R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-06-2009, 07:20 AM   #1
Tech Master
 
vti-chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 1,077
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Engine richens after refueling

I keep having the same problem for a while now. Engine runs fine but i keep getting a rich setting just after refueling and needs about 30m into the track to clean up. The same thing happens to my brothers engine.
I drive a Sirio Kanai EVO 4 and my brother RB WS9.
Anyone knows what causes this ''problem''?

Sometimes it might flame out...unless i keep blipping the throttle for the first 10m and then take it easy for the next 20-30m and try clearing it up at the jumps.
__________________
Xray/OS/Savox/Sanwa
Axial XR10
Sakura Zero S/Castlecreations
RCO
vti-chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 09:45 AM   #2
Tech Addict
 
RevMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cebu
Posts: 687
Send a message via MSN to RevMaxx
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vti-chris View Post
I keep having the same problem for a while now. Engine runs fine but i keep getting a rich setting just after refueling and needs about 30m into the track to clean up. The same thing happens to my brothers engine.
I drive a Sirio Kanai EVO 4 and my brother RB WS9.
Anyone knows what causes this ''problem''?

Sometimes it might flame out...unless i keep blipping the throttle for the first 10m and then take it easy for the next 20-30m and try clearing it up at the jumps.
30m? how big the size of your tank?
RevMaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 09:51 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
vti-chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 1,077
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

???
__________________
Xray/OS/Savox/Sanwa
Axial XR10
Sakura Zero S/Castlecreations
RCO
vti-chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 09:56 AM   #4
Tech Addict
 
RevMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cebu
Posts: 687
Send a message via MSN to RevMaxx
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vti-chris View Post
???
you mean for 1 full tank, you can run beyond 30 minutes?
RevMaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 10:06 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
vti-chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 1,077
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Oh no...m=meters(metric here!!!)
__________________
Xray/OS/Savox/Sanwa
Axial XR10
Sakura Zero S/Castlecreations
RCO
vti-chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 10:12 AM   #6
Tech Addict
 
RevMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cebu
Posts: 687
Send a message via MSN to RevMaxx
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vti-chris View Post
Oh no...m=meters(metric here!!!)
ahh... didn't think of that one..

its probably just your LSN being set too rich. when you pit and engine is at idle, it loads up fuel due to rich setting.
RevMaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 11:17 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
vti-chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 1,077
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Nope...can't be that. When refueling engine should lean a bit due to open lid. Besides engine takes off strong after idling for 10 sec. Engines are set right...maybe a bit rich on top end for the 30 minute final and 100F plus weather.
__________________
Xray/OS/Savox/Sanwa
Axial XR10
Sakura Zero S/Castlecreations
RCO
vti-chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 01:18 PM   #8
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,281
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

could be 2 things:

1) to rich on the LSN, if you let it idle with refuling the engine runs full

2) a leak in the fuelcap of the tank.
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 03:59 PM   #9
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

That slightly rich on the top you mentioned can do it too. Don't let the tank being open fool you, they can still load up. Also, too cold a plug can do it, especially if the motor is running fairly cool head temps.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 04:28 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,807
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Most complain about flame-outs while getting
back out on the track. Running a little rich for
the first ninety feet after a fuel top-off is better
than a flame-out problem. I know it's annoying
but I'd trade that for one that coughs,farts and
stalls any day.
rageworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 04:29 PM   #11
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 271
Send a message via Yahoo to sheeley
Default

Try a exhaust cooler. If it were my car I would just lean it a little.
sheeley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 04:31 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 271
Send a message via Yahoo to sheeley
Default

How long does it run rich after fueling?
sheeley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 04:44 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 271
Send a message via Yahoo to sheeley
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sheeley View Post
How long does it run rich after fueling?
n/m, I see 30 meters
sheeley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 08:48 PM   #14
Tech Fanatic
 
lastsun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 788
Default

it could be your pressure tube between the pipe to fuel tank be too slow. that is why after u refuel, the pressure be come too high thus pumping more fuel into the carbe....

wat is your current length your tube now??? is it at least 15cm long ???
__________________
Serpent 966 EVO / OS MAX
lastsun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 11:03 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
vti-chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 1,077
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

yes that's 15cm, but i've read somewhere something about 25-30cm.
__________________
Xray/OS/Savox/Sanwa
Axial XR10
Sakura Zero S/Castlecreations
RCO
vti-chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Engine richens after refueling vti-chris Nitro Off-Road 19 09-07-2009 07:43 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:24 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net