R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-11-2009, 11:40 AM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
SERPENT7twenty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 812
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Questions?? Replacing Connecting Rod

Hope this is the right area for it..if not my apologies ahead of time.


I'm planning on changing out my Connecting Rod later this week (Thursday) in my Picco Red Dot Evo3 motor.

Can anyone shine some light on how to do this? Any specific tools I may need?

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated

Thanks
__________________
TEAM KAMIKAZE - SERPENT 966 - NOVAROSSI - HUDY - KO PROPO - XCEED
Kamikaze Development Driver - R&D = Rebuild & Destroy
www.Kamikazetoysandhobbies.com
SERPENT7twenty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 12:22 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,271
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

On www.rbproducts.com you can find nice howto's about disasembling an engine and changing a conrod.
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 01:12 PM   #3
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

It's pretty straight forward. The only hard part is getting that damn little clip back in

It helps to have a small, no serrated pair of needle nose pliers. The one i got off a snap-on truck makes removing the clip super easy.

And make sure the hole in the rod faces the crank and the notch in the bottom of the piston skirt also faces the crank.

Also, get a pack of clips with the rod.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 01:55 PM   #4
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,271
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

Place one end of the clip in the hole with the finger on it. Use a tip of a knife to push the other end in the hole, it is easy. Do not mind some scratches, on that spot the piston does not have a fuction regarding building up compression.
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 02:12 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 271
Send a message via Yahoo to sheeley
Default

If you stick a small allen wrench like a 0.50 in he hole of the wrist pin while removing and putting back on the clip it will keep it from flinging away.
sheeley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 09:04 AM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
SERPENT7twenty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 812
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Ok, I'm going to pick the new Rod up today. Probably start the replacing process tonight.

*fingers crossed*

God I hope I do this right

Thanks for the help guys. I will update the thread once I'm done or have any other further questions.


__________________
TEAM KAMIKAZE - SERPENT 966 - NOVAROSSI - HUDY - KO PROPO - XCEED
Kamikaze Development Driver - R&D = Rebuild & Destroy
www.Kamikazetoysandhobbies.com
SERPENT7twenty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 09:10 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Corona Ca.
Posts: 2,834
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default Connecting rod.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SERPENT7twenty View Post
Ok, I'm going to pick the new Rod up today. Probably start the replacing process tonight.

*fingers crossed*

God I hope I do this right

Thanks for the help guys. I will update the thread once I'm done or have any other further questions.


You can also put the piston and rod in a clear baggie, and when the snap ring comes off it will stay in the baggie
__________________
[COLOR="Red"][FONT="Comic Sans MS"][/FONT][/COLOR]BRC358http://www.kamikazercracing.com
nearest barstool
brc358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 10:30 AM   #8
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,271
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

Also beware of the lubrication hole in the conrod, so be sure to place the new rod in the same way.
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 10:43 AM   #9
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sheeley View Post
If you stick a small allen wrench like a 0.50 in he hole of the wrist pin while removing and putting back on the clip it will keep it from flinging away.
That's a damn good idea. Going to have to give that a try.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 10:53 AM   #10
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: toulouse/france
Posts: 538
Default

Hello from France,
it's easier than you think...

Don't forget to change the G-clip for a new with the new rod.

If you're engine is quiet "old", you can also change the piston-pin.

Au revoir.
romuald31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 10:58 AM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
nazwenhome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 977
Trader Rating: 33 (97%+)
Default

i used to twist that pin with a small pliers and tweezers. its a hard thing to do well on first try, even for a surgeons hand
__________________
Serpent S411 TE : ready to race
Tamiya TA05 VDF : sleeping mode
Align 450 sports v2 : tick-tock in progress
nazwenhome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 12:07 PM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
SERPENT7twenty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 812
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

My Red Dot is about shy of 1 full gallon through it. My guys told me to replace the Rod before the gallon is up and I have a 2 day race coming up this weekend.

I didn't have enough time when I bought the motor new to break it in properly so it was 4 tanks and GO!

Motor has been running real real strong however.

Anyone care to exchange phone #'s just in case I run into some hard core problems or some step by step tips?
__________________
TEAM KAMIKAZE - SERPENT 966 - NOVAROSSI - HUDY - KO PROPO - XCEED
Kamikaze Development Driver - R&D = Rebuild & Destroy
www.Kamikazetoysandhobbies.com
SERPENT7twenty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 06:42 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
Ivan Dickson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cali Love USA
Posts: 1,643
Trader Rating: 12 (93%+)
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by SERPENT7twenty View Post
My Red Dot is about shy of 1 full gallon through it. My guys told me to replace the Rod before the gallon is up and I have a 2 day race coming up this weekend.

I didn't have enough time when I bought the motor new to break it in properly so it was 4 tanks and GO!

Motor has been running real real strong however.

Anyone care to exchange phone #'s just in case I run into some hard core problems or some step by step tips?

My red dot had 4.5 gallons though it before conrod broke...i wouldn't worry that much...also depend on how well was your breakin of the engine...4 tanks though the engine is about rite on breakin.
__________________
SPECIAL THANKS TO ✦ MY WIFE ✦✦ MOTIV RC ✦✦ GRAVITY RC ✦✦ JGO PAINTZ ✦✦ TQ RC RACEWAY ✦✦ TAMIYA RACEWAY ✦
Ivan Dickson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 08:18 PM   #14
Tech Fanatic
 
SERPENT7twenty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 812
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Ok, so I picked up the new rod and attempting to replace it soon.

The notch in the picture below (crap picture sorry LOL) is that the notch that needs to be facing the crank upon installation?

Is there a similar notch on the piston and sleeve?




Here goes nothing
__________________
TEAM KAMIKAZE - SERPENT 966 - NOVAROSSI - HUDY - KO PROPO - XCEED
Kamikaze Development Driver - R&D = Rebuild & Destroy
www.Kamikazetoysandhobbies.com
SERPENT7twenty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 09:06 PM   #15
Tech Addict
 
ShermanSim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Orange County CA.
Posts: 744
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SERPENT7twenty View Post
Ok, so I picked up the new rod and attempting to replace it soon.

The notch in the picture below (crap picture sorry LOL) is that the notch that needs to be facing the crank upon installation?

Is there a similar notch on the piston and sleeve?




Here goes nothing
the slot should be facing inward
__________________
Serpent America, 977 KO Radio, Nova Rossi Engine, Kosmic Fuel
ShermanSim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
301 Raceway in Maryland Sandra Racing Forum 13734 04-13-2017 11:24 AM
lower c-rod play helivaguy Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 6 03-24-2009 05:02 PM
Race Schedule & Track Info 2007-C&C's Raceway stavman Northwest Racers 1568 05-13-2008 01:47 PM
Conrod Question joelcel Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 7 05-09-2007 01:28 AM
NovaMax lawndoggie Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 264 09-21-2004 01:17 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:33 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net