Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Help: Turnigy Lipo Problems >

Help: Turnigy Lipo Problems

Help: Turnigy Lipo Problems

Reply

Old 10-25-2012, 05:25 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Plexabit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 458
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Help: Turnigy Lipo Problems

I have a Turnigy 1700mAh 7.4v battery. I've been running it in an RC18T with a mamba micro pro. One day I went to use it and it was dead. I tried charging it and the charger came up with "CONNECTION BREAK." I checked the voltage. Absolutely none. I tried charging in NiMh mode: same message. Is this a loose wire or something? I don't think it's deep discharge since there's no voltage at all. Help!
Plexabit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 07:00 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Plexabit View Post
I have a Turnigy 1700mAh 7.4v battery. I've been running it in an RC18T with a mamba micro pro. One day I went to use it and it was dead. I tried charging it and the charger came up with "CONNECTION BREAK." I checked the voltage. Absolutely none. I tried charging in NiMh mode: same message. Is this a loose wire or something? I don't think it's deep discharge since there's no voltage at all. Help!
Correct if a wire or connector is broken you have an open circuit and Zero voltage.
AreCee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 09:59 PM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (29)
 
Devigili22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 852
Trader Rating: 29 (97%+)
Default

Check wires, connectors, and solder joints from the cells to the wires. It's gotta be somewhere.
Devigili22 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 10:39 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (25)
 
Dieselpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NWCT
Posts: 3,049
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Plexabit View Post
I have a Turnigy 1700mAh 7.4v battery. I've been running it in an RC18T with a mamba micro pro. One day I went to use it and it was dead. I tried charging it and the charger came up with "CONNECTION BREAK." I checked the voltage. Absolutely none. I tried charging in NiMh mode: same message. Is this a loose wire or something? I don't think it's deep discharge since there's no voltage at all. Help!
I'm pretty sure Turnigy is Chinese for Garbage........
There's your problem.
Dieselpower is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 11:21 PM
  #5  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (308)
 
nexxus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,412
Trader Rating: 308 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dieselpower View Post
I'm pretty sure Turnigy is Chinese for Garbage........
There's your problem.
Then what's Maxamps chinese for?
nexxus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 12:38 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (17)
 
Yosh70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sask. Canada
Posts: 1,620
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dieselpower View Post
I'm pretty sure Turnigy is Chinese for Garbage........
There's your problem.
Pray tell, what kind of lipo do you need to purchase for a RC18T? Or even say a lowly 2WD Slash for that matter? A Team Orion 2S for over $100? I bet the boys down at the LHS love it when you step thru the door.
Yosh70 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 08:33 AM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (36)
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 1,254
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dieselpower View Post
I'm pretty sure Turnigy is Chinese for Garbage........
There's your problem.
I've had nothing but good luck with my turnigy batteries. To the OP, did you find a loose wire?
ufoDziner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 04:30 PM
  #8  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Plexabit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 458
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Gonna check today. Wanna be careful because the batt was fully charged 'Twas the only battery I could find that fit perrrfectly.
Plexabit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 02:05 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (19)
 
Rockthecatbox21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Texas panhandle
Posts: 2,797
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nexxus View Post
Then what's Maxamps chinese for?
Overated and overpriced
Rockthecatbox21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 06:01 PM
  #10  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,192
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dieselpower View Post
I'm pretty sure Turnigy is Chinese for Garbage........
There's your problem.
Preach on brother! I always read about people who boast about these cells because of their cost to performance ratio but I also see posts about how many issues they incur. The premium cells can take a couple hundred cycles at 2c and can go for two years before a difference in performance is seen.
trigger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 06:07 PM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,192
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Rockthecatbox21 View Post
Overated and overpriced
I highly doubt gens ace and turnigy can keep up at high level racing. Although most to all cells are made in china, there's a Hugh difference in performance from the bigs dogs(thunder power, reedy, rev tech).
trigger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 06:07 PM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (19)
 
Rockthecatbox21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Texas panhandle
Posts: 2,797
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dieselpower View Post
I'm pretty sure Turnigy is Chinese for Garbage........
There's your problem.
Originally Posted by trigger View Post
Preach on brother! I always read about people who boast about these cells because of their cost to performance ratio but I also see posts about how many issues they incur. The premium cells can take a couple hundred cycles at 2c and can go for two years before a difference in performance is seen.



you keep spending your money.
Rockthecatbox21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 06:22 PM
  #13  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,192
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Rockthecatbox21 View Post


you keep spending your money.
Oh I will. But then again, I won't have too cause my cells last longer.
trigger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 08:17 PM
  #14  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Plexabit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 458
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Umm... I didn't want to turn this into a "Rich vs. Poor" argument...But my $0.02. You get what you pay for. Most of the time. Sometimes you get more than you pay for. Sometimes less. That's called research and competition--find the best deal and sell the best deal. There's this other thing called a paycheck and this other thing called opinion.
Plexabit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 08:37 PM
  #15  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,192
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Plexabit View Post
Umm... I didn't want to turn this into a "Rich vs. Poor" argument...But my $0.02. You get what you pay for. Most of the time. Sometimes you get more than you pay for. Sometimes less. That's called research and competition--find the best deal and sell the best deal. There's this other thing called a paycheck and this other thing called opinion.
You are absolutely correct. You definitely get what you pay for. i just can't stand when someone calls out someone else and say they are wasting money. I've been in this hobby for a while now and luckily early on i picked up something about battery internal resistance and generally the higher priced cells have lower resistance. That will translate to more punch and higher maintained voltage throughout a run. Also increased durability.
trigger is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service