PR Racing D6 PRO

Reply

Old 04-20-2019, 06:27 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: South Central Louisiana
Posts: 19
Default PR Racing D6 PRO

Does anyone know anything about this motor? It has been discontinued for some time. I got my hands on a brand new one, broke it in for a buddy of mine and I'm having issues tuning it. Symptoms are A LOT of smoke no matter how lean I tune it and it takes forever to spin up. I know first things point to running rich, but I've leaned it out to the point that it begins to starve for fuel. Changed the plug and it seemed better for a little while. But then went back to worse on the next startup.

Any help with factory settings or previous experience is greatly appreciated. I'm not new to tuning nitro motors. I currently run a FP-01 and a V-Spec VZB on my buggy/truggy. They are both phenomenal in comparison.

I do have another V-Spec motor that is dead. Maybe rob the carb off it and try it on the D6 PRO?

TIA
UHDhog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2019, 12:53 AM
  #2  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: from a wee town in TX
Posts: 285
Default

i had the blue head one.. from what i remember they were go engines, about same era as the gx range.
Probably the worst engine ive had, had 2 carb slides bind up on me, never ever had that happen before except for those carbs.

alpha carbs fit, which means some nova and and some o.s should fit.
iplaygames is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2019, 12:57 AM
  #3  
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 8,300
Default

Originally Posted by UHDhog View Post
Any help with factory settings or previous experience is greatly appreciated. I'm not new to tuning nitro motors. I currently run a FP-01 and a V-Spec VZB on my buggy/truggy. They are both phenomenal in comparison.

TIA
If you have experience with tuning motors then the factory settings is useless. Fire it up and tune to what the engine is telling you.

But looking at the design it looks STS made to me.
Roelof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2019, 05:38 AM
  #4  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: South Central Louisiana
Posts: 19
Default

Ended up running some FP fuel in it instead of the off brand stuff he bought. Tuned up nicely after that. I suppose the off brand stuff had too much oil mixed in. However, I broke in his brother's Dynamite motor with that fuel the day before and didnt have any issues tuning it. I suppose the D6 is picky.

Thanks again for the input.
UHDhog is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service