R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-17-2007, 05:42 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
aussies1129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: LAND DOWN UNDER
Posts: 3,485
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default spektrum Rx problem?

Hi I was taking my radio plate off my g4s and broke my antenna on my spektrum Rx sr3000 with about an inch left can I install a new one??
thanks
aussies1129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 02:41 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
dnitro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 311
Default

I had the same problem but the antenna broke off at the very base. I sent it to Spektrum and they replaced upper board with a new antenna and the outside casing free of charge. Turn around time was less than two weeks from the time I sent it to the time I got it back. Those guys really take care of their customers!!!

Thanks Spektrum!!!
__________________
TM G4S
IDM Evo3
dnitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 03:03 PM   #3
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,273
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

I already did re-solder some antennas.

Just open the case, remove the restpiece of the antenna, get 20cm of flexible wire and solder it to the receiverboard.

If you can handle a solder iron then it is very simple.
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 03:39 PM   #4
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roelof View Post
I already did re-solder some antennas.

Just open the case, remove the restpiece of the antenna, get 20cm of flexible wire and solder it to the receiverboard.

If you can handle a solder iron then it is very simple.

It is a multi-layer board and the solder pad is very small so be careful.

Getting enough of the old solder out of the hole so as to make the installation of a new wire is a pain.

I suggest shoving a piece of resistor lead through and soldering that in place. Then solder the new antenna wire to that. That way if you damage the antenna wire again the repair is easier. I also suggest making a knot in the wire on the inside of the case for strain relief. I have not tried this and wonder what the effect might be @ 2.4 GHz. So suffice to say do a range-check once you are done!!!!

Narly1
Narly1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2007, 03:16 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
aussies1129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: LAND DOWN UNDER
Posts: 3,485
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

thanks guys I live in australia so I might solder a new one on!
cheers!
aussies1129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with spektrum in my M8 James Tanous Radio and Electronics 6 07-19-2008 12:50 PM
yet another spektrum problem cm367700 Radio and Electronics 11 12-19-2007 10:10 PM
spektrum problem associatedguy Radio and Electronics 5 10-20-2007 03:43 AM
Spektrum DX3.0 problem MikeXray Electric On-Road 0 06-03-2007 06:13 PM
Spektrum problem Greenbandit Electric On-Road 9 04-25-2006 08:31 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:39 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net