Wiki Posts
Search

Mugen MTX-3

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2003, 09:10 AM
Tech Champion

Default Re: Cleaning!!

Originally posted by stefan
I know that I will get a lot of arguments about this, but here is how I have been cleaning my car after raceday for the last 2 1/2 years w/o any problems:

Take the top deck and the engine off and spray the whole car with Simple Green, let it soak for ten minutes, brush the bad spot with a paint brush and then HOSE the sucker down!!!

Simple Green is very easy on bearings and plastic parts.
I then blow the water off with a compressor.

Car looks like new....

Top deck and engine I do with denatured alcohol and compressed air.

The whole cleaning ordeal takes me 15 minutes.
avoid any fuild going into the bearing while cleaning. not because of rust. its because any fuild will carry dirt into the precised ball bearing, unless they are rubber sealed.
Old 06-17-2003, 09:23 AM
Tech Elite

Manti, I am using rubber sealed bearings throughout the car.
Old 06-17-2003, 09:25 AM
Tech Elite

Default Re: Cleaning!!

Originally posted by stefan
Take the top deck and the engine off and spray the whole car with Simple Green, let it soak for ten minutes, brush the bad spot with a paint brush and then HOSE the sucker down!!!

Simple Green is very easy on bearings and plastic parts.
I then blow the water off with a compressor.

Car looks like new....

Top deck and engine I do with denatured alcohol and compressed air.
I do mine cleaning in two steps, one at the track, where I remove all the gross dirt with some methanol and compressed air, and other, in house, disassembling the car and inspecting all the moving parts, oiling the bearings and cleaning any residues with the Serpent cleaning putty.

Some at mine track use a mixture of 9/10 of Methanol and 1/10 of Diesel Fuel to clean the car (I appreciate mine cars and prefeer to disassemble for a quick revision). Diesel fuel lubes the parts and the methanol washes all the parts.