Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > R/C Tech Site Forum
Pop ups on phone browser >

Pop ups on phone browser

Like Tree25Likes

Pop ups on phone browser

Reply

Old 08-06-2016, 07:31 AM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (528)
 
wrightcs77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 3,510
Trader Rating: 528 (100%+)
Default Pop ups on phone browser

Using chrome on my phone, keep getting pop ups that force me to close the browser. Never happens in any other site I view.

Getting ridiculous.
wrightcs77 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 02:29 PM
  #2  
Administrator
 
IBobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 799
Default

Post a link to a thread? Or a screen shot of the popup?
IBobi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2016, 08:59 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (309)
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Chico CA
Posts: 2,108
Trader Rating: 309 (100%+)
Default

I humbly agree.....when I hv forum open I computer dies...I guess progress has goods and bass
konasubs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 05:37 PM
  #4  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: The Dirty D
Posts: 42
Default

I get probably 15-20 of these ridiculously annoying popup ads per day while browsing via my iphone (safari). It's almost enough to make me not want to browse via mobile. Almost. But it really is out of hand!

RCsHPI and Goof like this.
halfghan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2016, 11:13 AM
  #5  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (31)
 
racer1812's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 15,059
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Smart phone/tablet + view the full site option = Best RCTech experience...IMO
racer1812 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2016, 04:54 AM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (76)
 
imprsme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Va.
Posts: 3,902
Trader Rating: 76 (99%+)
Default

Shoot if I were given 15-20 $1000 gift cards a day. I would quit my job and celebrate. Lol

I bet that does get annoying.

Like racer said. Use the full view and problem solved.
imprsme is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2016, 08:11 AM
  #7  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: The Dirty D
Posts: 42
Default

Yeah, I get that...but full view isn't that great on mobile devices. I get that it "works", but the fact remains that the mobile-version sucks and needs someone to fix it. If they care. I don't think they do.
halfghan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2016, 04:30 AM
  #8  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (252)
 
hotrod87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kalispell Mt
Posts: 11,090
Trader Rating: 252 (100%+)
Default

I always use the full site version but still get all the popups on my iphone and safari. Gets very frustrating at times.
Goof likes this.
hotrod87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2016, 10:41 AM
  #9  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (31)
 
racer1812's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 15,059
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by halfghan View Post
Yeah, I get that...but full view isn't that great on mobile devices. I get that it "works", but the fact remains that the mobile-version sucks and needs someone to fix it. If they care. I don't think they do.
What don't you like about using the full version on a mobile devise?

What "sucks and needs someone to fix" with the mobile version? Simply saying something sucks won't get anything changed


Originally Posted by hotrod87 View Post
I always use the full site version but still get all the popups on my iphone and safari. Gets very frustrating at times.
I get the normal full site ads, but no "pop ups" (an option in my Note 5 settings)
racer1812 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2016, 09:33 AM
  #10  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (96)
 
whitrzac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 5,794
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by racer1812 View Post
What don't you like about using the full version on a mobile devise?

What "sucks and needs someone to fix" with the mobile version? Simply saying something sucks won't get anything changed




I get the normal full site ads, but no "pop ups" (an option in my Note 5 settings)
Adds change based on where rctech has tracked you around the web. Just because you haven't had an issue with popup, video and sound adds does not mean that there isn't one.

RCtech needs to do a better job at screening their adds.
whitrzac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 10:09 AM
  #11  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (31)
 
racer1812's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 15,059
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by whitrzac View Post
Adds change based on where rctech has tracked you around the web. Just because you haven't had an issue with popup, video and sound adds does not mean that there isn't one.

RCtech needs to do a better job at screening their adds.
RCT doesn't track your web history. The companies that IB sells those ad spaces too however certainly do.

And I didn't say those issues don't exist. I simply said I don't experience them.
racer1812 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 05:49 PM
  #12  
Tech Master
iTrader: (47)
 
aaron2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Posts: 1,311
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by halfghan View Post
Yeah, I get that...but full view isn't that great on mobile devices. I get that it "works", but the fact remains that the mobile-version sucks and needs someone to fix it. If they care. I don't think they do.
On my older android phone, browsing rctech shuts the browser completely down. Usually first time, it will save the page I'm on. #2 always restarts the app at my home page.

But it's cool, it helps restrict my usage by limiting to 3-5 minutes per session.
aaron2u is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2016, 07:28 PM
  #13  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: The Dirty D
Posts: 42
Default

Originally Posted by racer1812 View Post
What don't you like about using the full version on a mobile devise?

What "sucks and needs someone to fix" with the mobile version? Simply saying something sucks won't get anything changed




I get the normal full site ads, but no "pop ups" (an option in my Note 5 settings)
Did you even read the thread?

Mobile version sucks because:
I get probably 15-20 of these ridiculously annoying popup ads per day while browsing via my iphone (safari). It's almost enough to make me not want to browse via mobile. Almost. But it really is out of hand!
halfghan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 05:59 PM
  #14  
Tech Adept
 
robert@castle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 133
Default

I don't get popups, but I can not load the site on my iphone. It loads, but then an ad loads and it redirects the page to a page that looks like an iPhone alert dialog asking me to open the Appstore then 10 seconds later It opens the appstore to a poker app.
E1 Diablo and RCsHPI like this.
robert@castle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2017, 05:54 AM
  #15  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 69
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

For me the pop up is an obvious phishing ad for Android. It says that if I don't say OK I will get locked out. When I clear my browser history, it does not come up as often. But it still does. Are there any phone guys that know how to prevent this? Would be much appreciated!
dustneyes is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service