Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
new to site and this hobby. Totally newb and needs advice and help. >

new to site and this hobby. Totally newb and needs advice and help.

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

new to site and this hobby. Totally newb and needs advice and help.

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2009, 07:15 AM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Talking new to site and this hobby. Totally newb and needs advice and help.

hello,
im totally new to RC cars and have no clue about brands and parts and upgrades..
i wana get into rc drifting. i reckon this hobby would be fun and fulfilling for me.
i want to start on electrics for now. and then if i got enough experience im goin for nitros.
i need help on where to start and what to buy.
and also i want to assemble my first kit. it would be a good learning process for me. and could u guys please give me some advice what entry level kits should i go for. because money-wise i dont have much to spend at the moment,.
cheers.
Old 11-08-2009, 10:32 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

Welcome to this wonderfull hobby. If you wan't to get your first rc car, you should by it rtr(ready to run) because building a rc car requires a minimum of skills. Go to your local hobby store and tell them what you wan't to buy and what is your budget. A good price for a onroad car would be around 200 to 250. Then, you will have to add another 100$ for a battery and charger. If you want to go into drifting you absolutely need a 4wd touring car. Start by learning how to drive the car without drifting. When you think you have pratice enough, put drift tires. Here are a few rc car company brands and websites where you can find what you are looking for:

Cars:
-Hpi
-Hot bodies
-tamiya

Web sites:
-A main hobbies
-Tower hobbies
-hobbyhobby

Hope this helps
Old 11-08-2009, 01:27 PM
Tech Adept