Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Noticeable lag in radio rasponse >

Noticeable lag in radio rasponse

Like Tree3Likes
  • 3 Post By Roelof

Noticeable lag in radio rasponse

Old 07-12-2020, 01:49 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
vannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 296
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Noticeable lag in radio rasponse

Hello, I have a newly built buggy with a hobbywing motor / ESC + Spektrum STX3 radio. There's a noticeable lag in throttle and steering response.
I noticed it is interfering when another radio that I have is turned on. Should I re-bind the other radio or the Spektrum?
vannon is offline  
Old 07-12-2020, 02:24 PM
  #2  
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 9,681
Default

To my knowledge the STX3 uses a different protocol than used on all other Spektrum models, It is also the most cheapest radio set.

I would sugest to look for someting different like a budget model from Futaba or Sanwa
Cain, Andy Koback and billdelong like this.
Roelof is offline  
Old 07-13-2020, 05:44 AM
  #3  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (33)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 5,338
Trader Rating: 33 (97%+)
Default

Spektrum is notorious for glitching because they use direct sequencing, more info here:
billdelong is offline  
Old 07-15-2020, 11:10 AM
  #4  
Tech Master
 
TurnNBurn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,459
Default

Yeah, but in that same article, the STX3 is noted as using FHSS, so direct sequencing would not be related to the issue in this instance, If thatís accurate.

I donít know what options are available when binding with the STX3, but for the latest DSMR radios, you have the option of 22ms, 11ms, or 5.5ms - the former two are used when Telemetry is on. Iíve seen YouTube videos where Telemetry is on with Spektrum radios, and yeah - I definitely wouldnít want to race (or even drive) at that response rate... so I guess in a non-Racing scenario, it depends on how badly youíd want Telemetry. For crawling itís probably OK, but I wouldnít want to run a car at high speeds based on what Iíve seen.

That being said, Iím using a Spektrum DSMR radio bound at 5.5ms, and I havenít noticed any issues personally - but again, the article is quick to point out that environmental factors can play a part on whether you have that kind of interference or not. Having said that, Iím not leaning one way or the other - this is definitely one of those YMMV scenarios.
TurnNBurn is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.