Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
standalone telemetry system? >

standalone telemetry system?

standalone telemetry system?

Old 09-23-2010, 04:14 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 309
Default standalone telemetry system?

Are there such things as these? like, a pick up in a car to send signals back to a standalone display, say mounted on a TX?

I'd like to be able to monitor battery voltage, and at least one but preferably two temperatures from my cars and boat live.. none too bothered about anything else but a tacho (rpm) would be nice for nitros

would have to be a relatively small pick up/sender as one of the vehicles is a Losi Mini-T pro 1/18 so space very limited.. trying to add functions to the upcoming flysky radio i'll be getting so i don't have to spend mad money on a spectrum then a ridiculous sum on rx's.. heard spectrum's telemetry wasn't very accurate anyway

must be cheap

have seen a Quanum system, but it's for planes - would this work for surface apps? any alternatives?
skree is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 04:22 PM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (37)
 
BCbud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 760
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Good day!

Maybe this?

http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/D...ProdID=SPM1300
BCbud is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 04:31 PM
  #3  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

This is the one I've seen - would provide lipo info and a temp -

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...try_(1km_Range


This is stand alone, it has its own 2.4 linkup.
Duster_360 is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 04:45 PM
  #4  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 309
Default

yeah i think it'll have to be the Quanum system.. that's the one i saw as well, the one for planes.. wonder if it works on the surface.. the spektrum combos require spektrum radio (and a specific, not micro sized, expensive rx).. have to wait till it gets back in stock at HK though it's 2/3 the price to buy it there and have it shipped to the UK.
skree is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 05:01 PM
  #5  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: S.E. Mass.
Posts: 377
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

The top of the line in telemetry:


http://www.eagletreesystems.com/Car/car.html
Steve. is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 05:18 PM
  #6  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by skree View Post
.. wonder if it works on the surface...

The ques is what data are you trying to capture? The Quanum is obviously aimed at the elec plane flying crowd, but if all you're interested in is current, lipo cell voltages, and a temp, I don't see any reason it wouldn't work in a surface rc.

The ET is the other option, but is much more expensive. If you don't have to have the data 'real time', consider an Eagle Tree onboard recorder and add a few extra sensors to it. I use one to measure volts, amps and watts in my electrics, but you can add temps (more than one) and RPM. You connect it to a PC after the run to anaylze whats going on in your setup.
Duster_360 is offline  
Old 09-29-2010, 08:38 PM
  #7  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: northern Illinois
Posts: 270
Default

you could look at novaks website, they have a telemtry system that is kickass, think you can get them pretty cheap now to like under $100
ovalracer33 is offline  
Old 09-30-2010, 07:08 AM
  #8  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
disjaukifa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Southwest Virginia
Posts: 384
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ovalracer33 View Post
you could look at novaks website, they have a telemtry system that is kickass, think you can get them pretty cheap now to like under $100
Really? I want a link to that!

-Disjaukifa
disjaukifa is offline  
Old 09-30-2010, 07:29 AM
  #9  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (12)
 
Tim Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Wildomar Ca.
Posts: 236
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I have been using the Novak Sentry Data logger for a few years now and honestly I have never seen a system as complete and each to use at the Novak Sentry.

The computer program allows you to see all aspects of your car and gives you several different options, from graphs to spreadsheets to a play back of your run complete with gauges like a car.

Check it out HERE
Tim Smith is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.