Community
Wiki Posts
Search
Like Tree1Likes

U.S. Vintage Trans-Am Racing

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2011, 10:40 AM
Tech Initiate

Default Brand new to VTA, no flames pls? :)

Hey all. I've been bashing Traxxas stuff for a few years, and I wanted to give VTA a try. I bought a JL-10e, built it out with a leftover ESC/motor I had on the bench, and it's a lot of fun! The helpful folks at Fantasy Hobbies in Tacoma hooked me up with a proper 200mm body, wheels and tires, so I think I'm g2g there.

I'm thinking about entering a Novice event at the local track (Fantasy Hobbies in Tacoma, again), and to that end I decided to get a 'proper' motor/ESC combo. I have a factory rebuilt Novak Havoc 2S/SS Pro 25.5 VTA Combo coming in the mail for that.

My concern is whether or not the 25.5 was the proper motor for me to choose. I saw that it was the spec on the usvintagetransam site so I went that way. Is this enforced at local races, or more of a 'run what ya brung' situation?

Thanks!!

-dd
Old 07-31-2011, 11:00 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

welcome DD to VTA.....

if your club is racing USVTA rules, just go by the rules on the USVTA website...that way you are legal all the time...and almost anywhere...glad you are in VTA and good luck
Old 07-31-2011, 05:49 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 261 (100%+)

Fantasy World, last I knew, does not race by VTA rules...best bet would be to check with the guys there. I think they have a couple different specs that "race". Kind of true as far as I know for most things they run...they're big on "local option" rules.

Mike, Mike, Richey, et al can get you headed in the right direction.
Old 07-31-2011, 06:09 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Hey guys is there any Tracks near western Maryland I'll be visiting my family out there in Garret county it's about 40 minutes west of Cumberland ?
Old 08-01-2011, 09:21 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 9 (91%+)