R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-28-2009, 07:05 AM   #10606
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyMac View Post
Depends what they mean even. And how you interpret my droop. If using Tamiya's droop guage (as I measured when I wrote down my TCS setup), you measure off the bottom of the chassis.

If your chassis is warped (as mine is), and if you set it even left to right with the Tamiya droop gauge.... then your droop is uneven if you measured droop from setup board to under the outer arms.

But, if you can set it up uneven from the droop gauge so that it reads even when you measure it from the setup board. Then this should be all right. That is how mine was done. If this makes any sense.

Adjusting with preload is setting up tweak from a tweak station. You cannot get ride height even left to right because the chassis is warped. One side will be higher than the other. So I don't know how preload comes into play with droop settings?
I use an Integy droop gauge under the chassis on a setup board, and dial the droop in so it's even on the gauge left to right.

Then I bolt the wheels back on and use a hobby knife in the middle of the chassis to lift each end of the car up. Whichever tire lifts up first, I tighten the spring preload on the diagonal shock on the opposite end of the car until the wheels come up evenly.

This works great on my S400 with little to no tweak, but on the TA05, you are correct, the ride height ends up being uneven and the difference between the shock collars left-to-right is substantial.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 08:24 AM   #10607
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

You are basically setting tweak without a tweak station. My reference is to the chassis being tweaked or warped. Therefore you need to set droop differently pending how you measure it. I also do the lift thingy you do too. But only after my chassis is balanced left to right (front and back). Tweak is usually dead on if chassis is balanced. So I hardly mess with tweak and uneven preload.
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 10:05 AM   #10608
Tech Adept
 
AUDI 0000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Loganville PA
Posts: 149
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Double D Donuts View Post
im sure im about to beat a dead horse...but....

thoughts on the 3racing graphite chassis? the 416C isnt looking too hot, i might have to go this route now to get a more suitable chassis :P
I would like to know also? Anybody use this?
__________________
TAMIYA TA05v2 /// TRF416 ///
AUDI 0000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 10:18 AM   #10609
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,940
Default

Why not go with a TA05MS chassis (if you've already got the alloy bits there isn't much left to buy). I don't know what the 3racing chassis cost but after market parts for these cars are a bit of a hit and miss game.
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 02:38 AM   #10610
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Default

I've got a strange "problem" with my TA-05-R i'm using the Tamiya Aluminium Motor Mount (53920)

The problem is that the motor mount is bended i did'nt crash very hard, strange...

Anyone has seen this before?
Danielson187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 02:45 AM   #10611
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

Where has the mount bent ? I ruined my aluminum motor mount by over tightening the motor screws, maybe you have done the same.
__________________
Xray T4 2018 ~ HobbyWing Xerun XR10 Pro ~ Motiv RC 4.5
Xray X12 2018 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 1S ~ Speedzone 4.5

POWERED BY SPEEDZONE USA
Skitee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 02:53 AM   #10612
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skitee View Post
Where has the mount bent ? I ruined my aluminum motor mount by over tightening the motor screws, maybe you have done the same.
It bended where you screw the motor in place... that could be a reason

Any tips on bending it back? I couden't bend it back :S
Danielson187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 09:13 AM   #10613
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Bending? How you guys bending it? Are you using the 1mm shim between the motor and motor mount? Pics?
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 09:36 AM   #10614
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,940
Default

Mine is a TA05R and doesn't even come with any such shim and I didn't bend anything. Is there a difference in the motor mount? I have the same part #.
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 10:08 AM   #10615
Tech Adept
 
AUDI 0000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Loganville PA
Posts: 149
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

you are referring to the optional blue aluminum "hop up" mount, not the standard kit mount? It probably bent when your motor was very hot transfering the heat to the mount, so to bend it back you will need to heat up the aluminum.
__________________
TAMIYA TA05v2 /// TRF416 ///
AUDI 0000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 10:44 AM   #10616
Tech Regular
 
dsyed1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 341
Default speed passion gt 2.0 esc on ta05

has any one tried this on the ta05? i have seen novak gtb and lrp fit ok.. but just wondering if anyone has this setup please let me know how you like it

Thanks!
dsyed1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 10:47 AM   #10617
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

My friend bought a GT 2.0 for his TA05 but it didn't fit, he ended up putting a Sphere TC in the car.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 09:29 AM   #10618
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Delaware
Posts: 891
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by niznai View Post
Why not go with a TA05MS chassis (if you've already got the alloy bits there isn't much left to buy). I don't know what the 3racing chassis cost but after market parts for these cars are a bit of a hit and miss game.
cause i dont have any of the alloy bits yet. its all plastic (minus the shock towers) i figured since its already a fairly decent chassis (from what everyone says) i should upgrade it instead of going out and getting a new one :P
Double D Donuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 09:58 AM   #10619
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,940
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Double D Donuts View Post
cause i dont have any of the alloy bits yet. its all plastic (minus the shock towers) i figured since its already a fairly decent chassis (from what everyone says) i should upgrade it instead of going out and getting a new one :P
Not sure why do you want to upgrade it? Some universals are a good investment as are alloy shocks some good shock towers and alloy suspension holders but beyond that I am not sure it is anything other than bling.

My TA05R is upgraded beyond a 416WE but the upgrades cost more than the car (and more than a 416WE). The only thing I didn't buy was the blue motor mount I guess. I did it because I didn't know much about what I needed and what not and having had a short window of opportunity I bought everything (upgrades) before the car had arrived to take advantage of a good exchange rate. I can tell you, you don't need much to make it into a serious racer.
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.

Last edited by niznai; 09-02-2009 at 10:15 AM.
niznai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 11:27 AM   #10620
Tech Adept
 
jolson88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 173
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Belt Tension

Hey all. I'm new to onroad and got a used TA-05 in great condition. I'm in the process of breaking it down, cleaning it, and all that jazz.

Question: how "tensioned" should the drive belts be? Currently, I'm wondering if they are too loose? Is that even possible? What would the impact of that be?
__________________
Associated B4
Tamiya TA-05
Traxxas Slash
jolson88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Tamiya TA05-R (TA05) TCS Legal limbohz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-05-2008 08:58 PM
New Tamiya TA05 R touring car/motor/esc! Frost99999 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 08-07-2007 12:24 PM
FWD touring car/sedan hellbilly R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 6 01-12-2007 06:22 PM
Tamiya TA05 full race sedan, Tons of Hop Ups lbckevin R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 08-29-2006 03:05 PM
want to buy a touring/sedan car traxxasracer Minnesota and North/South Dakota Racing 7 09-21-2004 06:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:30 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net