Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
newbie question on batteries >

newbie question on batteries

newbie question on batteries

Old 04-09-2010, 08:30 AM
Tech Apprentice

Default newbie question on batteries

Hey guys Im new to the 1/8 buggys class and have a few questions on batteries. I have 2 hump pack nimh that I run In my buggy. I have a hyperion charger that I charge these at 1.6 amps. Is it bad to recharge a battery thats not discharged all the way? What is the advised setting to discharge these batteries? Also is it recommeded to discharge my 12v that I use for my starter box? thanks dudes
Old 04-09-2010, 08:40 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

what size is ur battery pack
Old 04-09-2010, 08:57 AM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)

If thats a 2/3a rcvr pac (the cells are about 2/3 the length of an AA cell) thats too high of a charge rate - the pac is getting pretty hot I'll bet. You won't get much life out of it charging it that way. Even if its AA size cells thats a high charge rate.

You're 'teaching' the pac to dump like racers did when they charged their race pacs at high rates and thats not what you want from a rcvr pack. You'll get better life and longer performance if you charge at 0.5amp when you have the time and can charge at 1amp when you're in a hurry. The slower charge rate helps out with not being discharged fully since it gives the cells a better charge at the low rate.
Old 04-09-2010, 09:40 AM
Tech Apprentice

5 hump pack 1600 mah 6.0
Old 04-09-2010, 11:41 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

i would have to agree with duster on that one. that receiver pack should last u most of day long as ur not running a high voltage servo for steering. i would charge it at .5 amps if im at home and have the time to charge it like that but if u are racing and need the pack in a hurry then i would do 1 amp or up to 1.6. its really up to how u wanna charge ur packs
Old 04-09-2010, 01:04 PM
Tech Lord