Like Tree2Likes

Tamiya TRF418

Old 06-29-2014, 12:23 PM
  #1276  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,267
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 2-Bad View Post
I have used Square RC Titanium and Aluminium screws for over 8 years now. Never had a problem with them.
Yes Square had Best Titanium screw !
or second choice ARROWMAX
RC MARKET is offline  
Old 06-29-2014, 12:24 PM
  #1277  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,267
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

TRF418 Anti-roll bar set
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya TRF418-ta-42281-1.jpg  
RC MARKET is offline  
Old 07-01-2014, 02:46 AM
  #1278  
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,974
Default

Any idea what is the shock oil rating in the kit? I seem to have found 900 but that seems a bit too hard to be cst. What does that mean in cst?
niznai is offline  
Old 07-01-2014, 04:10 AM
  #1279  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,670
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by niznai View Post
Any idea what is the shock oil rating in the kit? I seem to have found 900 but that seems a bit too hard to be cst. What does that mean in cst?
The clear is 900 - meant for the diff.

The yellow is 400 - meant for the shocks.

cplus is offline  
Old 07-01-2014, 08:10 AM
  #1280  
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,974
Default

Mine didn't have any yellow, that is why I was confused.
niznai is offline  
Old 07-01-2014, 11:40 AM
  #1281  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,916
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by niznai View Post
Mine didn't have any yellow, that is why I was confused.
tamiya oils are all color coded, and that yellow one is supposed to be in the shock part bag, so maybe they screwed up
Not sure if the cst rating is the actual number for the corresponding color, but 400 is a little thin when all the setups use 450-500 with kit pistons.
inpuressa is offline  
Old 07-01-2014, 11:50 AM
  #1282  
Tech Master
 
ngo8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Posts: 1,264
Default

//
ngo8 is offline  
Old 07-01-2014, 04:56 PM
  #1283  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by inpuressa View Post
all the setups use 450-500 with kit pistons.
That's a big assumption... If your reviewing the Team Setups few state what exact piston is used
2-Bad is offline  
Old 07-01-2014, 05:08 PM
  #1284  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,670
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by niznai View Post
Mine didn't have any yellow, that is why I was confused.
As said, should be in the shock back. Contact the store you got it from if you really want it.

Most would buy the kit and never use it though. Bit of a token gesture in a pro level kit.
cplus is offline  
Old 07-01-2014, 06:27 PM
  #1285  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,916
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 2-Bad View Post
That's a big assumption... If your reviewing the Team Setups few state what exact piston is used
hmm, at least the ones in petit only state 3 hole. did I miss something?
inpuressa is offline  
Old 07-01-2014, 06:59 PM
  #1286  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,670
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I actually realised I asked this in the 417 thread, but makes more sense here in terms of helping people I think.

Originally Posted by Fredp1 View Post
I got my TDX shims from http://www.rcfunny.com/goods-1659.html
Be patient as delivery can be a bit slow
Originally Posted by cplus View Post
Thanks. I looked there today but wasn't sure if the site was genuine or not

Edit: just ordered - $4, no shipping fee. Let's see if it turns up!
Got here yesterday. 2 weeks, could be worse!

So a legit, cheap and reliable source. Excellent.
cplus is offline  
Old 07-01-2014, 08:39 PM
  #1287  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,670
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Further to above, looks like a new Tamiya part is also out now....

http://www.tamiyausa.com/items/radio...shim-set-54589
cplus is offline  
Old 07-01-2014, 08:42 PM
  #1288  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by inpuressa View Post
hmm, at least the ones in petit only state 3 hole. did I miss something?
IMO, yes you did... 3 hole x what size? Tamiya kit is 1.0mm dia. Yok, Xray, TOP, HB use a variety of holes and sizes for kit pistons. Many of the Teams swap out pistons, from 3 x 1.0mm, 3 x 1.6mm, to 6 x 1.0mm depending on the track conditions.

Just trying to point out that one can't assume the posted Team Setup's are 100% accurate. They aren't lying, just missing information...(deliberately or not, who's to know) haha.
2-Bad is offline  
Old 07-02-2014, 03:51 AM
  #1289  
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,974
Default

Yeah, I suspect a factory screw up. NO problem, I don't really use Tamiya oils anyway, just wanted to know.

I have noticed most setups use Muchmore oils, which is fine. I use Associated, seems to be the oil local shops stock in a large range and at all times.

I wondered about pistons as well because I also noticed there is no mention in setup sheets, but I am not too worried because I don't really follow anyone's setups.

The kit only comes with one set of pistons anyway, so why worry? You can always tune with oils, especially if you have a good range. Messing about with pistons is for factory team drivers who can afford to have a range ready on hand.
niznai is offline  
Old 07-02-2014, 04:25 AM
  #1290  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: santa monica / manchester
Posts: 1,375
Default

Originally Posted by niznai View Post
Yeah, I suspect a factory screw up. NO problem, I don't really use Tamiya oils anyway, just wanted to know.

I have noticed most setups use Muchmore oils, which is fine. I use Associated, seems to be the oil local shops stock in a large range and at all times.

I wondered about pistons as well because I also noticed there is no mention in setup sheets, but I am not too worried because I don't really follow anyone's setups.

The kit only comes with one set of pistons anyway, so why worry? You can always tune with oils, especially if you have a good range. Messing about with pistons is for factory team drivers who can afford to have a range ready on hand.
Set-ups are useful, but just as a guide, its strange to think that an exact set-up will work perfectly for all as we have different driving styles, shells, chassis weight balance, tyres, track conditions etc.
Qatmix is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.