R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-05-2006, 01:09 PM   #5926
Tech Addict
 
Greg M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 527
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pops
Yep, too loose. If you look at the instruction manual when you assemble the diff you will see a tip on how to make sure the diff is tight. With a couple of allen wrenches you hold the outdrives and try an rotate the pulley. That is a good strart. After you install the diff in the rear, I hold the LR tire in my left hand and with my left thumb I press hard on the spur gear. With my right hand I try and turn the right tire. You should not be able to either turn it or at least be very difficult to turn. You can over tighten the rear diff and that will make the diff feel very gritty and eventually make the diff screw snap. For a front diff I put the rear tires between my knees and rotate the front tires it should make the belts click on the pulley if it is tight. But running a spool is faster on asphalt, but a front diff is better on carpet with foams.
Thats how I set mine for stock and never had a problem. I actually cranked the diff screw up another half to full turn from that of setting, but if I tighten it much more, as you say I run the risk of snapping the diff screw. I've been told to replace the spring as that is quite old and may allow the diff to loosen which will cause the problem.
Greg M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 02:51 PM   #5927
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,197
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg M
Thats how I set mine for stock and never had a problem. I actually cranked the diff screw up another half to full turn from that of setting, but if I tighten it much more, as you say I run the risk of snapping the diff screw. I've been told to replace the spring as that is quite old and may allow the diff to loosen which will cause the problem.
Best to compress a new spring with a set of plyers a couple of times before installing it, kind of like breaking in the spring first. You are much better off having the diff a little too tight than loose.
pops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 05:38 PM   #5928
Tech Elite
 
Jochim_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CALI
Posts: 2,372
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quante
Aha, I read something about a spool... time to ask something about it.

I'm driving a with 4.5r motor on asphalt. Griplevel is medium to high.

What is the best spool out there???

I have the Team Bomber one and I'm very displeased with it. I bought it cause it required blades and I thought, nice touch, replace the blades, keep the spool alive.
Well, I'm going through blades at a rate of 1 pair on 2 batteries (NOT KIDDING). I'm a person who goes pretty soft on the throttle so that definately isnt the problem. -> these are expensive batteries at this rate!!

I now ordered the one from Titanium racing cause its thye one that comes with the grainger kit. Also ordered both types of outdrives and I wanna see what works out best.
Are there other spools better for the BD??
that's why I quit running spool they give headache so I went to one-way I might try solid one-way.
Jochim_18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 09:11 PM   #5929
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,117
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

any lipo/BD users ? how are you guys mounting orion platinum lipos up on your bd's? pics would greatly help thanks in advance for any info

i removed the plastic batt trays on mine, put a couple of spacers under the batt strap posts, and taped the lipo to the batt strap, before attaching the batt strap normally. im just looking for 2nd opinions will it be better if i taped the lipo directly to the lower chassis? havent used tape in a while and im not sure how it would hold up in a crash
marvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 12:45 AM   #5930
Tech Elite
 
MR JOLLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MOOD;; feeling good not racing ,saving shed loads of money,lovely Tan i have aswell
Posts: 4,762
Default Li-Po BD

I have seen some one put stick lead weights under the pack but in position where it fit`s just in the slots of chassis in the 4 corners & they act as lugs for pack,then you just file the lead flat to stop it sticking below the chassis(get me)

this is why the new 3200 orion has little lugs built into the case now to make use of the slots in chassis
__________________
EAMotorsports;;BRCA 27t National 2007 Champ's
FKO4,AdyB fan club !!
saying of the month;;The Past is History, the Future is a Mystery, this Moment is a Gift- that's why it's called The Present.
MR JOLLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 03:56 AM   #5931
Tech Regular
 
Ali Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 420
Send a message via MSN to Ali Graham Send a message via Yahoo to Ali Graham
Default

When I was given a LiPo to test I just removed the battery trays and taped it in, no problemo! Although a battery bar would probably be a lot more secure as some cell tapes don't like the LiPo case material and come unsticky.
__________________
Mirage Racing | Team Xray | Nosram | Atsushi Hara Racing Products | Team Orion | Hudy | Apex Models | Much More Racing | Exit13 | NinjaGraffix | ali303.8.dtiblog.com
Ali Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 04:54 AM   #5932
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 528
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aoizip
Quante:

if you don't mind the extra weight, then you can use the steel spool from speedtechrc...

