Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > R/C Tech Site Forum
Site Issues: Technical >

Site Issues: Technical

Like Tree12Likes

Site Issues: Technical

Reply

Old 04-06-2007, 04:23 PM
  #31  
Tech Master
iTrader: (36)
 
Mr.Maim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,609
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default Not so much a "problem"... Searching question.

I'm always a big proponent of "search before you ask" in Forums so I searched on searching to find info on small word searches. It looks like in the past, searching for words less than three characters did not function, and that was a limitation of vBulletin 2.0. I know that there was a recent upgrade and looking at the botton of any page shows that RCTech is running on vBulletin v3.0.7... but I am still unable to search for "T4" or "B4". I assume that not being able to search for two character strings, is by design. Being able to do so would probably bog down searches too much.

So, my question is this: are there any vBulletin "tricks" to be able to search using two character search strings? I need more B4/T4 stuff!

Mr.Maim

Thanks again!
Mr.Maim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2007, 01:06 PM
  #32  
R/C Tech Founder
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Del Mar, CA, USA
Posts: 7,063
Default

There may be a way to do this more easily in the newer vB versions using indexing on the MySQL side rather than the vB side. We are about 2-3 weeks from our big upgrade and I'll take a closer look then to see what I can do.
futureal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2007, 01:47 PM
  #33  
Tech Master
iTrader: (36)
 
Mr.Maim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,609
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Thumbs up

No problem whatsoever. Ultimately, if the answer is: "it's that way by design"' that's acceptable to me. I do software QA, and the company I'm with has a product that is a front-end for an Access (soon to be MySQL) database. So, I see on a regular basis how much database access, modification, and search can really tax a system. If not being able to search two character strings is not feasable so that words like "in", "is", "ok", or whatever else someone might put in a search string would adversely impact the overall functionality of the Forum's database... so be it. I'd rather have faster overall access than the ability to search for "T4".

Thanks for responding!

Mr.Maim
Mr.Maim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2007, 09:20 PM
  #34  
R/C Tech Founder
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Del Mar, CA, USA
Posts: 7,063
Default

Yea, the main reason it did not have that ability, is that the forum keeps an index table of all the words everywhere. So since there are so many small words, it had a character limit and only indexed the words above that limit to save size and space.

The newer versions of the forum use more advanced MySQL features to eliminate the need for this type of indexing.
futureal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2007, 08:51 AM
  #35  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

try adding a meaningless boolean string, like 'T4 AND the' or something like that, because basically every post with the word 'T4 in has the word THE in.'
joe of loath is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2007, 07:49 AM
  #36  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (8)
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Has anybody else noticed that the boards seem to be slowing down off and on lately? I'm sure its not my connection because I'm using cable internet and I can surf 2-3 other sites while rctech is still struggling to load one page.

It doesn't seem to be tied to how many people are online either. It could be 250 or 800 people using.

Like I said, its an off and on thing. One minute it could be zipping right along, then the next, you may not be able to even get on the message boards.

Just wondering if anyone else has noticed this.

Last edited by Darkseid; 04-16-2007 at 08:00 AM.
Darkseid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2007, 09:23 AM
  #37  
Suspended
iTrader: (2)
 
GordonFreeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reality
Posts: 1,719
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Yea, that and I'm getting e-mail notifications for posts from days ago just now.
GordonFreeman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2007, 11:50 AM
  #38  
R/C Tech Founder
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Del Mar, CA, USA
Posts: 7,063
Default

One of the servers in our gateway cluster has been having issues, and just this morning when we power cycled it, a bunch of queued up emails were "released" so to speak, which is why you got some outdated notifications.

The slowdown could be a side effect of this as well. It's an ongoing issue that we're looking into and will hopefully solve in the near future.
futureal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 03:23 PM
  #39  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (27)
 
MADMAN23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: waddington ny
Posts: 6,359
Trader Rating: 27 (97%+)
Default

it fast now ... good job guy's...
MADMAN23 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 10:34 AM
  #40  
Tech Master
iTrader: (36)
 
Mr.Maim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,609
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Just some stats for you, I've been a server admin for several mid-sized to large corporations so I'm sure you're watching your logs constantly just like I alway do ( NOT! I hate parsing logs looking for errors)... but just in case... there was a slowdown for about an hour this morning, now everything is fine. I figured I post some stats on my end to maybe help narrow down the issue.

Keep up the good work! Again, love the site!

Mr.Maim

=====================Page Refresh Stats======================
All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:59 AM.
Page Generation: 11.027 seconds [98.74% PHP :: 1.26% MySQL :: 15 Queries]

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:09 AM.
Page Generation: 10.502 seconds [99.15% PHP :: 0.85% MySQL :: 15 Queries]

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:10 AM.
Page Generation: 11.075 seconds [98.33% PHP :: 1.67% MySQL :: 13 Queries]

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:21 AM.
Page Generation: 10.422 seconds [98.98% PHP :: 1.02% MySQL :: 15 Queries]

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:28 AM.
Page Generation: 0.979 seconds [57.73% PHP :: 42.27% MySQL :: 13 Queries]
Mr.Maim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 04:50 PM
  #41  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (27)
 
MADMAN23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: waddington ny
Posts: 6,359
Trader Rating: 27 (97%+)
Default

he is right it is slow right now.... hope it will be fixed soon...
MADMAN23 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 08:14 PM
  #42  
Tech Adept
 
JasonP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 192
Default

Everything should be fast and snappy across the board now.

One of the servers in the cluster needed a little work tonight, so if you happened to hit that server you would experience less then stellar speeds. Hopefully tonights upgrades should fix that problem - if not, we'll get it fixed one way or another.
JasonP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 05:31 AM
  #43  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (27)
 
MADMAN23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: waddington ny
Posts: 6,359
Trader Rating: 27 (97%+)
Default

working good now...
MADMAN23 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 03:18 PM
  #44  
Tech Master
iTrader: (36)
 
Mr.Maim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,609
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JasonP
Everything should be fast and snappy across the board now.

One of the servers in the cluster needed a little work tonight, so if you happened to hit that server you would experience less then stellar speeds. Hopefully tonights upgrades should fix that problem - if not, we'll get it fixed one way or another.
JasonP. You guys ROCK!
Mr.Maim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2007, 12:33 PM
  #45  
Tech Master
iTrader: (36)
 
Mr.Maim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,609
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default To Forum or not to Forum... that is the question.

Here's something a little "off" that I discovered today: I've been a member for almost a year, and today saw (what I thought to be a new) Forum thread called "Exclusive Nitro Engine Zone". So I told my co-worker about it (nitro guy) and he could not see it. Well, to make a short troubleshooting story short, we discovered that when you are viewing the General Forums category from the root R/C Tech Forums view, there are 14 sub-forums. When you click on the "General Forums" tab, you then see the General Forums sub-view, you will see 18 sub-forums. I checked all of the other sub-forums and they are all published to the root R/C Tech Forums view with the exception of the "North American Regional Forums" which publishes 16 of 18; and "International Forums" which publishes 7 of 9.

I didn't know whether this is by design or not, but I'm wondering if I'm not the only one overlooking the Forums that are not being published to the root R/C Tech Forums index. All the ones that are not published to the main page have noticeably less posts, on average, than surrounding folders.

Mr.Maim
Mr.Maim is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service