Ninja Engine by GRP

Old 08-19-2008, 04:22 PM
  #1441  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (14)
 
PROVK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 980
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by johnhsp
Dear friend now i am using ninja MRT 21 onroad engine,can i know does ninja engine conrod same at GRPengine ,also plug,bearing all the same or not thank who helping me
All the same
PROVK is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 09:45 PM
  #1442  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Slo-MTX4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,488
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Ahhh i am not so sure. I know someone that put a ninja rod into a GRP and it lasted all of about 3-4 mins before blowing the bottom bush.
Slo-MTX4 is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 11:20 PM
  #1443  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (14)
 
PROVK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 980
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Slo-MTX4
Ahhh i am not so sure. I know someone that put a ninja rod into a GRP and it lasted all of about 3-4 mins before blowing the bottom bush.
Im sure, Rob Reade told me.

but GRP rods are stronger, as Ninja rods where notorius for having problems so GRP worked on there problem.
You can even fit a GRP tuned piston and liner straight into a NInja
PROVK is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 12:49 AM
  #1444  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Slo-MTX4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,488
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Well the person who blew a rod up was Micheal Kerr. And i am pretty sure that rob told him the same. Either way i wouldnt risk it but thats just me i guess.
Slo-MTX4 is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 04:41 AM
  #1445  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (14)
 
PROVK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 980
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

ohh ok, at the end of the day I would use GRP engine parts in Ninja but not the other way around.
When the GRP came out Rob told me the rod part numbers where the same but GRP are stronger.
We havent had any GRP failures yet apart from a gudgeon pin on my engine popping out at the end of the straight and ruining my piston and sleeve.

We all get some weird unexplained failures on the best of engines
PROVK is offline  
Old 08-22-2008, 03:37 AM
  #1446  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,279
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

GRP price bester !
RC MARKET is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 03:23 AM
  #1447  
Tech Rookie
 
Team Wijchen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default size of main bearing?

I just switched to GRP engine, can anybody tell me what the size of the main bearing is? ...I want to change it to Ceramic bearings...

Thanks,
Mich.
Team Wijchen is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 04:00 AM
  #1448  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (16)
 
sm1nts2escape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: MD
Posts: 444
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

14x25.4x6mm rear,7x19x6mm front.I put the tko ceramics in mine this week and man what a difference.I put the front in also.I had boca ceramic hybrid bearings in it and noticed no increase in performance.Changed those out after 1 gallon cause rear bearing went south.Also I am really starting to like the performance of this ninja.I was able to get a real nice tune out of it after putting those tko ceramics in it and it is keeping up with 700 dollar motors now.I might just get another one because of the price difference and have it modded.
sm1nts2escape is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 07:13 AM
  #1449  
Tech Rookie
 
Team Wijchen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Originally Posted by sm1nts2escape
14x25.4x6mm rear,7x19x6mm front.I put the tko ceramics in mine this week and man what a difference.I put the front in also.I had boca ceramic hybrid bearings in it and noticed no increase in performance.Changed those out after 1 gallon cause rear bearing went south.Also I am really starting to like the performance of this ninja.I was able to get a real nice tune out of it after putting those tko ceramics in it and it is keeping up with 700 dollar motors now.I might just get another one because of the price difference and have it modded.
Thanks for the measurements.

Last week I did my first club race with the engine and notice it's lacking some power at the bottom. Middle and high are ok. If there are any tips to get more bottom..let me know.

thx, Mich
Team Wijchen is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 05:58 PM
  #1450  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (16)
 
sm1nts2escape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: MD
Posts: 444
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Adjust the clutch and gearing for bottom end.You will still lack some bottom end compared to some 500+ plus motors coming out of the tight corners but it is not a whole bunch.You can play around with different size venturis.Keeping the engine reved up as much as possible to avoid getting in the low rpm torque curve will help the most.
sm1nts2escape is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 12:25 PM
  #1451  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 96
Default

Fellows:

I am going to replace the bearings for my ninja .12.

Before I order them, can someone post the exact measurements for both front and rear.

Thanks.
SasonRC is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 12:45 PM
  #1452  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (34)
 
Riketsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,604
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SasonRC
Fellows:

I am going to replace the bearings for my ninja .12.

Before I order them, can someone post the exact measurements for both front and rear.

Thanks.
I think the rear is the same as the OS TZ
Riketsu is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 02:04 PM
  #1453  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 96
Default

thanks I read that somewhere and how about the front bearing's size? Same as OS TZ?

I can't get in there and measure.
SasonRC is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 01:51 AM
  #1454  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (11)
 
LogiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Posts: 757
Trader Rating: 11 (92%+)
Default

Hey guys,

What plugs are you using besides Ninja brand?

Thanks,
Cameron
LogiK is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 06:01 AM
  #1455  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
NitroWD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 622
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LogiK
Hey guys,

What plugs are you using besides Ninja brand?

Thanks,
Cameron
any of the picco plugs will fit.
sirio plugs as well.

some tried OS and they fit too.

nova plugs dont fit at all.
NitroWD is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.