R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-06-2012, 01:11 PM   #391
Tech Adept
 
ugglasdav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefan View Post
The thickness of the shims does NOT equal the head clearance.

You have to either measeure the height of you combustion chamber and the height from the top of the piston at TDC to the upper end of the sleeve.

The difference needs to be added to the thickness of the shims.

Or you can use solder to measure it.
do you know how much in mm i need in shims?, also do you know what the stock settings for the idle, low end and top end needles are?
__________________
>Shepherd Velox V8/Team associated TC5R
>>IDM 2011/ Speed passion/Much More
>>>Sanwa m11x
ugglasdav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 02:15 PM   #392
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,278
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

You have to mount only the combustion chamber. Get a piece of 1mm thick solder, bend the end tip in an L-shape and put it through the plug hole.

Turn the crankshaft arround and sqeeze the solder with it between piston and chamber. Take out the solder and messure the sqeezed part, it must be about 0.5mm
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 12:33 AM   #393
Tech Adept
 
FaanP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: South Africa
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roelof View Post
You have to mount only the combustion chamber. Get a piece of 1mm thick solder, bend the end tip in an L-shape and put it through the plug hole.

Turn the crankshaft arround and sqeeze the solder with it between piston and chamber. Take out the solder and messure the sqeezed part, it must be about 0.5mm
Does the 0.5mm differ for high altitude? We are running at 1800 m above sea level.
__________________
When in doubt - GAS IT!!
FaanP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 02:59 AM   #394
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FaanP View Post
Does the 0.5mm differ for high altitude? We are running at 1800 m above sea level.
I think you can go to 0.4, or even 0.3 on that altitude...
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 03:36 AM   #395
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,278
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

With 0.3 for sure there is a chance the piston will hit the head at high rpm.
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 05:10 AM   #396
Tech Adept
 
FaanP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: South Africa
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roelof View Post
With 0.3 for sure there is a chance the piston will hit the head at high rpm.
Should I go 0.4 or stick to 0.5 for safety?
__________________
When in doubt - GAS IT!!
FaanP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 11:07 AM   #397
Tech Adept
 
ugglasdav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 166
Default

anyone know what the stock settings are?
__________________
>Shepherd Velox V8/Team associated TC5R
>>IDM 2011/ Speed passion/Much More
>>>Sanwa m11x
ugglasdav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 04:10 AM   #398
Tech Adept
 
ugglasdav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 166
Default

i found what the setting's are for the high speed and low speed needles but i am unsure of the Idle, anyone have any ideas
__________________
>Shepherd Velox V8/Team associated TC5R
>>IDM 2011/ Speed passion/Much More
>>>Sanwa m11x
ugglasdav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 04:18 AM   #399
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,278
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ugglasdav View Post
i found what the setting's are for the high speed and low speed needles but i am unsure of the Idle, anyone have any ideas
Tuning an engine is nothing about some listed settings of a needle but a feeling with the engine and its performance. Idle is just something you have to set with a feeling....
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 06:02 AM   #400
Tech Adept
 
ugglasdav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roelof View Post
Tuning an engine is nothing about some listed settings of a needle but a feeling with the engine and its performance. Idle is just something you have to set with a feeling....
well i forgot to mention i need the stock settings for running in a piston and liner
__________________
>Shepherd Velox V8/Team associated TC5R
>>IDM 2011/ Speed passion/Much More
>>>Sanwa m11x
ugglasdav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 07:13 AM   #401
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,196
Default

Stock settings are to lean for running in liner and piston, so you need to richen the engine anyway......

But:
HSN: flush with housing.
LSN: 1mm out of housing
IDLE: 1mm open
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 04:20 PM   #402
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 75
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

So I have a issue with a 2012 EDO .21, I have broke it in and want to take it apart to check that the piston\sleeve and bearings are OK but I cant get the sleeve out, it moves out maybe .5mm then stops, tried heating it to 200C but wont move any further it moves very frealy sideways when it is at the botom and up approx ,5mm but then it is fully stopped, if I try and get it open by putting some zip ties in the exhaust I just cut them.
Any tips?
Or have anyone expiriensed the same?
chovden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 04:24 PM   #403
Tech Champion
 
GMartinez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Sunshine State
Posts: 8,162
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chovden View Post
So I have a issue with a 2012 EDO .21, I have broke it in and want to take it apart to check that the piston\sleeve and bearings are OK but I cant get the sleeve out, it moves out maybe .5mm then stops, tried heating it to 200C but wont move any further it moves very frealy sideways when it is at the botom and up approx ,5mm but then it is fully stopped, if I try and get it open by putting some zip ties in the exhaust I just cut them.
Any tips?
Or have anyone expiriensed the same?
I Had the same issue you just have to heat it up more until it loosens
__________________
www.fullthrottlercraceway.com
Home of The U.S. World Nitro Cup 2013,2014,2015,2016
2014 Roar Electric Nationals, IFMAR ISTC Worlds, 2015 Roar Fuel Nationals
2017 U.S.World Nitro Cup Nov 29th - Dec 3rd
U.S.Open Fuel Championship Returning soon
GMartinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 01:26 AM   #404
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,196
Default

Try to put 2 bigger zip ties in, but with there heads.
From inside the liner, put there heads in the exhaust port, and hold them there with your finger, maybe put some toilet paper in the liner to hold them there.
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 01:15 AM   #405
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 314
Default

Hey guys,

is someone running a Nova C8TGH plug in the latest Torque engine?

I am considering buying/testing a Picco engine but would like to run the same plugs like I do in my Nova's.
I have seen someone running MaxPower 7 plugs in a Picco and the engine ran very well, so Nova plugs could be an option.

Another question: How about the gasket engine/header - Are there any changes on the 2012 compared to older Piccos? Can I use the Picco specific gaskets from zeppin which are sold by mushroom?

Any thoughts?


Thanks and best regards!
fulcrum2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:02 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net