Community
Wiki Posts
Search
Like Tree2Likes

Losi XXX-S

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2004, 09:06 AM
Tech Regular

Thanks Ray! The car was awesome all weekend. I can't wait to see what I can do when I have the car for more then 3 weeks!
Old 01-16-2004, 10:37 AM
Tech Apprentice

Bobby - Congrats! As a Losi driver I feel somewhat vindicated by your win in stock, since everyone has been telling me to get a shaft drive car - "you have to have one to win in stock racing"... Any hot tips for freeing up the drive train? Mine seems to get better everytime I work on it, but I'm always looking for a little something extra...

Denney
Old 01-16-2004, 10:43 AM
Tech Regular

Denney.. Thank you! I did have a new belt on my car that was a big help in getting the drivetrain freed up. Before I got that I was running a yellow belt w/ every other tooth cut off. I also removed all the seals of the bearings and the car was still very quick. I will say that there were guys that had more straightaway speed there but my car was so good it made up for it in the infield. I just need to work a little harder on the motors I guess because i'm sure thats all that was holding me back down the straight.
Old 01-16-2004, 10:48 AM
The Evicerator

Denny, don't listen to all the nay-sayers

I smoked everyone in Colorado at the ROAR nats in 2002 with the XXXS in stock... I don't think the belt was holding me back there

As far as tips for freeing the drive train up:

-remove at least one sheild from your bearings(Removing both sheilds will free it up more... but some people like to be able to keep their drive train relatively sealed by keeping the sealed sides of the bearings facing outwards)

-spray them out with motor spray thoroughly

-apply a light oil to them.

-Make sure your pulleys are free of debris and aren't clogged