R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-24-2009, 01:26 AM   #1
Suspended
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: East Bay, CA
Posts: 703
Trader Rating: 17 (90%+)
Default 1/12th Scale Wiring...(1S)

With everyone using boosters, Li-Fe and LiPo batteries, voltage regulators, sensor wires and such, there doesn't seem to be much room on 1/12th scale cars for everything.

Looking for ideas on how to lay out my electronics, and your help would be appreciated. Post pics of your clean wiring job and help inspire me to shorten wires and quit zip-tieing everything.

Cars running 1s lipo/booster/rx packs/brushless are preferred, but all 1/12 scale configurations are welcome.

Thanks!
StickyFingaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 04:37 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
whynot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,481
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

I think there is already a thread with a bunch of pics somewhere, iwill see if I can post the link on here for ya
whynot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 04:39 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
whynot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,481
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...tion-pics.html
whynot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 07:04 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

you run ko stuff, should be easy to layout your electronics with the smal 408 rx.

I run the speedo on the left and the rx on the right. if you run the length of the rx allong the length of the chassis right up agains the antenna, there is room for your rx pack just to the right of that. with all ko stuff, you just need the rx pack no booster and no regulator. if you run the ko rx, i would put all the motor wires up against the antenna. i run a tekin and i have the motor wires on the 1s lipo side
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 09:30 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
TommyBlazin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: jersey
Posts: 2,580
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

the isgroup do you have a pic of your configuraton?
__________________
Thinking on maybe a Tekno 1/8 Nitro Buggy?
TommyBlazin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 09:51 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whynot View Post
Not one photo has 12th scale with lipo's & liFe. Emailed TEKINS the other day, & they said it is nessesary to run a booster or separate pack for the RX, and useing the Hotwire and set it to 1cell lipo's.
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 10:28 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyBlazin View Post
the isgroup do you have a pic of your configuraton?
there should be one in the wiring thread of donnies car. but I will take a pic of mine this evening

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geezatec View Post
Not one photo has 12th scale with lipo's & liFe. Emailed TEKINS the other day, & they said it is nessesary to run a booster or separate pack for the RX, and useing the Hotwire and set it to 1cell lipo's.
yes, I would run one or the other, but not both. I run a rx pack and with my ko rx, no regulator. i run a lipo rx pack, not a life one.
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 11:59 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
odpurple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 2,192
Default

Here's a couple



odpurple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 12:26 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Wink

man, now that OD has posted a pic, I am afraid to post mine. it will never live up to anythign OD does
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 01:04 PM   #10
Suspended
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: East Bay, CA
Posts: 703
Trader Rating: 17 (90%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
man, now that OD has posted a pic, I am afraid to post mine. it will never live up to anythign OD does
Agreed.

Hey OD, what iron/tip are you using to shorten all the small servo wires and such?

-M
StickyFingaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 01:22 PM   #11
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,172
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Like use Deans T plug or Inboard Tube ?
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 01:29 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
GWH74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 254
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Here is a picture of mine. This is using a HobbyCity booster (in black next to the receiver).
Attached Thumbnails
1/12th Scale Wiring...(1S)-top.jpg  
__________________
AE 12R5.1 - Custom chassis
For Sale BMI DB12RR, Tire Warmers and lots of other stuff.
GWH74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 01:54 PM   #13
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Here's mine:
Attached Thumbnails
1/12th Scale Wiring...(1S)-12th.jpg  
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 02:10 PM   #14
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
Here's mine:
Quote:
Originally Posted by GWH74 View Post
Here is a picture of mine. This is using a HobbyCity booster (in black next to the receiver).
Where can I purchase the booster?
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 03:28 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
odpurple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 2,192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StickyFingaz View Post
Agreed.

Hey OD, what iron/tip are you using to shorten all the small servo wires and such?

-M
No solder. The wires are cut and crimped with new plug parts. It is important to have a proper crimping tool, but if you do a crimped connection is as good or better than a soldered one
odpurple is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:00 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net