Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
old guy back with ? servos >

old guy back with ? servos

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By sosidge

old guy back with ? servos

Old 04-16-2022, 06:19 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 1
Default old guy back with ? servos

just beginning to returm to hobby. working on losi minis . i have old servos from 1/12 pan cars. will these work with new radio/reciever sets?
goonride49 is offline  
Old 04-19-2022, 11:15 AM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hoffman Estates, IL
Posts: 1,035
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

If they're digital you'll be fine. Analog servos can burn out if run with some of the newer receivers unless you can set them to analog mode.
anthonyscardina is offline  
Old 04-20-2022, 06:18 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 4,251
Default

Originally Posted by anthonyscardina View Post
If they're digital you'll be fine. Analog servos can burn out if run with some of the newer receivers unless you can set them to analog mode.
Not really true, the issue is not digital/analogue, the issue is HRS/SSR/etc. aka high frequency settings on the radio. And these are switched on or off at the transmitter, not the receiver.

I'm willing to be corrected on this but I'm not aware of any radios that CAN'T be run in "standard" mode for analogue servos.
sosidge is offline  
Old 04-20-2022, 07:55 AM
  #4  
Tech Lord
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 10,956
Default

Originally Posted by sosidge View Post
Not really true, the issue is not digital/analogue, the issue is HRS/SSR/etc. aka high frequency settings on the radio. And these are switched on or off at the transmitter, not the receiver.

I'm willing to be corrected on this but I'm not aware of any radios that CAN'T be run in "standard" mode for analogue servos.
Nope, you are wrong. Analog servo's need to have a framerate of at least 16msec, digital servo's using the same 1.5msec center pulse width will work up to 333Hz framerate. Like the digital servo setting in Futaba transmitter uses but also the older Futaba HRS has a 5.5msec framerate as also the Sprectrum DX pro transmitters can go up to 5.5msec framerate.

SR, SSR, SXR, SBUS and several other very high speed modes use a different pulse width (SBUS even a digital serial code) and will only work with compatible servo's.
Roelof is offline  
Old 04-20-2022, 08:25 AM
  #5  
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 4,251
Default

Originally Posted by Roelof View Post
Nope, you are wrong. Analog servo's need to have a framerate of at least 16msec, digital servo's using the same 1.5msec center pulse width will work up to 333Hz framerate. Like the digital servo setting in Futaba transmitter uses but also the older Futaba HRS has a 5.5msec framerate as also the Sprectrum DX pro transmitters can go up to 5.5msec framerate.

SR, SSR, SXR, SBUS and several other very high speed modes use a different pulse width (SBUS even a digital serial code) and will only work with compatible servo's.
How am I wrong in saying that an analogue servo can still be run on "normal" response speed from the transmitter?

Why do Futaba still sell analogue servos if they don't work with their radios?
gigaplex likes this.
sosidge is offline  
Old 04-20-2022, 09:08 AM
  #6  
Tech Lord
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 10,956
Default

If I did read it right you say the burnouts with analog servo's is not about analog/digital but super high response sytems.. Again, it is about the analog/digital setting because in analog mode the servo signal is forced to 16msec while digital (depending the transmitter) can go as low to 3msec (333Hz) with which analog servo's will not work.
Roelof is offline  
Old 04-20-2022, 06:41 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hoffman Estates, IL
Posts: 1,035
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I was trying to stay out of the nitty gritty, the point was to be careful with analog servos on modern radio systems.
anthonyscardina is offline  
Old 04-20-2022, 07:46 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 4,697
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Roelof View Post
If I did read it right you say the burnouts with analog servo's is not about analog/digital but super high response sytems.. Again, it is about the analog/digital setting because in analog mode the servo signal is forced to 16msec while digital (depending the transmitter) can go as low to 3msec (333Hz) with which analog servo's will not work.
Except it is about the protocol speed. You can burn out a digital servo too if you set the protocol incorrectly.
gigaplex is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.