Team Associated TC5

Reply

Old 10-01-2010, 01:16 AM
  #12616  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 776
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Scooter79rs View Post
Tonight AE got a bit of air time on Australian TV

The in-car footage was taken using my car and it got a nice view of the AE logo, the car at 2:31 is also the same car, different body.
I have hope that you save your club and track

m.

Last edited by M.Abramowicz; 10-01-2010 at 01:58 AM.
M.Abramowicz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 04:56 AM
  #12617  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Perth, Australia.
Posts: 1,343
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post
I have hope that you save your club and track

m.
I hope so too, its an awesome track which I've been one of the pace setters at it. But due to the up roar from everyone to sale of the facility has been put on hold. So I'm hoping the facility isn't sold of and the track stays.
Scooter79rs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 07:07 AM
  #12618  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (48)
 
Warren Weaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NASCAR COUNTRY
Posts: 2,507
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

I just installed the spec-r bd5 gear diff in my tc5 had to use extra shims but it fit and looks like it will fit the tc6 since the new diffs are narrow.
Warren Weaver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 11:29 PM
  #12619  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 776
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Warren Weaver View Post
I just installed the spec-r bd5 gear diff in my tc5 had to use extra shims but it fit and looks like it will fit the tc6 since the new diffs are narrow.

Post the pics

m.
M.Abramowicz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 03:17 AM
  #12620  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (1)
 
Murdock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 48
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

MY bad, but.. What are the differences between the TC5 and TC6?

When is the TC6 coming out?
Murdock is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 03:18 AM
  #12621  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (1)
 
Murdock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 48
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone used a TC5 Chassis for drifting?
Murdock is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 04:29 PM
  #12622  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (48)
 
Warren Weaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NASCAR COUNTRY
Posts: 2,507
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post
Post the pics

m.
here is the pics i will be testing it this weekend it might end up in the rear.
bd5 spec r gear diff
Attached Thumbnails Team Associated TC5-101_0353.jpg   Team Associated TC5-101_0354.jpg   Team Associated TC5-101_0355.jpg  

Last edited by Warren Weaver; 10-04-2010 at 04:47 PM.
Warren Weaver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 07:42 PM
  #12623  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
ZiG-87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 897
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Okay, just got my TC5R and had my first club race with it. I loved it. I have two basic questions though:

1. I noticed there is some side-side play in the rear diff. None in the front, but the rear can move side to side a couple mm. Is this normal?

2. My belts were way tighter than anyone else. I got the car second hand from one of the top drivers so I hesitate to question his setup, but everyone at the track was telling me too lower the tension a bit. What's the deal?

Thanks.
ZiG-87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 08:50 PM
  #12624  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Perth, Australia.
Posts: 1,343
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ZiG-87 View Post
Okay, just got my TC5R and had my first club race with it. I loved it. I have two basic questions though:

1. I noticed there is some side-side play in the rear diff. None in the front, but the rear can move side to side a couple mm. Is this normal?

2. My belts were way tighter than anyone else. I got the car second hand from one of the top drivers so I hesitate to question his setup, but everyone at the track was telling me too lower the tension a bit. What's the deal?

Thanks.
1. Is it the pulley or the whole diff? All of my diff's have some side-to-side movement on the pully.

2. How easy do they flex if you press down on them with your finger?
Scooter79rs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 09:48 PM
  #12625  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
ZiG-87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 897
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

The whole diff moves. I was going to just shim it more, but there's already one shim on each side, just like the manual calls for. It just strikes me as odd that only the rear diff has this play.

As for belt tension, I can push on the front belt and get it to touch the top deck with moderate pressure, but on everyone else's cars, it took probably half or a third as much pressure to do the same.
ZiG-87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 04:34 AM
  #12626  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 167
Default

Originally Posted by Warren Weaver View Post
I just installed the spec-r bd5 gear diff in my tc5 had to use extra shims but it fit and looks like it will fit the tc6 since the new diffs are narrow.
May i know the size of extra shims?
mos-leung is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 05:12 AM
  #12627  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Barbados
Posts: 214
Default

Originally Posted by ZiG-87 View Post
The whole diff moves. I was going to just shim it more, but there's already one shim on each side, just like the manual calls for. It just strikes me as odd that only the rear diff has this play.

As for belt tension, I can push on the front belt and get it to touch the top deck with moderate pressure, but on everyone else's cars, it took probably half or a third as much pressure to do the same.
My diffs have a bit of play with the recommended 1 shim per side as well. Not as much as 1mm though.

As for the tight belts did the previous owner run mod? They might have been tight to stop the belts skipping with a high power motor. If you're running a higher turn motor just adjust the cams so the belt is looser. I run mine fairly loose with a 13.5.
spongerX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 06:51 AM
  #12628  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (48)
 
Warren Weaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NASCAR COUNTRY
Posts: 2,507
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mos-leung View Post
May i know the size of extra shims?
I just used the standard diff shims i think it was 4 on each side.
Warren Weaver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 11:49 AM
  #12629  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (42)
 
seth556's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,210
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

How free should the drive train be? Without the belts everything seems super free but with the belts on it's a lot less free. If I take out the motor and spin a tire fast and let go it will only continue to spin for 3/4 a turn or so. The belts aren't very tight at all and it just seems odd.
seth556 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 11:53 AM
  #12630  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,361
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

That is normal, not nice but normal. If you use the original AE belt you should change to Yokomo belts they are better in this case.
wtcc is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service