Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Mamba Monster X release >

Mamba Monster X release

Mamba Monster X release

Reply

Old 06-30-2015, 09:57 AM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
pdelcast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Olathe,KS
Posts: 53
Default Mamba Monster X release

http://www.castlecreations.com/produ...monster_x.html

Just FYI
pdelcast is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 10:03 AM
  #2  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,999
Default

I like that and it can finally can run sensored .

But why the same switched used on the esc ? They seem to go bad quickly and ending up having to cut it off and hardware it.
tc5 man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 10:46 AM
  #3  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 198
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

TAKE MY MONEY!!!!!
emaxxnitro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 11:23 AM
  #4  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
pdelcast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Olathe,KS
Posts: 53
Default

Originally Posted by tc5 man View Post
I like that and it can finally can run sensored .

But why the same switched used on the esc ? They seem to go bad quickly and ending up having to cut it off and hardware it.
For the Monster X we used a new switch that seems to be tougher than the original. Also, the switch is connected through a 2mm header -- so you can just jumper it if you don't want to use the switch.

Thanks!

Patrick
pdelcast is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 11:36 AM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (31)
 
Matthew_Armeni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,636
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Did the Monster X lose the battery posts of the Monster 2?
Matthew_Armeni is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 11:48 AM
  #6  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
pdelcast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Olathe,KS
Posts: 53
Default

Originally Posted by Matthew_Armeni View Post
Did the Monster X lose the battery posts of the Monster 2?
Yes -- and for a very technical reason...

The current sensing uses a high-precision hall-effect sensor with a flux concentrator. The flux concentrator assembly fit better with wires than with a post...

Thanks!

Patrick
pdelcast is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 12:04 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (31)
 
Matthew_Armeni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,636
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by pdelcast View Post
Yes -- and for a very technical reason...

The current sensing uses a high-precision hall-effect sensor with a flux concentrator. The flux concentrator assembly fit better with wires than with a post...

Thanks!

Patrick
Well it looks like I'll be sending in some original Monsters for upgrades once these are available
Matthew_Armeni is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 12:14 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
Slapjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,067
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

is THE MONSTER x THE SAME SIZE (LXW) AS THE MONSTER 2?
is it the same 120A as the Monster 2
And WHEN IS IT COMING? I am in the process of buying new electronics for my Tekno truggy and would like to wait for this but I don't want to blow the whole summer waiting either.
Slapjack is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 12:51 PM
  #9  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
pdelcast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Olathe,KS
Posts: 53
Default

Originally Posted by Slapjack View Post
is THE MONSTER x THE SAME SIZE (LXW) AS THE MONSTER 2?
is it the same 120A as the Monster 2
And WHEN IS IT COMING? I am in the process of buying new electronics for my Tekno truggy and would like to wait for this but I don't want to blow the whole summer waiting either.
The footprint is the same -- but Monster X handles more power than Mamba Monster 2.

Thanks!

Patrick
pdelcast is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 01:58 PM
  #10  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
Slapjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,067
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by pdelcast View Post
The footprint is the same -- but Monster X handles more power than Mamba Monster 2.

Thanks!

Patrick
What about the whole sensored deal. If we want to take advantage of that we would need to buy a different brand motor? Or is Castle going to have a motor that can be run sensored? Like a new 1515 or something?
Slapjack is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 03:08 PM
  #11  
dtr
Tech Master
 
dtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: budapest, hungary
Posts: 1,557
Default

Originally Posted by Slapjack View Post
What about the whole sensored deal. If we want to take advantage of that we would need to buy a different brand motor? Or is Castle going to have a motor that can be run sensored? Like a new 1515 or something?
+1 on that, especially something like a 1.5Y 1512 would be great for competition.
dtr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 04:44 PM
  #12  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (253)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 31,303
Trader Rating: 253 (100%+)
Default

My questions:

- What is the warranty length of this esc?
- Can these ESCs be repaired if there is an out of warranty issue?
- This sensor harness mentioned, how much is this and what exactly is this made up of?
Cain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 04:58 PM
  #13  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (253)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 31,303
Trader Rating: 253 (100%+)
Default

how much is this sensor harness going to be and what is the warranty length on this ESC?

Also, any other radios that can take advantage of the telemetry like the futaba 4PLS
Cain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 09:31 PM
  #14  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (49)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 479
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Will the ESC still be waterproof with the sensor harness? This might be the answer to my prayers on my summit (brushless power and crawling ability)
dominator79 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 06:27 AM
  #15  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Morrisville, NC
Posts: 472
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

There are still a few things that remain unclear after looking over the manual.

- How exactly does the adjustment via the 3rd channel work? How would the radio have to be set up to make the adjustments?
- In the manual, the sensor adapter looks like a sensor wire extension. Is there some kind of special connector on the ESC that prevents the sensor from plugging directly into the ESC?
- If Futaba S-bus is supported through an adapter, is SSL support for Airtronics radios possible?
kawi650 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service