R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-15-2009, 11:24 AM   #106
Tech Elite
 
chris moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Phx AZ
Posts: 3,780
Trader Rating: 88 (99%+)
Default

Thanks Randy, changing those settings did help alot. Do you have any feedback from anyone on using the different throttle settings on the esc besides #3?
__________________
Sponsered by:

CMDezigns Paint Works
https://www.facebook.com/pages/CM-Dezigns/259989190822177?ref=hl
chris moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 08:39 PM   #107
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 632
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

.

Last edited by Josh Keller; 09-26-2009 at 07:52 PM.
Josh Keller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 10:52 PM   #108
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

seriously? No receiver pack or booster? I set my esc to the same settings and it wont run without the receiver pack . . .
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 09:29 AM   #109
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,047
Default

Version 189 will not run without a receiver pack at all and is also not the best with 4cell. Version 194 will run really well with mild motors for most of the battery and is great on 4cell. Late in the run you will see some throttle reduction as voltage of the pack drops. With faster motors the throttle reduction happens early in the run. With modified motors you may not get full power right from the start. We are tweaking the setting down as good as they can be without a receiver pack in the next revision.

The for sure fastest will always be with a receiver pack or booster because we never have to reduce throttle to keep the receiver alive.

Tekin Prez
__________________
[email protected]
Smarter, Smaller, Faster....
www.teamtekin.com
Tekin Prez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 10:50 AM   #110
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Andres,

Email me for the 194 software: [email protected]

This will help you out loads.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 03:39 PM   #111
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Andres,

Email me for the 194 software: [email protected]

This will help you out loads.
I imagine you were talking to me? lol. Are you saying the RS should work without a receiver or booster if I'm running 194? I have 194 and can't see that working unless I am missing something. Maybe I am just confused . . .
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 04:22 PM   #112
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,047
Default

Maybe we are missing something. 194 works fine on 1S here on our carpet track and according to plenty of our drivers. It is smooth all the way thru, but does start fast and slow down as I have explained.

We are not really putting much effort into to trying to run 1S without a reciever bat or booster. The best we could hope for is to be almost as fast... and that is a waste of time.

Boosters are small, light and cheap. They are part of running 1S in our opinion just like a seperate bec unit is expected and needed in serious crawling. We could add the booster to the speedo but it double the size and that does not make sense either.

WE DO NOT LIKE 2s reciever packs. We do not like receiver packs in general because they are a pain. Easier to install the booster somewhere and be done with it. One battery, flip the switch and hammer down.

Tekin Prez
__________________
[email protected]
Smarter, Smaller, Faster....
www.teamtekin.com
Tekin Prez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 04:28 PM   #113
Tech Master
 
Canuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 1,747
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

I'm for the booster all the on my 1/12th 1S setup
Canuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 04:42 PM   #114
Tech Elite
 
Grenade10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 4,674
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamTekin View Post
Easier to install the booster somewhere and be done with it. One battery, flip the switch and hammer down.

Tekin Prez
I have not run the 1 cell with 194, but will do a practice next Tuesday. Is the switch still left off on the RS with the booster installed?
__________________
Darkside, Sweep, BSR, Fantom, IGT Hobbies and IGT8
Byrons Fuel, ProtoForm Bodies & Futaba Radio Gear by Choice
Founding Member of CORRC .... 5280raceway
www.darksidems.com www.igthobbies.com www.IGT8.com
Grenade10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 04:50 PM   #115
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,047
Default

Red wire in the servo plug and switch off with a booster or reciever pack. Tricks us into thinking we have 6v on the motor battery so we never reduce throttle to maintain 3V to the receiver. Only downside is the voltage cutoff does not work because we cannot measure the lipo voltage. Fortunately we are not using the entire battery and it drops off well before going to low.

The new software version coming allows you to leave the switch on and the voltage cutoff works so it can be set at 3V. No performance improvements are expected. You are getting all the battery can give right now with the switch off.
__________________
[email protected]
Smarter, Smaller, Faster....
www.teamtekin.com
Tekin Prez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 04:57 PM   #116
Tech Master
 
Canuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 1,747
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamTekin View Post
Red wire in the servo plug and switch off with a booster or reciever pack. Tricks us into thinking we have 6v on the motor battery so we never reduce throttle to maintain 3V to the receiver. Only downside is the voltage cutoff does not work because we cannot measure the lipo voltage. Fortunately we are not using the entire battery and it drops off well before going to low.

The new software version coming allows you to leave the switch on and the voltage cutoff works so it can be set at 3V. No performance improvements are expected. You are getting all the battery can give right now with the switch off.
"Red wire in the servo plug" What do you mean by that ?
Canuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 05:32 PM   #117
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

In certain applications people remove the red wire to use a seperate BEC or RX pack.

For the booster leave the red wire in.

Andrew, not sure what you're doing with an RS in your car anyhow by looking at your signature. But I figured if you needed help I'd offer.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 07:00 PM   #118
avs
Tech Master
 
avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,175
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamTekin View Post
Red wire in the servo plug and switch off with a booster or reciever pack. Tricks us into thinking we have 6v on the motor battery so we never reduce throttle to maintain 3V to the receiver. Only downside is the voltage cutoff does not work because we cannot measure the lipo voltage. Fortunately we are not using the entire battery and it drops off well before going to low.

The new software version coming allows you to leave the switch on and the voltage cutoff works so it can be set at 3V. No performance improvements are expected. You are getting all the battery can give right now with the switch off.
interesting, just when i thought i understood what to do.

when you say 'switch off with a booster', do you mean when the booster is wired to get power from the battery and energize the receiver? (makes sense)

but would you reccomend an inline booster between the RS's servo plug and the receiver, so that the receiver and servo would see the boosted voltage but the ESC would not. this way the normal switch would work. is this a bad idea somehow? (haven't tried it yet, i just ordered a little inline booster to try it out).

thanks for the help.
avs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 07:51 PM   #119
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,047
Default

The esc needs to see the boosted voltage. That is how we trick it into thinking it also has 6v on the motor battery. In the new version we will still need to 'see' that boosted voltage so we still do not care what the motor battery voltage is and can give you full power all the time on any setup or motor..... all the way to 0V.

We currently give full power but we are blind to the motor battery voltage. That is why we need a new version that allows the switch to be on so we can measure the motor battery voltage and activate the low voltage cutoff without losing any rip.
__________________
[email protected]
Smarter, Smaller, Faster....
www.teamtekin.com
Tekin Prez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 02:07 AM   #120
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
In certain applications people remove the red wire to use a seperate BEC or RX pack.

For the booster leave the red wire in.

Andrew, not sure what you're doing with an RS in your car anyhow by looking at your signature. But I figured if you needed help I'd offer.

"Keep your friends close and your [competition] closer"

-Sun-Tzu-

Somebody's gotta fill Dumas in on all this new 1 cell stuff!
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:30 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net