Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC >

Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC

Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC

Old 07-20-2005, 05:06 AM
  #1006  
Tech Regular
 
EVOtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kent
Posts: 331
Default Carpet profile?

Our VFS-1 (new version) arrived yesterday. Anyone got any suggestions or examples of a profile good on carpet?
EVOtech is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 06:25 AM
  #1007  
Tech Regular
 
stegger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Ellesmere port Cheshire UK
Posts: 297
Default

Originally Posted by Bartwubben
Here is a sheme of the koPropo vfs-1.. there are 2 ways to by-pass the terminal overload protection.. One is verry simple, you just cut the little wire in the 2 boards. the other is more difficult.. you have to remove the little ciruit chip en then fill it with solder thin..

Good Luck,

Bart

Can anybody translate this please????????????????
Attached Thumbnails Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC-kopropo.jpg  
stegger is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 06:35 AM
  #1008  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (6)
 
Matt Howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Abilene TX
Posts: 5,952
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by stegger
Can anybody translate this please????????????????
If you take apart your VSF-1 then you'll be able to tell what they're talking about. Basically to bypass the thermal shutdown you have to cut the post marked or if you have a really tiny soldering tip and you have really good soldering skills you can remove a very small component from the PC board. I just cut the post My soldering skills are pretty good but my tip is way too big to be doing that kind of work
Matt Howard is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 07:03 AM
  #1009  
Tech Regular
 
stegger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Ellesmere port Cheshire UK
Posts: 297
Default

Matt, I could figure it out, i just didn't want to miss anything thanks.
stegger is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 10:44 PM
  #1010  
Tech Addict
 
Eric Gebhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 508
Default

I just picked up a VFS-1 and noticed that there is no wire for running a 7.2volt servo (KO PDS-2123FET). Can I connect the power lead on the servo to the positive terminal on the speed controller to get it to work? Thanks in advance.

Eric
Eric Gebhard is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 11:20 PM
  #1011  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
danjoy25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,151
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Pretty sure you can but you need a choke thingy.
danjoy25 is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 04:31 AM
  #1012  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,921
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

danjoy... havent forgotten about you. ill send you a PM sometime this weekend.
Hebiki is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 05:03 AM
  #1013  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
mazmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 738
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default VFS-1 PROBLEM ..... SMOKE

Guys ... NEED YOUR HELP,

Just bought the VFS-1, has had one race meeting without any problems. It was awsome.

Last night connected it up to the battery with no probelm. When I went to unplug it smoke started coming out of the negative motor wire (at the esc). Did not even run the car !!

Now every time I swith the VFS-1 smoke comes off negative motor terminal . The strange thing is that the esc still works, also works properly in communication mode.

Ther does't appear to be any short between the esc terminals (checked for strands of wire etc).

Any ideas guys ? Can't work it out .... very frustrating

Thanks
mazmo is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 06:52 AM
  #1014  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
danjoy25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,151
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Hebiki
danjoy... havent forgotten about you. ill send you a PM sometime this weekend.
Thanks Chris, cant wait.
danjoy25 is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 10:12 AM
  #1015  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 73
Default

hi ko staff and everyone,

When i connect the vfs1 to the batterys....there was spark! this happens even though everytime i have made sure that the vfs1 has been switched OFF....is my vfs1 having problem?

thx
RC12L3a is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 10:13 AM
  #1016  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,921
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC12L3a
hi ko staff and everyone,

When i connect the vfs1 to the batterys....there was spark! this happens even though everytime i have made sure that the vfs1 has been switched OFF....is my vfs1 having problem?

thx
as long as you are not connecting it backwards. should be okay.
Hebiki is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 10:21 AM
  #1017  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
rocketron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: palm desert
Posts: 2,280
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Hebiki
as long as you are not connecting it backwards. should be okay.
the spark is the capacitor taking an inital charge more than likely - IF above is true
rocketron is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 11:10 AM
  #1018  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,210
Default

Originally Posted by RC12L3a
hi ko staff and everyone,

When i connect the vfs1 to the batterys....there was spark! this happens even though everytime i have made sure that the vfs1 has been switched OFF....is my vfs1 having problem?

thx
Completely normal as long as you do not connect it backwards.
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 12:56 PM
  #1019  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 73
Default

Thx All ^_^!
RC12L3a is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 09:45 PM
  #1020  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
mazmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 738
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default VFS-1 PROBLEM ..... SMOKE

Originally Posted by mazmo
Guys ... NEED YOUR HELP,

Just bought the VFS-1, has had one race meeting without any problems. It was awsome.

Last night connected it up to the battery with no probelm. When I went to unplug it smoke started coming out of the negative motor wire (at the esc). Did not even run the car !!

Now every time I swith the VFS-1 smoke comes off negative motor terminal . The strange thing is that the esc still works, also works properly in communication mode.

Ther does't appear to be any short between the esc terminals (checked for strands of wire etc).

Any ideas guys ? Can't work it out .... very frustrating

Thanks
Guys .... any ideas on this problem ?
mazmo is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.