Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
U.S. Vintage Trans-Am Racing >

U.S. Vintage Trans-Am Racing

Like Tree1Likes

U.S. Vintage Trans-Am Racing

Old 02-11-2012, 09:00 AM
  #13591  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (5)
 
Ladder Killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mobile Alabama
Posts: 221
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Yes they do Lol
Ladder Killer is offline  
Old 02-11-2012, 09:55 AM
  #13592  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (5)
 
Ladder Killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mobile Alabama
Posts: 221
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Anybody else having problems with just this forum section displaying correctly
I cant go to the last post, I have to hit reply and read below reply to this thread just to see it ?
Ladder Killer is offline  
Old 02-11-2012, 10:01 AM
  #13593  
Tech Master
iTrader: (46)
 
Travis S's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 1,374
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Ladder Killer
Anybody else having problems with just this forum section displaying correctly
I cant go to the last post, I have to hit reply and read below reply to this thread just to see it ?
Look at the URL when you try to view the last post and you will see it will change the page number at the very end. (I think 5 times and then time out.) If you change the number in the URL to 1 less then and reload it will get to the last page. It just is all out of whack on knowing what page goes with what post.

Someone also said you can change the posts so page 1 is the new posts vs page 800+ and this fixes the issue as well. This is done under the forum settings somewhere.
Travis S is offline  
Old 02-11-2012, 10:41 AM
  #13594  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (5)
 
Ladder Killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mobile Alabama
Posts: 221
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Travis S
Look at the URL when you try to view the last post and you will see it will change the page number at the very end. (I think 5 times and then time out.) If you change the number in the URL to 1 less then and reload it will get to the last page. It just is all out of whack on knowing what page goes with what post.

Someone also said you can change the posts so page 1 is the new posts vs page 800+ and this fixes the issue as well. This is done under the forum settings somewhere.
Ok, that works better

Last edited by Ladder Killer; 02-11-2012 at 10:43 AM. Reason: Forum trouble
Ladder Killer is offline  
Old 02-11-2012, 11:46 AM
  #13595  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northern Virginia, USA
Posts: 499
Default

Originally Posted by Travis S
Look at the URL when you try to view the last post and you will see it will change the page number at the very end. (I think 5 times and then time out.) If you change the number in the URL to 1 less then and reload it will get to the last page. It just is all out of whack on knowing what page goes with what post.

Someone also said you can change the posts so page 1 is the new posts vs page 800+ and this fixes the issue as well. This is done under the forum settings somewhere.
I'm surprised it has gone on so long. All someone needs to do is lock this thread and make a new one.
Stregone is offline  
Old 02-11-2012, 11:58 AM
  #13596  
Tech Master
iTrader: (41)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Grand Portage, MN
Posts: 1,369
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

I don;t have the problem any more since I changed to Viewing the reply's newest first. Works great No more problems
jdeadman is offline  
Old 02-11-2012, 12:53 PM
  #13597  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
DARKSIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nashville-Memphis
Posts: 9,625
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jdeadman
I don;t have the problem any more since I changed to Viewing the reply's newest first. Works great No more problems
+1...works better for me and my phone
DARKSIDE is offline  
Old 02-11-2012, 04:12 PM
  #13598  
Tech Adept
 
Geno-Machino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: The other "O"town
Posts: 100
Default

Been nosing around to find a chassis and found a few options but before I jump into the deep end of the pool would like to know some of the thoughts on belt vs. shaft driven cars for VTA or if it really matters.
Geno-Machino is offline  
Old 02-11-2012, 04:21 PM
  #13599  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chi-Town West Burbs
Posts: 1,807
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Geno-Machino
Been nosing around to find a chassis and found a few options but before I jump into the deep end of the pool would like to know some of the thoughts on belt vs. shaft driven cars for VTA or if it really matters.
One problem you may find, with a shaft drive, is fitting the proper gear ratio into the c.ar
mooby64 is offline  
Old 02-11-2012, 04:55 PM
  #13600  
Tech Master
iTrader: (39)
 
beemerfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,711
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Geno-Machino
Been nosing around to find a chassis and found a few options but before I jump into the deep end of the pool would like to know some of the thoughts on belt vs. shaft driven cars for VTA or if it really matters.
I like my shaft drive TC3s. I think a well setup one has less rolling resistance than most belt drive cars. It did take some reworking of the chassis though to get the proper gear ratios for large tracks. After the rework, I can get down to about 2.9:1 FDR if I have to.
beemerfan is offline  
Old 02-11-2012, 05:37 PM
  #13601  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
pejota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 1,022
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Ran a shaft drive TC3 for a long time. Made the proper Dremel modifications to get a wide range of gears. I like the simplicity of working on a shaft drive car, but hated dealing with ball diffs. The car seemed a little twitchy, especially on power, but i never ran it with a spool.

Currently running a Sakura Zero S. Love it. Car is smooth and the front and rear gear diffs are amazing. I've made very little changes to the box stock setup and it's great.


Originally Posted by Geno-Machino
Been nosing around to find a chassis and found a few options but before I jump into the deep end of the pool would like to know some of the thoughts on belt vs. shaft driven cars for VTA or if it really matters.
pejota is offline  
Old 02-12-2012, 06:16 AM
  #13602  
Tech Adept
 
Geno-Machino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: The other "O"town
Posts: 100
Default

Thanks for the info, I would assume the use of 64 pitch gears but with the later availability of smaller spur gears below 88 now down to 72, how much more gear is needed? I assume the mod includes the amount of swing of the cam and perhaps clearance for a larger pinion. Don't have a chassis to look at but from memory seems as if those could be possible trouble spots.

Just started asking around among my buddies and already have several different chassis options to choose from; TC3, TC4, TC5 and TA05 with the layed down cantalever front shocks. Gathering info, not in a big hurry, need to sell a SC10/SCLM and a JRC/Putnam Dirt Late Model before I begin this new project.

Pejota, I sent you an email but it was an address from several years ago.


Originally Posted by pejota
Ran a shaft drive TC3 for a long time. Made the proper Dremel modifications to get a wide range of gears. I like the simplicity of working on a shaft drive car, but hated dealing with ball diffs. The car seemed a little twitchy, especially on power, but i never ran it with a spool.

Currently running a Sakura Zero S. Love it. Car is smooth and the front and rear gear diffs are amazing. I've made very little changes to the box stock setup and it's great.
Geno-Machino is offline  
Old 02-12-2012, 09:10 AM
  #13603  
Tech Master
iTrader: (39)
 
beemerfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,711
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Geno-Machino
Thanks for the info, I would assume the use of 64 pitch gears but with the later availability of smaller spur gears below 88 now down to 72, how much more gear is needed? I assume the mod includes the amount of swing of the cam and perhaps clearance for a larger pinion. Don't have a chassis to look at but from memory seems as if those could be possible trouble spots.
That is correct. With a 72 or 74 tooth spur, you don't have much to worry about except clearance for the pinion from the chassis webbing right underneath it. Depending on how adjustable you want to make things, you may also need slight modifications to the cam and possibly remove some plastic from the chassis under and on right side of the motor.
beemerfan is offline  
Old 02-12-2012, 10:29 AM
  #13604  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (5)
 
Ladder Killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mobile Alabama
Posts: 221
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I remember the days of dremels and cams Lol
Ladder Killer is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 07:37 AM
  #13605  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
wwddww34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 2,560
Trader Rating: 9 (91%+)
Default

Hey all you VTA racers, have you signed up to race your VTA at the 2012 ROAR Carpet Nationals coming on March 16? Hurry up and register before there is no more room! Click here to get signed up.

Click
HERE to see a countdown to the 2012 ROAR Carpet Nationals
wwddww34 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.