Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By mrreet2001
  • 1 Post By SouthFloridaApp

Motor storage

Old 08-09-2021, 08:33 PM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (58)
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 535
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default Motor storage

How do you guys transport motors back and fourth to the track, without them being tossed around in tool box.. I havenít really seen any cases that fit more then a couple.. just curious I race multiple classes and like to have a backup already tuned at ready to go. Iíve been carrying them in motor tubes, but is there any better option. Thanks guys
rcracersb is offline  
Old 08-09-2021, 09:20 PM
  #2  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: California
Posts: 735
Default

Motors come in boxes, just stick em in your bag, most come with a foam cutout inside anyway so you shouldn't have any damage.
rcbuggy88 is offline  
Old 08-09-2021, 10:15 PM
  #3  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 52
Default

A small pelican case works well for this.
Joshstix is offline  
Old 08-10-2021, 01:01 AM
  #4  
Tech Lord
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 10,954
Default

Some brands sell special storage boxes but if you just buy a simpe food stogage box, put some foam in it and cut some shapes of a motor out then you have one.
Roelof is offline  
Old 08-10-2021, 05:13 AM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
mrreet2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 1,458
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

All of my loose motors are in these:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/RC-Motor-Tu...0917343?_ul=IL
(RC Motor Tubes (for 540 motors) from Rotor Ron)
TOM MAR likes this.
mrreet2001 is offline  
Old 08-16-2021, 01:42 PM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tamarac
Posts: 977
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I never liked the idea of motors being stored next to each other because of the magnetism. I have a motor case which has foam in it. I wish I could get another one as I have too many motors.... There is foam in between the motors, but I would like to have more separation between motors....
Losiracer12 likes this.
SouthFloridaApp is offline  
Old 08-16-2021, 02:09 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
 
the rc guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Detroit
Posts: 3,277
Default

I store my race motors in a old school tekin motor box. also a reedy 1
the rc guy is offline  
Old 08-16-2021, 03:57 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 4,696
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

How often do you actually change your motor at the track? I've never done that, so I leave my spare motors at home.
gigaplex is offline  
Old 08-17-2021, 05:24 AM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
mrreet2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 1,458
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gigaplex View Post
How often do you actually change your motor at the track? I've never done that, so I leave my spare motors at home.
For the most part I don't. I do however sell and buy motors at the track, and on practice days I have swapped motors. That being said, if I ever go to an out of town race, I will have a backup motor and ESC with me. I have debated bring extra rotors though. I had a fan go out, which over heated the motor, which killed the rotor.
mrreet2001 is offline  
Old 08-18-2021, 03:30 PM
  #10  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (58)
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 535
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gigaplex View Post
How often do you actually change your motor at the track? I've never done that, so I leave my spare motors at home.
for most local club races I donít change motors, practice days I have, but I was mainly looking for out of town racing when traveling a couple hours or a 2 day show. I always have spares locally, but not worth the effort to change it. But I will sell them if someone needs one or loan one out...
rcracersb is offline  
Old 08-25-2021, 11:11 AM
  #11  
Tech Master
 
TurnNBurn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,703
Default

Originally Posted by mrreet2001 View Post
All of my loose motors are in these:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/RC-Motor-Tu...0917343?_ul=IL
(RC Motor Tubes (for 540 motors) from Rotor Ron)
Oh, nice! Honestly, Iím surprised these arenít more readily available. I still have some of my old brushed motors stored in Danís RC Stuff Motor Homes, stored in a Danís Motor Home travel case. I was considering leaving those old motors ďhomelessĒ, but these are much more compact and convenient.
TurnNBurn is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.