!
jfc_tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2005, 09:46 PM   #133
Tech Champion
 
jfc_tech's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: www.JonehRC.com
Posts: 7,000
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to jfc_tech
Default

BUT of coz..if u have picture to prove it..then, my mistake, i apologize.
__________________
If you are in front of me, That's because I let you!
jfc_tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2005, 03:26 AM   #134
Tech Elite
 
Horatio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,056
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jfc_tech
BUT of coz..if u have picture to prove it..then, my mistake, i apologize.
Horatio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2005, 03:27 AM   #135
Tech Champion
 
pininfarina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: red dot!
Posts: 6,670
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to pininfarina
Default

can I join in and watch?
__________________
"Slow down and enjoy life. It's not only the scenery you miss by going too fast, you also miss the sense of where you are going and why." - my showroom below :-)
http://www.tamiyaclub.com/showroom.asp?id=9264
pininfarina is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Force .26 pull start engine revo_race R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 11-13-2007 03:00 PM
Best pull-start engine? rossiRocket Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 6 01-12-2005 12:05 PM
Best pull-start engine? rossiRocket Nitro On-Road 0 12-10-2004 01:15 AM
engine start up (non-pull start) racer Nitro On-Road 1 04-11-2004 12:22 AM
pull start OS .12 engine smash123 Nitro On-Road 3 05-23-2002 07:58 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:45 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net