Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Questions re: Transmitter / Receiver for this.. >

Questions re: Transmitter / Receiver for this..

Community
Wiki Posts
Search
Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By GerryH
  • 1 Post By Roelof
  • 1 Post By Roelof
  • 1 Post By GerryH

Questions re: Transmitter / Receiver for this..

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2020, 07:38 PM
Tech Initiate

Default Questions re: Transmitter / Receiver for this..

So I am trying to upgrade just about everything on a Traxxas UDR truck I'm working on, and the radio is one of the first things I want to do... I'm going to be using a ProTek RC 370TBL servo so if I want to go with a Futaba 7PX radio... what type do I need? SR or Telemetry? It's all quite confusing and I'm new at this, so forgive me if this seems obvious to some, and will any receiver from Futaba work?

and what is T-FHSS?
Old 06-30-2020, 08:33 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)

Let's start with the easy things. T-FHSS is Telemetery supported Frequency Hopping Spread Spektrum. Futaba has 2 different technologies, FHSS and Fast. There's variations of both of these, but let's not get too confusing. The 7PX being a top of the line transmitter will support pretty much any Futaba receiver with a couple of exceptions. Futaba provides this nice chart for compatibility: https://futabausa.com/receiver-feature-charts/

Regarding the need for telemetry, that's up to you. Do you want to be able to monitor battery voltage, motor temps, etc from your radio? If so, you need a telemetry receiver plus various sensors.

I don't have any personal experience with the SR mode and compatible servos. Check out this other recent thread: Futaba receivers.
P992A330 likes this.
Old 07-01-2020, 01:29 AM
Tech Lord

The 7PX comes with a T-FHSS-SR receiver.Just plug on your equipment and it will work. The receiver works in normal T-FHSS mode and in the latest T-FHSS-SR