Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Is there something Wrong with my LIPO?

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2011, 10:21 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Is there something Wrong with my LIPO?

Take a look at this. I am new to LIPO batteries, I have run Nitro for 10 years. I had this battery in my Losi Strike and it discharged below safe voltage. I forced it to charge up and it started to swell. I stopped the charge and laid it on the shelf. This is what I found 2 days later.
Attached Thumbnails Is there something Wrong with my LIPO?-2010-11-18_17-15-23_146_stettler.jpg  
Old 01-28-2011, 10:45 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)

your battery is toasted!! soak it in salt water for a day or so just to make sure it dont blow up then get rid of it. make sure you dont keep that battery indoors.
Old 01-28-2011, 10:52 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 85 (99%+)

Naww...Thats how its supposed to look!
Old 01-28-2011, 10:58 PM
Tech Fanatic

Originally Posted by RCaddict0
Naww...Thats how its supposed to look!
That's what I thought. Some good ol duct tape should hold it together.
Old 01-28-2011, 11:56 PM
Super Moderator

Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)

I thought that's how all the Zippy packs came? You mean that's not normal

I know it's not a zippy
Old 01-29-2011, 09:05 AM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)

Looks like you were lucky it didn't vent. Obviously, when you 'force' a low voltage lipo to charge, you're supposed to watch for swelling (typically called puffing) and immed stop at any point along the charge (the forced part or the lipo part) if you see if start to swell. Then take it outside somewhere it can't do any damage of it does indeed go ahead and vent/smoke.

From where you are now, it's time to dispose of this one. Harvest the connectors and use a auto 1157 tail light bulb to discharge it to zero volts outside. After 24hr or so, remove the bult, twist the wires together and toss it.