Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Possible "Piston-Rock???"

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2013, 07:29 PM
Tech Adept

Default Possible "Piston-Rock???"

Can anyone explain the purpose of the pistons skirts hanging out of the sleeve at BDC? I'm a registered drag racer, and I have been building race engines for more that 30 years. In a real race engine, pistons hanging out the bottom of the sleeve is not a good thing and causes piston-rock. Several pistons have broken in a few of my little nitro engines and I'm wondering if piston-rock (due to several mm of the piston hanging out of the sleeve at BDC) is a factor. What do you guys think? I'm thinking of machining the piston so that there is no part of the piston that extends beyond the sleeve. Has anyone ever did this?
Old 03-13-2013, 08:52 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)

Good question but are you sure its piston rock causing you issues. Seems to me that since there are no rings the piston would not move all that much especially at TDC. Where are your pistons breaking at?
Old 03-13-2013, 10:56 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)

The skirt is there so that at TDC it covers the exhaust port, otherwise the engine looses all the incoming mixture out the pipe. Are you setting the piston at TDC BEFORE you take out the backplate? A lot of engnies have a groove on the backplate because otherwise the skirt would hit it.
Old 03-13-2013, 11:00 PM
Tech Adept

Originally Posted by MantisWorx
Good question but are you sure its piston rock causing you issues. Seems to me that since there are no rings the piston would not move all that much especially at TDC. Where are your pistons breaking at?