R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-22-2009, 09:03 AM   #361
Tech Elite
 
Lonestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,364
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

you can run any 3-phase BL RC motor with the ezrun controller, including sensored motors (as long as you don't go overboard on the number of turns). Just don't plug the sensor cable if you use a sensored motor.

Paul
__________________
When the flag drops, the BS stops.

The train stops at the train station. The bus stops at the bus station. In my office I have a workstation.
Lonestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 08:40 AM   #362
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonestar View Post
you can run any 3-phase BL RC motor with the ezrun controller, including sensored motors (as long as you don't go overboard on the number of turns). Just don't plug the sensor cable if you use a sensored motor.

Paul
What is 3-phase BL motor? Do different brands make different phases?
__________________
Dudududududuuuuuu.....
dameetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 09:50 AM   #363
Tech Fanatic
 
Tpg racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 967
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dameetz View Post
What is 3-phase BL motor? Do different brands make different phases?
Im no pro but to make it easy to understand 3 phase means the motor has 3 different sections inside the motor can whereby each of the sections are individually energize to make the rotor spins....

An easy way to keep track on how many phase a brushless motor have is the number of wires going into the motor.... eg. most motors we use today has 3 wires soldered onto the motor where each wires handles each phase in the motor....

Correct me if im wrong guys....
Tpg racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 01:24 PM   #364
Tech Elite
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tpg racer View Post
Im no pro but to make it easy to understand 3 phase means the motor has 3 different sections inside the motor can whereby each of the sections are individually energize to make the rotor spins....

An easy way to keep track on how many phase a brushless motor have is the number of wires going into the motor.... eg. most motors we use today has 3 wires soldered onto the motor where each wires handles each phase in the motor....

Correct me if im wrong guys....
pretty much. The wires join up the coils, and the ESC pulses them like this: AB, BC, AC, over and over again.
__________________
HPI E-Firestorm - Tamiya TA05 racer (carbon chassis, 10.5 brushless etc) - LRP Blast S10 BX - Revo 2.5r truggy conversion (in progress)
joe of loath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 11:08 PM   #365
Tech Elite
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,616
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

has anyone run a speedpassion or similar sensored 10.5 or 13.5 or 17.5 that doesnt have timing on the motor adjustable with these ezrun esc's..


I am wondering if their was any cogging issues from take off....

I want to try one for racing in a onroad Touring car with 2 cell li-po for super stock & stock Class.
LOSI123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 04:33 AM   #366
Tech Regular
 
RossoTorro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Euro-Thrash
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I run a couple of F103's with 35A ESC and 3000kv without fans on ESC.
No problem as of yet.

Did get 1 time it went thermal on me, but i was running it in a F103GT with high traction foams and the car is heavier than F1's.

I guess the ratio is different on F103GT than on F103R-RS running same spur/pinion. I run mine on 20t/104t.
RossoTorro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 05:35 PM   #367
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 100
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Just purchased a new 150 with motor and hope to have it in a weeks time and will put it in an older ofna MBX to try as a electric L8M.
legend15x3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 01:54 PM   #368
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 382
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

The switch on my ezrun 60A Tekmodel went bad. I have a old Duratrax esc with a switch on it would it be fine to use the switch from that.
ghj1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 03:12 AM   #369
Tech Elite
 
Lonestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,364
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghj1997 View Post
The switch on my ezrun 60A Tekmodel went bad. I have a old Duratrax esc with a switch on it would it be fine to use the switch from that.
yes you can.

there are two kinds of switch basically - those that are actually current breakers, and those that just turn devides on. For and ESC we're talking about the latter (the "real" current requested by the motor doesn't flow through the switch). you can take pretty much any switch you like and replace the stock one with it.


Sidenote: how the heck do you guys manage to fry switches???

Paul
__________________
When the flag drops, the BS stops.

The train stops at the train station. The bus stops at the bus station. In my office I have a workstation.
Lonestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 05:38 AM   #370
Tech Elite
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I think you blocked me but if some one quotes it lonestar can see it.

