Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Radio calibration

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2017, 10:02 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Radio calibration

Good day to everyone! This is my first post in this forum, and I would like to apologize if this question is too basic or naive.

I have acquired 2 used Futaba radios (2DR model) and also some Futaba receivers (R122JE model). They are AM and supposedly calibrated for the 75MHz band.

However, they work erratically, and the behavior changes as I swap crystal, transmitters and receivers. I think they need to be calibrated.

Since I have some electronics knowledge, I would like to ask about the general procedures on how to calibrate both transmitters and receivers. I suppose I have to tune LC filters for a narrow output for the nominal frequency, to maximize power on that frequency and reject nearby frequencies.

I also suppose I need and RF generator, oscilloscope and/or a spectrum analyser to do the job.

Am I on the right track? Is there any info, manual or online tutorial on how to do that?

Many thanks!

Eduardo
Old 05-17-2017, 11:05 AM
Tech Lord

You are sure that both transmitter and receivers are 75mhz? Looking at the Futaba site I only see a 27mhz version of that transmitter.

But OK, if they all are 75mhz be sure you have AM crystals. Be also sure you have a TX and a RX crystal (they have a 455khz difference).

And sometimes the 1st thing to do is get a fresh set of crystals. On the other hand, for almost the same price you have a simple GT2 transmitter or if you want sticks Futaba has a 2.4GHz stick transmitter for just 40 dollar.
Old 05-17-2017, 11:05 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 280 (100%+)

Originally Posted by EduardoLM
Good day to everyone! This is my first post in this forum, and I would like to apologize if this question is too basic or naive.

I have acquired 2 used Futaba radios (2DR model) and also some Futaba receivers (R122JE model). They are AM and supposedly calibrated for the 75MHz band.