Community
Wiki Posts
Search

ESC Capacitor

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2018, 05:47 PM
Tech Rookie

Default ESC Capacitor

I'm new to RC and have a question regarding the capacitor on the ESC. I run a Tekin RSX in a 17.5 buggy. I was wondering if I could run the Honbywing cap instead of the stock Tekin cap. Reason being I cant position the cap properly. It's big and its "legs" don't give it much room to move. Also, I want to run the fan so positioning it on top of the ESC won't work.

The Tekin cap says 330uF. The Hobbywing cap says 470uF and there are 4 caps in series. Both say 16v. So, will this damage the ESC?

Thank you all in advance
Old 09-06-2018, 08:14 PM
R/C Tech Elite Member

Trader Rating: 315 (100%+)

Tekin have always been pretty adamant when I asked the same question that you should ONLY run the stock cap on their ESC's
Old 09-06-2018, 08:53 PM
Tech Regular

Technically there really shouldn't be any reason why that wouldn't work or more specifically, not damage the ESC. I think Tekin's warnings about not using other sources for caps likely has more to do with them knowing how their own particular caps measure and that they meet a certain quality and performance guidelines. Using a larger than stock rated cap pack to lower ripple and increase storage voltage for peak amp draws is a somewhat common performance tweak, and theoretically, shouldn't do any harm if installed correctly.

If anyone knows any other reasons what they'd recommend against it I'd be most interested in hearing them.
Old 09-06-2018, 11:34 PM
Tech Lord

Originally Posted by HandleItSouth
I'm new to RC and have a question regarding the capacitor on the ESC. I run a Tekin RSX in a 17.5 buggy. I was wondering if I could run the Honbywing cap instead of the stock Tekin cap. Reason being I cant position the cap properly. It's big and its "legs" don't give it much room to move. Also, I want to run the fan so positioning it on top of the ESC won't work.