R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-12-2012, 01:11 PM   #7621
Tech Regular
 
RussF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 470
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CristianTabush View Post
Russ, checkout the Mike's Hobbyshop set-up from the website. That has been my favorite. Yes, it is for the RSD6, but it should transfer over nicely. Mike's is medium grip and bumpy.

In the shocks, I have been running 3x1.1 pistons lately, but you can use the 1,1,1.5's and just run 50-100 cst higher.

I always run drilled shock caps with zero rebound.
Thanks Cristian,

For the shocks then I will start with 45/blue/1x1x1.5/0 rebound front and 40/green/1x1x1.5/0 rebound rear.

On the arm mounts the mikes setup uses the 0B, I was going to try the 3A to start. The 3A are a lower roll center according to the manual. It seems the most common of the setups posted use the 3A but I read the TC6.1 likes a higher roll center. Is the 0B a better place to start?

One other question is the mikes setup uses the B "high" cam holders for the diffs. What is "high", the higher numbers 17-32 or the actual height of the 1-16 being physically higher than 17-32? What is the bennifit of the B holder over the A?

My goal is to have an easy to drive car with alot of grip. We have a smallish track with newer carpet that is not permanent (glued).
__________________
SaltLakeMini-Z.com, HowFastAreYou.com
RussF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 02:40 PM   #7622
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 121
Default

How wide is the new WC chassie?
__________________
<Awesomatix A700 EvoII><Highest><Sanwa><Muchmore><Fantom>
<Awesomatix A800a><Hitec><Sanwa><Muchmore><Fantom>
<VBC LightningF><Hitec><Sanwa><Muchmore><Skyrc>
<=Team Autopartner=>
Gillblade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 03:30 PM   #7623
Tech Master
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,305
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Mostly 80mm, except at the front of the battery where it is 87mm to include the battery brace screws.
__________________
/// CAUTION: Rogue robot \\\
wtcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 04:14 PM   #7624
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wtcc View Post
Mostly 80mm, except at the front of the battery where it is 87mm to include the battery brace screws.
I also wait for my new chassi

And think to cut it off to made 80mm all way and rebuild battery holder
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 04:44 PM   #7625
Tech Regular
 
KC10Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Edmond, OK
Posts: 299
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

How exactly does the battery secure to the chassis? I just ordered the TC6.1 Worlds car. I'm a little unclear on how this works. IS there a strap or something? I already ordered some batteries for it too. Now, after looking at photos, I'm unsure if they'll work.
KC10Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 07:09 PM   #7626
Tech Adept
 
Fuzzi0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northants, UK
Posts: 139
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KC10Chief View Post
How exactly does the battery secure to the chassis? I just ordered the TC6.1 Worlds car. I'm a little unclear on how this works. IS there a strap or something? I already ordered some batteries for it too. Now, after looking at photos, I'm unsure if they'll work.
I believe the tape loops around the battery holders rather than looping through the chassis as it does on some other cars. Basically, you'll want some good quality glass tape or something of that nature. There may be an aftermarket battery bar/strap although I'm speculating there.
Fuzzi0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 09:25 PM   #7627
Tech Addict
 
Team Grid RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 638
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KC10Chief View Post
How exactly does the battery secure to the chassis? I just ordered the TC6.1 Worlds car. I'm a little unclear on how this works. IS there a strap or something? I already ordered some batteries for it too. Now, after looking at photos, I'm unsure if they'll work.
The instructions shows you how to strap the battery to chassis using strapping tape. If you strap it directly, the battery will prevent the chassis from flexing freely.

Give this try since it will allow you chassis to flex under the battery. It floats the battery slightly above the chassis.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/11071986-post29.html
__________________
www.GridRC.com
Team Grid RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 11:40 AM   #7628
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,167
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

May have been mentioned but where and when can I get the new chassis? I see amain has the other 4 WC parts but no chassis.

Thanks
goin2drt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 11:47 AM   #7629
Tech Elite
 
Potoczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 3,609
Trader Rating: 112 (100%+)
Default

The wc chassis is not out yet, towards the end of the month.
__________________
Pete Potoczak

Home entertainment specialist
Secure Technologies/ www.stiworldwide.com
Potoczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 11:54 AM   #7630
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,167
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Potoczak View Post
The wc chassis is not out yet, towards the end of the month.
Thanks

Can I mount the other WC parts on the older chassis or should I wait for the new one and just build the 6.1 as is?

Thanks again.
goin2drt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 12:33 PM   #7631
Tech Master
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,305
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

You can put the new bearing caps together with the new shocktowers on your TC6.1/TC6 or just buy the new bearing caps and file away the link mounts on the old shocktowers.
__________________
/// CAUTION: Rogue robot \\\
wtcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 12:45 PM   #7632
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,167
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wtcc View Post
You can put the new bearing caps together with the new shocktowers on your TC6.1/TC6 or just buy the new bearing caps and file away the link mounts on the old shocktowers.
Ok sorry. Now more confused What parts and how many to convert? Do I need 2 A and 2 B bearing caps. Sorry coming off a 1 yr layoff and had a old TC6
goin2drt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 01:09 PM   #7633
Tech Elite
 
Potoczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 3,609
Trader Rating: 112 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goin2drt View Post
Ok sorry. Now more confused What parts and how many to convert? Do I need 2 A and 2 B bearing caps. Sorry coming off a 1 yr layoff and had a old TC6
To convert you would need 2 A caps, 2 B caps, front shock tower, rear shock tower, and the WC chassis
__________________
Pete Potoczak

Home entertainment specialist
Secure Technologies/ www.stiworldwide.com
Potoczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 01:12 PM   #7634
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,167
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Potoczak View Post
To convert you would need 2 A caps, 2 B caps, front shock tower, rear shock tower, and the WC chassis
Thank you. One more question. I can use the kit bearing caps?
goin2drt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 01:35 PM   #7635
Tech Regular
 
KC10Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Edmond, OK
Posts: 299
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Tower Hobbies has the World's Car in stock now. So does Speed Tech Hobbies. I should be getting mine next week sometime! Can't wait!
KC10Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28982 12-04-2017 11:08 AM
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13254 05-12-2017 08:58 AM
Team Associated TC6 KostaG Electric On-Road 8 07-04-2010 12:42 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:38 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net