The switch's are hit and miss, my truck one has lasted a couple of months and still going strong but my dads did one battery pack the smoke just came out of the ESC the switch and my friend died after a fair bit of abuse but no smoke......Is it just those two or do they dye in the off possition ie usable but the batt is the switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonestar View Post
yes you can.

there are two kinds of switch basically - those that are actually current breakers, and those that just turn devides on. For and ESC we're talking about the latter (the "real" current requested by the motor doesn't flow through the switch). you can take pretty much any switch you like and replace the stock one with it.


Sidenote: how the heck do you guys manage to fry switches???

Paul
__________________
::Mi4::17.5::::::M03R::HW 3000kv::::::T4::7.5::::::HB Cyclone D4::5.5::

"Why follow, when you can lead?"
Schumacher
Drifting101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 02:39 PM   #371
Tech Apprentice
 
sporadicidiocy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Darkside of the spoon
Posts: 82
Default

I managed to short mine out too

The ESC itself is fine, but the shortout occured right at where the switch's wires are connected to the ESC.. the insulation was apparently stripped too much around there... so now the wires pretty much melted, and my fan's wires were so close they melted partially as well.

I am now running my old SuperRooster with a 17T modified brushed motor in my TT01 till I can fix the thing.

Also ordered a 60A ESC to try out with this motor...

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...hless_Inrunner

Anyone have experience with it?
__________________
90% Sakura Zero: Reventon S V3.0 10.5T
Sakura Ultimate: GTB2 17.5T
F104 Pro: SXX V2 Trackstar 21.5T
F103 Chevronmodels 6-wheel conversion
sporadicidiocy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 05:19 PM   #372
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 422
Default

now this question has probably been asked a thousand times here before, but i dont have the time to read all posts so:

i`m thinking of getting the 60a system with the 5,5 motor, what can i expect for speeds, what does the motor compare to against sensorless motors?

its going to be driven on a large asphalt track so speed is important!
Hatebreed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 06:25 PM   #373
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hatebreed View Post
now this question has probably been asked a thousand times here before, but i dont have the time to read all posts so:

i`m thinking of getting the 60a system with the 5,5 motor, what can i expect for speeds, what does the motor compare to against sensorless motors?

its going to be driven on a large asphalt track so speed is important!
I have one on my TRF 416 and I m running it on large asphalt track too(meant for nitro cars). Speed wise it is there on par with the rest of the top brands. Though its sensorless its the smoothest out there for me, no cogging at all during standing start.
__________________
Dudududududuuuuuu.....
dameetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 08:36 PM   #374
Tech Regular
 
M@Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brunei
Posts: 306
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to M@Z Send a message via Yahoo to M@Z
Default

HI all, I M new to EP, don know much about the electronics needed to run these Ep cars. Can someone shed some light for me. I have a NANDA NRX18, which of the Hobbywing brushless ESC/motor combo suitable for this car. we have a small technical track. and which one is suitable to be fitted into the ABC M-Chassis car?
M@Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 07:06 AM   #375
Tech Elite
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
HI all, I M new to EP, don know much about the electronics needed to run these Ep cars. Can someone shed some light for me. I have a NANDA NRX18, which of the Hobbywing brushless ESC/motor combo suitable for this car. we have a small technical track. and which one is suitable to be fitted into the ABC M-Chassis car?
I'm not familiar with the nanda car, but for the ABC a 35A 9t system would be absolutely perfect.
__________________
HPI E-Firestorm - Tamiya TA05 racer (carbon chassis, 10.5 brushless etc) - LRP Blast S10 BX - Revo 2.5r truggy conversion (in progress)
joe of loath is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamiya mini cooper sipaboy Electric On-Road 29687 12-10-2017 04:07 AM
Duratrax Evader cheech4 Electric Off-Road 1159 03-25-2015 02:27 AM
RC equipments for Sale ijnek Malaysian R/C Racers 22836 09-09-2009 02:50 PM
wich brushless system maylemay Electric Off-Road 38 06-09-2009 03:46 PM
Whats a cheap brushless system for a traxxas slash Leroy1234p Electric Off-Road 25 05-17-2009 08:07 PM
Xray copies academygaz Electric On-Road 151 11-03-2008 09:42 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:06 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net