CRC 1/10 Pan Car

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2011, 06:59 AM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)

Originally Posted by ozzy-crawl
well i have my new gen-x le built and ready to go,if it stops raining
got a couple newb questions.
the side springs can be adjusted up and down,how are these generally set tension wise,do you wind them down till they just touch or are they adjusted with more tension ?

ball diff setup

i haven't touched a ball diff in about 6 years,when holding both tyres and then trying to turn the spur with your thumb,how hard do you try and turn it ?
that may sound strange but what is hard for one person may not be for another,or should it have pressure but still be turnable

thanks for any advice
Regarding the side springs, I am by no means an expert, but to begin with- I've learned that they should be approximately 1/16" off the pod, in other words they should not touch. You can turn them more and have them touch (preload) based on your traction conditions.

As far as the diff goes, once tightened down, it should be VERY difficult to turn while holding the wheels- but not impossible.

Hope this helps
Old 03-05-2011, 12:32 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

well i have my new gen-x le built and ready to go,if it stops raining
got a couple newb questions.
the side springs can be adjusted up and down,how are these generally set tension wise,do you wind them down till they just touch or are they adjusted with more tension ?

ball diff setup

i haven't touched a ball diff in about 6 years,when holding both tyres and then trying to turn the spur with your thumb,how hard do you try and turn it ?
that may sound strange but what is hard for one person may not be for another,or should it have pressure but still be turnable

thanks for any advice