R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-30-2010, 09:46 AM   #1
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 506
Default Sirio S12 XXX VK problem

Hi,

1.) What is the factory setting? Can using EVO4 setting?
2.) The idle and everything are not stable after run-in. Is it not run-in enough?
beebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 07:04 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 506
Default

So no one knows?
Shd I sell it?
Any equvilent engine I can go for?
beebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 07:34 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
rmdhawaii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,804
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

If you provide the information below, maybe someone can offer some suggestions:

How did you break-in the engine?

What is your head clearance?

What % nitro and plug are you running?

What are the HSN and LSN needle settings now?

What is your idle gap inside the carb?

Are you running the car at sea level?
__________________
Nitro Knowledge Base: http://nitrokb.netne.net
My YouTube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/nitrokb -> Lots of on-road nitro & eletric action + some off-road as well
My Flickr Photostream: http://www.flickr.com/photos/nitrokb/
Kyosho V-ONE RRR WC (x2) \ XRAY T2'007 \ Also owned: XRAY NT1 & Mugen MTX-4
rmdhawaii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 10:43 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 506
Default

If you provide the information below, maybe someone can offer some suggestions:

How did you break-in the engine? Just let it goes and screw the HSN

What is your head clearance? No change, default setting

What % nitro and plug are you running? 5%

What are the HSN and LSN needle settings now? Someone helped me to tune. So It's, HSN 2 1/2 turn from close, LSN 1 turn from close.

What is your idle gap inside the carb? I saw it around 1mm and little more

Are you running the car at sea level? on the hill
beebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 01:45 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Melbourne,Australia
Posts: 339
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

when you say not stable what is it doing exactly? these motor are designed to run 16% nitro, what plug is in it? what clutch set up? pipe?
__________________
ARC R10/2015 - HOBBYWING - PROAMPS - ORCA

BRCCC
elche_83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 02:48 AM   #6
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,280
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

Not stable could be other things:

- bad sliding carb
- binding on the throttle movement at the servo (use an extra return spring)
- bad servo
- bad neutral pont servo (trim)
- leak in exhaust system
- leak in tank (cap)
- leak in fuel/fressure lines
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 07:19 AM   #7
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 40
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Too little nitro 16-20% is best
Smokinnitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 09:14 AM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 506
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elche_83 View Post
when you say not stable what is it doing exactly? these motor are designed to run 16% nitro, what plug is in it? what clutch set up? pipe?
I ran 5% fuel at first. Its using S6 plug. I detach the clutch now, same result the response is like on throttle when full close.
beebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 09:16 AM   #9
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 506
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roelof View Post
Not stable could be other things:

- bad sliding carb
- binding on the throttle movement at the servo (use an extra return spring)
- bad servo
- bad neutral pont servo (trim)
- leak in exhaust system
- leak in tank (cap)
- leak in fuel/fressure lines
I suspect the carb is factory defected, the servo is new and in netural prefectly. exhaust, tank and tubes r fine when I use the other engine.
beebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 09:53 AM   #10
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 506
Default

If really a carb sliding problem, so what is the alternative carb can be used with S12 XXX? Nova? Picco?
beebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 10:08 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
DS Motorsport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,440
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

If the carb is binding you should disassemble the carburetor.
Probably the slide has some flashings from machining.
You could use some Scotch Bright (Steel wool) to remove the flashings. Then smooth it with some polishing compound.
__________________
P1-RC.com
DS Motorsport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 06:47 PM   #12
Tech Rookie
 
Fuin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 14
Default xxxv

The idle gap on my xxxv with the 5.50mm venturi is ≈.150mm. Thats with 16% nitro fuel.
Fuin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 04:30 AM   #13
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 506
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DS Motorsport View Post
If the carb is binding you should disassemble the carburetor.
Probably the slide has some flashings from machining.
You could use some Scotch Bright (Steel wool) to remove the flashings. Then smooth it with some polishing compound.
Yes, I did and re-asemble the carb, smooth now! Thx!
beebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 04:32 AM   #14
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 506
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuin View Post
The idle gap on my xxxv with the 5.50mm venturi is ≈.150mm. Thats with 16% nitro fuel.
0.15 mm, oic. I set it I think 1mm, it shows from Sat Motor web site.
So what about 25% fuel? Harmfual for the enigne?
beebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 04:40 AM   #15
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Melbourne,Australia
Posts: 339
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

might need to add shims to run 25%
__________________
ARC R10/2015 - HOBBYWING - PROAMPS - ORCA

BRCCC
elche_83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:58 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net