Search
Like Tree2Likes

Tamiya TRF801XT

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2017, 06:58 PM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

Originally Posted by the wrench
most people here got their truggy on closeout from tamiya from a few years ago, at least thats when i got mine, its old, heavy, has weak front arms, some think the entire kit is fragile, i have no other truggy experience, mainly buggy but was a cheap way to get into a second class, to see if i like it, and i loooove truggy, i cant compare what it drives like, i started from scratch and just played with it until i felt it was neutral for my driving...i like how smooth the drivetrain is, and i like how it drives... im not serious enough to justify buying new kits every year something new comes out, but it was worth the cost to upgrade the arms and experiment with c-hubs, knuckles, shocks and driveshafts, was still cheaper than a new kit, and at the rate new kits are being introduced, its crazy to run a kit for 6months and sell it here to get the next... im not hardcore competitive, just a "club" level hobbyist, having fun

if you find one cheap, i personally think there fantastic, plenty new kits that are better, but for what it is, i like mine, and ill keep running it until i run out of drivetrain parts
The Wrench definitely has the right outlook on this truck. I am currently working through getting my XT running how I want it to. I am running it just as a basher and bmx pump track rc truck. No racing, just me and myself dicking around cuz I like building RC anything. So far I have experience some broken parts but I expected that since I was buying a used rig and bashing it.