Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Team Associated RC8Be Thread >

Team Associated RC8Be Thread

Team Associated RC8Be Thread

Old 01-22-2011, 03:09 PM
  #1396  
117
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (6)
 
117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 784
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 305997
At the board level sure.....but crimp is the preferred method at connectors.
Exactly.
117 is offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 04:56 PM
  #1397  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
jmackani's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Shippensburg
Posts: 5,694
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 117
What kind of connectors did you work on that were soldered? I was an aircraft electrician in the TXARNG. I mostly dealt with cannon plugs and wire repair. Everything was crimped.

Almost everything I've worked with on my track car has been crimped with the exception of the connectors for my digital dash. It used a very small DIN like connector for use with 22ga and 24ga wire (those solder cups were small!).

I also don't like the use of bullet connectors for the motor for the reason you describe. I just would like the RX8 to have the same type of connectors used on the MMM (the bullet connectors are on the ESC itself).
Shipboard connectors on the Arleigh Burke Class destroyers for the Aegis Weapon System that ran from computer weapons consoles for data signals like NTDS parallel and serial cables to CCTV video cables for cameras that monitors vertical launching system. All quick locking type connectors. Items that connected to computer consoles for headset and microphone activation to all the feeds for differing data types including IFF challengers for aircraft.

Component board level was simply plug and play. This reduced downtime for the ships weapon systems. All backplanes were done through wire wrapping methods on posts.

The female connectors that connected to these were all soldered:

jmackani is offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 06:31 PM
  #1398  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 435
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jmackani
Shipboard connectors on the Arleigh Burke Class destroyers for the Aegis Weapon System that ran from computer weapons consoles for data signals like NTDS parallel and serial cables to CCTV video cables for cameras that monitors vertical launching system. All quick locking type connectors. Items that connected to computer consoles for headset and microphone activation to all the feeds for differing data types including IFF challengers for aircraft.

Component board level was simply plug and play. This reduced downtime for the ships weapon systems. All backplanes were done through wire wrapping methods on posts.

The female connectors that connected to these were all soldered:

Different types of connections and not much chance to go crimped. At the connector-to-connector level (not board mount connectors), crimped is preferred in aerospace because solder joints can fail under vibration and strain.
305997 is offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 06:42 PM
  #1399  
117
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (6)
 
117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 784
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Very interesting. Those connectors look almost like cannon plugs. All the stuff I worked on was in the Chinook and Blackhawk helicopters. We were always told that soldering at the connector level was not used due to the brittleness of the connection, especially if solder wicks up the wire. The stuff I worked on was made to function in very high vibration and dirty environments, though.

Most of the autosport connectors I've used (my track car is wired mostly with Deutsch DT, DTP, and DTM connectors) are crimp, as are OEM auto connectors.

Don't get me wrong. I don't think there is necessarily anything wrong with soldering as long as the connection is clean and properly stress relieved (which is why I'm surprised you're not supposed to shrink the RX8 connections).

I'm also surprised that the posts are heat sinks. You'd think that Tekin would have used a larger heat sink if the heat sink as designed is not large enough.

Good to know before I solder up my RX8. I was planning to shrink all the connections as I don't like having exposed wiring.

Which direction are you guys installing the RX8? I was thinking with the wire posts toward the centerline.
117 is offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 06:58 PM
  #1400  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
jmackani's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Shippensburg
Posts: 5,694
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

I installed the tekin with posts to the center line and the wires coming off the post in the vertical position to the motor to go over the chassis stiffener.

There are two boards in the rx8, the big red heat sink could be mainly for the upperboard and the posts for the lower board. The RS series of speedos use nothing but the terminial posts.
jmackani is offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 07:09 PM
  #1401  
117
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (6)
 
117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 784
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Where does the receiver wire come out of the case? Did you have to use an extension?

I'm thinking that I'll mount my RX8 like yours with the posts closest to the centerline.
117 is offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 07:13 PM
  #1402  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
jmackani's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Shippensburg
Posts: 5,694
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 117
Where does the receiver wire come out of the case? Did you have to use an extension?

I'm thinking that I'll mount my RX8 like yours with the posts closest to the centerline.
If you route it according to the manual, then you need an extension. You can route it around the center diff and not need an extension. I used the extension so we can easily plug in the hotwire for programming withou having to open the reciever box. A 4" extension is the trick.
jmackani is offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 07:30 PM
  #1403  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
simptek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: ATL GA
Posts: 211
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default The Extension

What receiver wire extension did you use and will it work for the Mamba M also?
simptek is offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 08:09 PM
  #1404  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
GreggW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,351
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Those look exactly like the cannon plugs I've worked with on the F-16s.
GreggW is offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 08:24 PM
  #1405  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
GreggW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,351
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Is my Castle Pinion going to fit with the grid mount? I just realized I may have to buy a new pinion too.
GreggW is offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 08:24 PM
  #1406  
Tech Master
iTrader: (52)
 
ktm11rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 1,032
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Ran mine for the first time today. WAS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!! Love the tekin stuff in it and kept up with the nitro's. (Well on the straightaway at least! )
ktm11rider is offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 08:26 PM
  #1407  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
GreggW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,351
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ktm11rider
Ran mine for the first time today. WAS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!! Love the tekin stuff in it and kept up with the nitro's. (Well on the straightaway at least! )
This post ^^^^^^^^^^ is worthless without pics
GreggW is offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 08:35 PM
  #1408  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
GreggW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,351
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default



+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
GreggW is offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 09:02 PM
  #1409  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
Leodis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,058
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Question for you guys who've used both the elite mount and grid mount:

I love my elite, but I have one small complaint. The motor sits so high off the chassis that every now and then, I literally rip some of the insulation off my motor wire(s) near the solder tabs because the AE RC8e body is so close to the motor. I don't want to rotate my can so the solder tabs are protected from impact. Does the grid mount allow the motor to sit closer to the chassis?

P.S. My RC8Be couldn't be beat tonight.
Leodis is offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 09:14 PM
  #1410  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
GreggW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,351
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

This is Billys Grid mount installed.


GreggW is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.