Like Tree1Likes

"the tuning bible"

Reply

Old 05-13-2009, 05:31 PM
  #16  
Tech Master
iTrader: (114)
 
2fst2c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Martin, MI
Posts: 1,939
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Default

Just bookmark it in your browser.
2fst2c is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 02:36 PM
  #17  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (24)
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,999
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 2fst2c View Post
I got a tuning question for you. Do all Long LSN carbs adjust the same way? Reason for asking is that I run Go Motors and some have the Long LSN. I know when people have problems with carbs the first one they resort to usually is an O.S. carb because they tune easy.. Well, I was looking over an O.S. carb today and I see they Too are Long LSN carbs. Atleast the 2 I have are. So they should tune the same as a Go Long LSN carb or vice-versa correct? Just something that made me go hmmm..
I don't think it has anything to do with the length of the needle. Long needles just tend to run a bit leaner at half throttle situations. OS and Nova carbs tune very similar despite Nova's having a short needle.
wingracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 08:10 PM
  #18  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (35)
 
dmgriff266's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 358
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Thumbs up bookmark

i just added this to my bookmarks. i can come back any time. thanks for a great hand in my rc world
dmgriff266 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 09:44 PM
  #19  
Tech Master
iTrader: (114)
 
2fst2c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Martin, MI
Posts: 1,939
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Default

Glad to help!
2fst2c is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 01:32 PM
  #20  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (26)
 
shady3031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 594
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

I printed this out a few years ago and keep it in a folder in my pit bag along with the xray setup tips, a sheet that a bud gave me about whether you would richen or lean your needles wen you change temp range of plugs, humidity, air temp, nitro content, elevation and a few others it really helped when the raims came a few weeks ago in the mains.
This info is invaluable in a crunch
shady3031 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 01:46 PM
  #21  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (51)
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 905
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Hey you go ladies, get it while it's hot...

http://www.tsrcar.com/garage/paddock/engine_tips.pdf

Cyberacer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 02:01 PM
  #22  
Tech Prophet
Thread Starter
iTrader: (95)
 
houston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sherwood,OR
Posts: 15,555
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cyberacer View Post
Hey you go ladies, get it while it's hot...

http://www.tsrcar.com/garage/paddock/engine_tips.pdf

awesome possum cyberacer
houston is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 01:58 PM
  #23  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Foley, Al
Posts: 516
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

My engine is running better than ever but I think my lsn is still too rich. When I come to a stop, it will idle up for a few seconds then idle down and hold that idle for as long as I want it to. Another thing is when I let it run the tank empty at idle it will idle up some before it quits. According to the tuning bible my lsn is still a little rich but when I lean the bottom an hour or so it seems to get that tinging sound of a lean bottom. Is the perfect tuning window that small for the lsn ? Im having the hardest time with the lsn, anyone with suggestions ?

Last edited by roadracer43; 05-22-2009 at 06:00 PM.
roadracer43 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 08:00 PM
  #24  
Tech Prophet
Thread Starter
iTrader: (95)
 
houston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sherwood,OR
Posts: 15,555
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by roadracer43 View Post
My engine is running better than ever but I think my lsn is still too rich. When I come to a stop, it will idle up for a few seconds then idle down and hold that idle for as long as I want it to. Another thing is when I let it run the tank empty at idle it will idle up some before it quits. According to the tuning bible my lsn is still a little rich but when I lean the bottom an hour or so it seems to get that tinging sound of a lean bottom. Is the perfect tuning window that small for the lsn ? Im having the hardest time with the lsn, anyone with suggestions ?


its not gonna kill your engine if it idles up just a little bit as long as it doesn't engage the clutch .
houston is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 09:33 AM
  #25  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Foley, Al
Posts: 516
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

So it sounds like its pretty close to where it needs to be Houston ? My temps are running around 240 but still seems a little rich on both needles. Will the temps drop some when it finally becomes a man ? I dont think its nuts have dropped yet.
roadracer43 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 02:56 PM
  #26  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 855
Default

Reading through this I thought old school way was heat cycling. I've been doing it this way for over 20 yrs. At that time we didn't used temp guns either. Never agreed with just idling the engine through 1 or 3 tanks of fuel. You never get it up to temp that way atleast 200 degrees. I've had broke engine on the starter box before but it's kind of hard to run it outside when there is snow on the ground.

I get a kick out of poeple who claim they are getting great power and fuel mileage with a temp of 180. Come on are not even up at temp yet. Running a engine cold is just as bad as running it very hot. Cold engine the sleeve hasn't expanded yet still pinching the piston
pdmustgt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 01:45 AM
  #27  
Tech Prophet
Thread Starter
iTrader: (95)
 
houston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sherwood,OR
Posts: 15,555
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by roadracer43 View Post
So it sounds like its pretty close to where it needs to be Houston ? My temps are running around 240 but still seems a little rich on both needles. Will the temps drop some when it finally becomes a man ? I dont think its nuts have dropped yet.
once it is fully broke in , then you can get a little more precise with the tune
houston is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 01:47 AM
  #28  
Tech Prophet
Thread Starter
iTrader: (95)
 
houston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sherwood,OR
Posts: 15,555
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by pdmustgt View Post
Reading through this I thought old school way was heat cycling. I've been doing it this way for over 20 yrs. At that time we didn't used temp guns either. Never agreed with just idling the engine through 1 or 3 tanks of fuel. You never get it up to temp that way atleast 200 degrees. I've had broke engine on the starter box before but it's kind of hard to run it outside when there is snow on the ground.

I get a kick out of poeple who claim they are getting great power and fuel mileage with a temp of 180. Come on are not even up at temp yet. Running a engine cold is just as bad as running it very hot. Cold engine the sleeve hasn't expanded yet still pinching the piston
some engines are too efficient like extechs , they run at like 175-200 with way too hard of a powerband . i like 220-250 and smooth powerband , anywhere in that range , i am happy
houston is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 12:48 PM
  #29  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (26)
 
hitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Pataskala, Ohio
Posts: 446
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Does this sound like i have an air leak

The engine is a OS VG. Start the engine idles fine accelerates fine. Pull the glow ignitor and the engines die weather the throttle is at idle or 50% or 100% it die. Thought it was the plug. Changed the plug exact same results. Thought is was adjustment. Went back to factory basics hoping I was missing something. Same results. Tried to lean thinking I was soaking the plug same result. Tried to richen same result. I am running out of ideas here. Anyone have quick idea on this one.

I have two of these motors one with 1 gallon and one with a half on it. The one gallon motor is my problem motor.

Input?????

Hitman
hitman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 02:22 PM
  #30  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (7)
 
air8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutch, KS
Posts: 5,748
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

When I tried a VG two years ago I must have dropped a glow plug element and tore up the P/S. That engine ran exactly as you described till I finally pulled it apart to see all the score marks on the inside. But the funny thing is I havent' seen anyone get too much life out of the VG. Not sure why though, I never asked anyone else.
air8 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service