Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan >

Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan

Like Tree25Likes

Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan

Old 08-28-2009, 06:05 AM
  #10606  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JimmyMac View Post
Depends what they mean even. And how you interpret my droop. If using Tamiya's droop guage (as I measured when I wrote down my TCS setup), you measure off the bottom of the chassis.

If your chassis is warped (as mine is), and if you set it even left to right with the Tamiya droop gauge.... then your droop is uneven if you measured droop from setup board to under the outer arms.

But, if you can set it up uneven from the droop gauge so that it reads even when you measure it from the setup board. Then this should be all right. That is how mine was done. If this makes any sense.

Adjusting with preload is setting up tweak from a tweak station. You cannot get ride height even left to right because the chassis is warped. One side will be higher than the other. So I don't know how preload comes into play with droop settings?
I use an Integy droop gauge under the chassis on a setup board, and dial the droop in so it's even on the gauge left to right.

Then I bolt the wheels back on and use a hobby knife in the middle of the chassis to lift each end of the car up. Whichever tire lifts up first, I tighten the spring preload on the diagonal shock on the opposite end of the car until the wheels come up evenly.

This works great on my S400 with little to no tweak, but on the TA05, you are correct, the ride height ends up being uneven and the difference between the shock collars left-to-right is substantial.
M-Technic is offline  
Old 08-28-2009, 07:24 AM
  #10607  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,447
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

You are basically setting tweak without a tweak station. My reference is to the chassis being tweaked or warped. Therefore you need to set droop differently pending how you measure it. I also do the lift thingy you do too. But only after my chassis is balanced left to right (front and back). Tweak is usually dead on if chassis is balanced. So I hardly mess with tweak and uneven preload.
JimmyMac is offline  
Old 08-31-2009, 09:05 AM
  #10608  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
AUDI 0000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Loganville PA
Posts: 149
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Double D Donuts View Post
im sure im about to beat a dead horse...but....

thoughts on the 3racing graphite chassis? the 416C isnt looking too hot, i might have to go this route now to get a more suitable chassis :P
I would like to know also? Anybody use this?
AUDI 0000 is offline  
Old 08-31-2009, 09:18 AM
  #10609  
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,965
Default

Why not go with a TA05MS chassis (if you've already got the alloy bits there isn't much left to buy). I don't know what the 3racing chassis cost but after market parts for these cars are a bit of a hit and miss game.
niznai is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 01:38 AM
  #10610  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Default

I've got a strange "problem" with my TA-05-R i'm using the Tamiya Aluminium Motor Mount (53920)

The problem is that the motor mount is bended i did'nt crash very hard, strange...

Anyone has seen this before?
Danielson187 is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 01:45 AM
  #10611  
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

Where has the mount bent ? I ruined my aluminum motor mount by over tightening the motor screws, maybe you have done the same.
Skitee is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 01:53 AM
  #10612  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Originally Posted by Skitee View Post
Where has the mount bent ? I ruined my aluminum motor mount by over tightening the motor screws, maybe you have done the same.
It bended where you screw the motor in place... that could be a reason

Any tips on bending it back? I couden't bend it back :S
Danielson187 is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 08:13 AM
  #10613  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,447
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Bending? How you guys bending it? Are you using the 1mm shim between the motor and motor mount? Pics?
JimmyMac is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 08:36 AM
  #10614  
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,965
Default

Mine is a TA05R and doesn't even come with any such shim and I didn't bend anything. Is there a difference in the motor mount? I have the same part #.
niznai is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 09:08 AM
  #10615  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
AUDI 0000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Loganville PA
Posts: 149
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

you are referring to the optional blue aluminum "hop up" mount, not the standard kit mount? It probably bent when your motor was very hot transfering the heat to the mount, so to bend it back you will need to heat up the aluminum.
AUDI 0000 is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 09:44 AM
  #10616  
Tech Regular
 
dsyed1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 341
Default speed passion gt 2.0 esc on ta05

has any one tried this on the ta05? i have seen novak gtb and lrp fit ok.. but just wondering if anyone has this setup please let me know how you like it

Thanks!
dsyed1 is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 09:47 AM
  #10617  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

My friend bought a GT 2.0 for his TA05 but it didn't fit, he ended up putting a Sphere TC in the car.
M-Technic is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 08:29 AM
  #10618  
Tech Master
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Delaware
Posts: 1,047
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by niznai View Post
Why not go with a TA05MS chassis (if you've already got the alloy bits there isn't much left to buy). I don't know what the 3racing chassis cost but after market parts for these cars are a bit of a hit and miss game.
cause i dont have any of the alloy bits yet. its all plastic (minus the shock towers) i figured since its already a fairly decent chassis (from what everyone says) i should upgrade it instead of going out and getting a new one :P
Double D Donuts is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 08:58 AM
  #10619  
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,965
Default

Originally Posted by Double D Donuts View Post
cause i dont have any of the alloy bits yet. its all plastic (minus the shock towers) i figured since its already a fairly decent chassis (from what everyone says) i should upgrade it instead of going out and getting a new one :P
Not sure why do you want to upgrade it? Some universals are a good investment as are alloy shocks some good shock towers and alloy suspension holders but beyond that I am not sure it is anything other than bling.

My TA05R is upgraded beyond a 416WE but the upgrades cost more than the car (and more than a 416WE). The only thing I didn't buy was the blue motor mount I guess. I did it because I didn't know much about what I needed and what not and having had a short window of opportunity I bought everything (upgrades) before the car had arrived to take advantage of a good exchange rate. I can tell you, you don't need much to make it into a serious racer.

Last edited by niznai; 09-02-2009 at 09:15 AM.
niznai is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 10:27 AM
  #10620  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
jolson88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 173
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Belt Tension

Hey all. I'm new to onroad and got a used TA-05 in great condition. I'm in the process of breaking it down, cleaning it, and all that jazz.

Question: how "tensioned" should the drive belts be? Currently, I'm wondering if they are too loose? Is that even possible? What would the impact of that be?
jolson88 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.