Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
First Ever Drift Build TT01 Chassis Major Help Needed!! >

First Ever Drift Build TT01 Chassis Major Help Needed!!

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

First Ever Drift Build TT01 Chassis Major Help Needed!!

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2021, 07:18 AM
Tech Rookie

Default First Ever Drift Build TT01 Chassis Major Help Needed!!

So I am brand new to the RC scene and have always wanted to build a drift car. I have managed to get a chassis which is a Tamiya TT01 which I can hopefully transform bit by bit. Straight away I have a few questions about this chassis, the person who I got it from wasn't sure what variant of the TT01 it was, does anyone know how to tell the difference?? Also, I notice the two front wheels are really off centre is there any reason he would have it set up like this for drifting and how can this be adjusted?? Any help greatly appreciated 😁
Old 02-04-2021, 09:49 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)

Here a few resources that may help you...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tamiya_TT-01
https://www.tamiya.com/english/rc/manuals.htm

Basically all versions of the Tamiya TT-01 are built off the exact same plastic tub chassis design. The more basic versions of the car will come with a plastic drive shaft, fixed plastic upper a-arms, plastic dog bones, plastic friction dampers, and fixed plastic turnbuckles on the steering. The more upgraded cars will have a blue aluminum drive shaft, adjustable upper a-arms, metal dog bones, plastic oil-filled dampers, and aluminum turnbuckles on the steering.

One quick note about the dog bones, the metal and plastic dog bones will require different input cups into the diffs and axles to the wheels. You can compare these when looking at the basic TT-01 manual and the more upgraded TT-01R Type E..