R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-05-2005, 12:07 AM   #12721
Tech Champion
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,820
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Mine's been pretty sturdy, although I've been through a few front bevel gears. Other than that, it's a great car, very quick...
R40Victim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 12:31 AM   #12722
Tech Addict
 
josh69162's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: houston
Posts: 640
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to josh69162
Default

My car has always been pretty stiff. I had bad, bad glitching one day, and a glitch sent my car into the barrier, it flipped over a did somersalts (sp?) like it practiced daily. Just a broken knuckle and a bent hingpin.
-Josh
josh69162 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 12:47 AM   #12723
Tech Regular
 
Aurra Sing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA, USA
Posts: 462
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aurra Sing
been trying out this new asphalt setup, its been working extremely good. low traction/high traction, VHT, soda, you name it... almost always the fastest car or one of the fastest. too bad the driver hasnt been driving consistenly lately

setup influenced by recent setup trends of the JRX-S, which is to have a high front roll center.. it has a lot of steering and rounds corners well


(front/rear)
springs: gold/silver or silver/silver (or harder overall depending on track)
sway bar: copper OR silver/no rear sway bar (again varying on track)
oil: 50/40
piston: #3/#3
damper positions on shock tower: #2/#4
camber: -1deg/-1deg
droop: 6mm/5mm (measured using HPI droop guage)
inboard toe: 1.5deg/3deg
roll center:
f/f: 2mm
f/r: 2mm
r/f: 0mm
r/r: 0mm

inner camber link spacing: 3mm/2.5mm

- camber link mounted on inside hole on rear hub
- one way
- mazda 6 body
- use short wheel base for tight tracks
- 2mm chassis

been wondering, has anybody been trying this setup out? i raced my pro 4 again and it was very good on the high traction parking lot i raced on today.
Aurra Sing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 03:13 AM   #12724
Tech Regular
 
floodo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 452
Send a message via ICQ to floodo1 Send a message via AIM to floodo1 Send a message via Yahoo to floodo1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxkat
floodo1..My car was really fast today.. 10.4's,changed bodys,tried a nemesis today,really freed up the car..
yeah im beginnig to think that im sacrificing too much by running oneway.
i realized this yesterday, im fighting oversteer off power, which is the main effect of running oneway...huge off power steering. i just dont have a 2nd diff
i know im giving up easily .2 on the straigh because i have to slow down soooo early otherwise i will madly oversteer.
floodo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 07:25 AM   #12725
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,320
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

True..but you are still the "car" to beat,out of everyones car your Pro4 still looks the best.. Just changing bodys made such a huge difference in the way my car worked,I have been running a Mazda 6 but the Pro4 i just got had a nemesis body on it so I had to try it,really freed the car up,With the mazda 6 on it it still felt a bit bound up in a few corners,It's alot easier to change bodys than..you know make changes on the suspension..
__________________
I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you.
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 07:45 AM   #12726
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,320
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

John Warner,I would rate the durability of the Pro4 at a 7,put a pdub bumper on it and it goes up to an 8.5,If you run a oneway and hit stuff you will break gears..maybe not every time but you will break them,same with a spool.I race on carpet so I run a diff up front and dont really have a gear breakage problem,Front end..I do break c hubs and steering blocks(see pdub bumper..I dont have one yet)I dont break often,but when you race at a track with boards you will break if you hit them hard enough.I have not broken any a arms..yet,Rear end..I have not broken anything on the back of the Pro4..yet.If your racing an evo4 the Pro4 is as tough if not tougher and parts are(IMHO)easier to get and as a rule dont cost as much..and the Pro4 is faster than a evo4..
__________________
I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you.
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 08:48 AM   #12727
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,049
Default

Guy's I appreciate your input. I'm presently driving the Tamiya EVO IV, but am considering switching to the Pro4, and was curious about any problems the car may have. Does the bevel gear problem go away if I were to run a diff in the front instead of the one-way?
John Warner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 08:51 AM   #12728
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,320
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

John that would be a yes.. I have been told that you can use the tc3/tc4 gears in the car as well,I have not tried it out but i have been told that it does work.
__________________
I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you.
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 09:14 AM   #12729
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 443
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Warner
Guy's I appreciate your input. I'm presently driving the Tamiya EVO IV, but am considering switching to the Pro4, and was curious about any problems the car may have. Does the bevel gear problem go away if I were to run a diff in the front instead of the one-way?
The only issue that the car has is with the bevel gear up front, If u shim it just right you wont have much of a problem. Also u can use the gears from the TC3, thats what im using running mod and they work well so far.
ATXPro4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 09:40 AM   #12730
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

I've been running the Pro 4 for about 1 1/2 years now once a week and with a ball diff in the front I have not once broken any gears.
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 09:49 AM   #12731
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,315
Default

I ONLY run a spool on asphalt. stock, 19, and mod, Spool is almost always the fastest way to get around the track. BUT you can't just put a spool in your car and be fast. It takes a few weeks of testing and practice to find a good setup. A good setup works good on just about every type of track. Minor changes are needed when you go to a new track. Also, a spool will let you brake entering turns and make inside passes. Another plus is that when you and a guy with a one-way rub, he will always come out worse than you. Not that your hacking, but accidents happen

Try a spool on asphalt. You WILL get faster
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 11:14 AM   #12732
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,320
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

How well does a spool work on carpet.
__________________
I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you.
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 03:58 PM   #12733
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,049
Default

Well, it looks like I'm leaving the Tamiya camp, and joining HPI's.
John Warner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 05:20 PM   #12734
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxkat
How well does a spool work on carpet.

Terrible with foamies. I've tried it. I believe most run a front diff with foams on carpet.

I've never ran rubber tires on carpet. Maybe someone can comment.
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 06:39 PM   #12735
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,889
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default

Anyone have a carpet setup foam?
__________________
SpeedZone Batteries
steve eaves is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:29 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0