Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
KO PROPO EX-10 Helios q's > KO PROPO EX-10 Helios q's

KO PROPO EX-10 Helios q's

Reply

Old 01-06-2004, 07:43 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Kenshin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 187
Default KO PROPO EX-10 Helios q's

I will be getting the Helios in the next couple of days and I want to ask Helios users a few questions if I may. The KO website does not have enough info on it. I will be using it for nitro and electric.

Does it have....
1. Steering dual rate button at the front?
2. Idle up function for nitro?
3. ABS?
4. Timer up/down with audible alarm?
5. Throttle and steering exponential (same as t/s curve??)
6. Can you use Novak receivers?
7. And a failsafe function like on the 3PK HRS?

Thanks.

Last edited by Kenshin; 01-06-2004 at 08:07 PM.
Kenshin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2004, 09:35 PM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (13)
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,155
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default Re: KO PROPO EX-10 Helios q's

Originally posted by Kenshin
I will be getting the Helios in the next couple of days and I want to ask Helios users a few questions if I may. The KO website does not have enough info on it. I will be using it for nitro and electric.

Does it have....
1. Steering dual rate button at the front?
2. Idle up function for nitro?
3. ABS?
4. Timer up/down with audible alarm?
5. Throttle and steering exponential (same as t/s curve??)
6. Can you use Novak receivers?
7. And a failsafe function like on the 3PK HRS?

Thanks.
I'm picking mine up tomorrow, and I know some about it. But the answers to your questions are:

1) yes
2) not that I know of
3) yes
4) not sure
5) yes
6) probabaly not with the hrs
7) no, they have a seperate thing you buy for that

-Sushi Boy
Korey Harbke is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2004, 09:52 PM
  #3  
TFR
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

4) Yes.
TFR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 01:15 PM
  #4  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Kenshin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 187
Default

So it requires the failsafe thingy huh. It looks like it doesn't have a PCM mode either. If only the 3PK fits my hand better, I'll be set.
Kenshin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 01:17 PM
  #5  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Kenshin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 187
Default

Btw, thanks for the replies.
Kenshin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 01:57 PM
  #6  
Tom
Tech Regular
 
Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia-mate
Posts: 349
Default

Just a note,

i bought mine thinking only digital servo will work, but all servo's work and i think most recievers will aswell.

It has three levels of speed.

Normal: All recievers all servo's

Super HRS: 301 and 302 recievers and fet analog and digital servo's

And Advance HRS: 302 recievers and digital servo's only


I think you could run lrp or novak recievers in the Super Hrs mode(anything that worked with Mars R)
Tom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 02:04 PM
  #7  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Kenshin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 187
Default

That's very helpful info Tom. I guess it's not true what they say that it is not compatible with older KO receivers, or is it?
Kenshin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 02:09 PM
  #8  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (1)
 
disaster999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,261
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

my hobbie shop also said that any receiver would work for that radio! never tried it, and i know a lotta you would think differently, but apparently it does work with all receivers!
disaster999 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 02:52 PM
  #9  
Tech Regular
 
antoniop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 371
Default

The radio can be switched between normal (PPM mode) and HSR acessing a small switch BEHIND the TX module.

In normal mode you can use after market Rx like LRP, NOSRAM, Novak etc or other brand Rx like Sanwa, Multiplex, Futaba (not PCM or Dual Conversion)
The Ko Crystals can be used in this mode, since they are intended for Rx with .455Khz internal frequency Rx and that covers all the Rx I have on the above list.

In HSR mode there are two options:

With the Ko 302 RX, with the TX configured for 2 channels and digital servos, can be used in ASR

With this RX if you configure the Tx for 3 channels the system will work in HRS mode anyway.

With other KO HRS Rx like the 301 or with 3 channels configured on the Tx can only be used with HSR (like the Mars R).

Kind of tricky , but simple after reading the manual

PS: Confirmed with testing with Sanwa 311, Novak XXL and Multiplex Pico 4/5

There's only one more detail than Tom's post. And that's the number of channels configured. His post was absolutely correct.

Hope this helps
antoniop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 05:30 PM
  #10  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Kenshin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 187
Default

antoniop,
That is exactly the info that I was looking for!!! I have searched info on the Helios and nobody has explained it in detail like you did. Thanks.

P.S.
Is there a manual in .pdf anybody know of?
Kenshin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 09:39 PM
  #11  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (3)
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Ok, the throttle punch, throttle acceleration, and throttle speed...These are all adjustments similar but more in-depth then throttle expo/curve. I assumed throttle punch would effect initial throttle response until I saw the throttle acceleration adjustment. I am also puzzled with the 3-speed positions slightly.

the way I read the manual, the auto start might be what somone would want to adjust for idling a gas engine at startup.
RCGaryK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 10:50 PM
  #12  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (13)
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,155
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Any one know why when I plug in my personal transponder the radio freaks out and starts glitching? I'm using the helios with the 302F Rx, keyence Zero Xtreme, and a Ko propo 2123 servo.

-Sushi Boy
Korey Harbke is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2004, 03:28 AM
  #13  
Tech Regular
 
antoniop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 371
Default

Try do do it as far from the RX as you wire allows it.

I had the same problem the first time I used. I installed neatly ON TOP of the radio box on my NTTC3.

When I was on the drivers stand the car took off alone and stopped on a mattress (yes they have them at the track LOL, imagine the driving going on there). The problem was that in the meantime it grinded the tires before I could stop it.

Put it VERY VERY far from the RX
antoniop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2004, 08:36 AM
  #14  
Tech Fanatic
 
Tommy Bergfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 979
Default

I'm searching for a 27FM Module for my Helios.. But it looks like it's not available as a "spare" part..
The reason i want a 27 module is because i bought a KO 27FM Reciever by mistake (doh!) and now it's useless..
Anyone know where i can found one coz i've been searching like mad for one.. A shop that can ship to Sweden would be nice
Tommy Bergfeldt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2004, 08:55 AM
  #15  
TFR
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Sparx
I'm searching for a 27FM Module for my Helios.. But it looks like it's not available as a "spare" part..
The reason i want a 27 module is because i bought a KO 27FM Reciever by mistake (doh!) and now it's useless..
Anyone know where i can found one coz i've been searching like mad for one.. A shop that can ship to Sweden would be nice
www.rainbowten.co.jp has them. You can also sell your 27mhz FM receiver here...
TFR is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service