~Ming
Mmm, steel spool huh, well, I'm way overpowered as is so the extra weight doesnt really cause a problem for me. I'm gonna watch how the tir spool works out, if its bad as well, I'm going with the steel one.

thx for the advice.
Quante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 06:51 AM   #5933
Tech Regular
 
Ali Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 420
Send a message via MSN to Ali Graham Send a message via Yahoo to Ali Graham
Default

You will loose a lot of steering with the steel spool due to the increase in rotating mass In fact this spool is sometimes more suited to stock when corner speed is necessary
__________________
Mirage Racing | Team Xray | Nosram | Atsushi Hara Racing Products | Team Orion | Hudy | Apex Models | Much More Racing | Exit13 | NinjaGraffix | ali303.8.dtiblog.com
Ali Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 08:08 AM   #5934
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,117
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

mr jolly, ali graham: thanks for the tips im gonna try sticking lead weight underneath
marvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 08:13 AM   #5935
Tech Elite
 
MR JOLLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MOOD;; feeling good not racing ,saving shed loads of money,lovely Tan i have aswell
Posts: 4,762
Default

i have use it in the Yoko LCG with no probs ,just taped in no probs
case is fine ,it is there for protection to the cells if anything
__________________
EAMotorsports;;BRCA 27t National 2007 Champ's
FKO4,AdyB fan club !!
saying of the month;;The Past is History, the Future is a Mystery, this Moment is a Gift- that's why it's called The Present.
MR JOLLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 04:54 PM   #5936
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 84
Send a message via MSN to makytc4
Default

just double side tape the lipo to the battery bar then when u put it into the car and clip it in its a tight fit and doesnt move. ive had some pretty nasty crashes and hasnt come out or moved yet. that way you can get it out of the car easyer and save on tape.
makytc4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 02:09 AM   #5937
Tech Adept
 
Rowdy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 156
Default

It seems this thread has been a bit quite for a while now, is this due to people swapping to other manufacturers?!? I'm in a situation now where I would really like to get a new rolling chassis. I would like it to be a Yokomo; but some of the "newer" chassis are really starting to tempt me. So has anyone heard any rumors or mutterings of an upgrade to the current BD or a completely new chassis?

I think Yokomo make great cars and in a lot of ways, often set the standards in on road 4wd with out a lot of fuss and hype surrounding what they do. So if there is something new just around the corner that would be great. The current chassis is most certainly still more than capable but I think some new and improved suspension parts and refinements to the chassis would raise the BD to a new level and inject some new life into Yokomo. Maybe it's just me but I feel the time is right.

What are others thoughts on this?
Rowdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 05:16 AM   #5938
Tech Elite
 
MR JOLLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MOOD;; feeling good not racing ,saving shed loads of money,lovely Tan i have aswell
Posts: 4,762
Default

i`ve just come from HB to Yokomo
that car was a night mare (alot of wrenching)between race`s & at it aswell

it could be me or it might not (who know`s)
what i do know is i`m much happier being in this camp
__________________
EAMotorsports;;BRCA 27t National 2007 Champ's
FKO4,AdyB fan club !!
saying of the month;;The Past is History, the Future is a Mystery, this Moment is a Gift- that's why it's called The Present.
MR JOLLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 12:00 PM   #5939
Tech Elite
 
Jochim_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CALI
Posts: 2,372
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

All I can say I'm pretty happy with my YOKOMO BD I have been driving it for about 2 years now just can't wait till they make a new car.
Jochim_18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 12:21 PM   #5940
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,197
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rowdy
I think Yokomo make great cars and in a lot of ways, often set the standards in on road 4wd with out a lot of fuss and hype surrounding what they do. So if there is something new just around the corner that would be great. The current chassis is most certainly still more than capable but I think some new and improved suspension parts and refinements to the chassis would raise the BD to a new level and inject some new life into Yokomo. Maybe it's just me but I feel the time is right.

What are others thoughts on this?
Here are some new suspension parts that are interesting. The Front rear suspension mount comes in 3 different degrees of suspension arm sweep. Not sure what the new larger shock bodies will do? More volume I know. Anybody else know any advantage?
Attached Thumbnails
Yokomo MR4TC-BD-sd-300f15.jpg   Yokomo MR4TC-BD-ys-4sss-7.jpg  
pops is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yokomo MR4TC CGM wyl03 Australia For Sale/Trade 0 06-26-2007 04:39 PM
yokomo mr4tc pro racer57 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 10-07-2006 02:34 AM
Looking for Yokomo MR4TC BD1 yyhayyim R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 08-24-2006 07:07 PM
yokomo mr4tc i730 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-20-2005 02:51 PM
WTB: Yokomo MR4TC SD SSG! DOMOisCOOL R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 03-06-2004 08:31 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:55 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net