Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Hi, complete idiot here. >

Hi, complete idiot here.

Hi, complete idiot here.

Reply

Old 05-20-2017, 01:57 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 6
Default Hi, complete idiot here.

Hey folks, new here but not to building. I have a few (probably) stupid questions that have been keeping me awake at night. A few weeks ago i was given a giant rc tank. I thinks its tamiya, but cant seem to find any markings. I brought it home, wiped the dust of of it, and stuffed in a weeks pay worth of batteries. Nothing. No wiggles, jiggles, or beeps. Just as dead as a coffin nail. So i cracked her open to find a huge mouse nest, a few bare hunks of wire, and the rusted remains of a pair of motors.
Still reading? Cool.
So my queastion is this; how would a guy with fairly handy hands and a dangerously crafty mind put new guts into an old body like this? Any ideas or insight would be great. I know a fair bit about building things, but nearly zip about rc guts. Thanks in advance.
Gouldian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 02:00 PM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (368)
 
peter george's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: queens ny
Posts: 9,465
Trader Rating: 368 (100%+)
Default

Can u post some pictures ?
peter george is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 02:02 PM
  #3  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 74
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Any pictures? With enough imagination, engineering, and $$ anything is possible. RC electronics aren't really magical. You have a transmitter that sends signals to a receiver. The receiver and transmitter can control a set number of channels, 4 is pretty common but more can be had. Each channel can control a motor or servo and sometimes multiples or combinations of each. Just depends on what you need to happen.
jkaetz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 02:17 PM
  #4  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 6
Default

Of course i have stumbled across this forum while on the road. Pics to follow as soon as i get home.
I understand basic radio voodoo. Just not as it applies to hobby vehicles. For example, having two drive motors, does one channel run one motor forward and reverse? So two channels allocated for the drive system? Or do i need two channels per motor?
Gouldian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 04:06 PM
  #5  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 6
Default

My wonderful wife took a few pics of the thing, as soon as i sort out how to put them here from my phone, I'll have them up.
Gouldian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 05:17 PM
  #6  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 6
Default

Ok, so i made a dropbox account, put the photos, but i can't put the link up because I'm too new. is there a way to directly put up the photos, or am i too new for that as well?
Gouldian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 05:48 PM
  #7  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 76
Default

Think you need 10 posts before you get the ability to post links/pics. 5 more posts to go.
Haadkoe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 06:41 PM
  #8  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 6
Default

Fair enough. From my internet scouring, im fairly certain i have a tamiya sherman. Well, i know its a sherman. Ca. Anyone recomend a setup to make this thing function? It seems like the hull and track system are all thats salvageable. I'll need batteries, transmitter amd reciever, a pair of motors, and whatever is required to make all the parts communicate.
Gouldian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2017, 07:00 AM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (140)
 
RC Juice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Rocklin, CA
Posts: 1,760
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Try to figure out what size motor it has, not a lot of specs on their site for it but it looks like a simple 380 or 540 brushed motor. Once you figure out the motor size then it's straightforward to pick out a power system that will work for it.
RC Juice is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2017, 08:03 AM
  #10  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 165
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

You may also need and radio system. Does it shoot BBs?
SlashBash10 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service