MKS HBL599

Reply

Old 01-11-2017, 02:05 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 432
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default MKS HBL599

Would this servo be too much for throttle and braking or should I use a 575 instead? I remember reading somewhere that torque servos could be too much for throttle and braking.
Cardiak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 04:04 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (39)
 
EbbTide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Bay Area, Ca
Posts: 3,985
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cardiak View Post
Would this servo be too much for throttle and braking or should I use a 575 instead? I remember reading somewhere that torque servos could be too much for throttle and braking.
Yeahhh I'd say that's a little overkill for throttle and brakes lol. I'd aim for speed over torque in that scenario
EbbTide is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 09:05 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 432
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by EbbTide View Post
Yeahhh I'd say that's a little overkill for throttle and brakes lol. I'd aim for speed over torque in that scenario
Thanks
Cardiak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 09:12 PM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (61)
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 963
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

I prefer torque over speed.
mr240 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 09:14 PM
  #5  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 432
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mr240 View Post
I prefer torque over speed.
Why torque over speed?
Cardiak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 09:31 PM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (61)
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 963
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

Braking power. I used to use speed servos. But they ended up being burned out after a while.
mr240 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 09:34 PM
  #7  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (61)
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 963
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

https://m.youtube.com/watch?list=LLm...&v=pM4AtscvK3c
mr240 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 09:47 PM
  #8  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 432
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mr240 View Post
Braking power. I used to use speed servos. But they ended up being burned out after a while.
Burned out from just throttle and braking?
Cardiak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 09:51 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (39)
 
EbbTide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Bay Area, Ca
Posts: 3,985
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

I do see the need for torque but I don't think you need such a high end servo for throttle and breaking unless money isn't an issue. But then again, I like to get a bargain on my servos lol.
EbbTide is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 09:53 PM
  #10  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (61)
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 963
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cardiak View Post
Burned out from just throttle and braking?
From braking I guess.
mr240 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 10:04 PM
  #11  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 432
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by EbbTide View Post
I do see the need for torque but I don't think you need such a high end servo for throttle and breaking unless money isn't an issue. But then again, I like to get a bargain on my servos lol.
I just want my kit built from quality parts.
Cardiak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 01:53 AM
  #12  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (29)
 
blarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Beyond the outer rim
Posts: 683
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Depending if it is an 8 scale or 10 and on road or off is going to determine what you need. I think for 8 scale you probably want something a little more "torquey" than 1/10 scale but as others have said its probably a bit much for either scale. You can still build your kit with quality gear but go for a little less torque. You will rip the motor clean off its mounts with that servo
blarks is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 02:00 AM
  #13  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 432
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by blarks View Post
Depending if it is an 8 scale or 10 and on road or off is going to determine what you need. I think for 8 scale you probably want something a little more "torquey" than 1/10 scale but as others have said its probably a bit much for either scale. You can still build your kit with quality gear but go for a little less torque. You will rip the motor clean off its mounts with that servo
Its going into a 7TR. The 575 version still has pretty decent torque. It should be more than enough right?
Cardiak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 03:39 AM
  #14  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (29)
 
blarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Beyond the outer rim
Posts: 683
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cardiak View Post
Its going into a 7TR. The 575 version still has pretty decent torque. It should be more than enough right?
This one?
MKS X6 HBL575

If so, yes it will be more than enough.
blarks is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 04:00 AM
  #15  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 106
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I have always gone for speed on the throttle/brake. If you burn one out your end points may not have been set correctly.
turners3215 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service