R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-31-2007, 05:45 PM   #1
Tech Champion
 
tony montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Leonardtown Md.
Posts: 6,145
Trader Rating: 66 (100%+)
Default maxpower engines ?

I thinking in buying a new maxpower sl3 and the pipe combo. Just wondering how this engine is on reliablity, power and ease of getting parts.
__________________
K.C. Guy- TLR- Horrizon Hobby- Team Trinity- 92 zero designs- AKA
tony montana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 02:57 AM   #2
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: www.moorebankraceway.com
Posts: 5,119
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tony montana View Post
I thinking in buying a new maxpower sl3 and the pipe combo. Just wondering how this engine is on reliablity, power and ease of getting parts.

very good engine. One of the best. It's a hand modified novarossi, so it is top quality with some increased power.

very high compression, with locking at top dead centre that lasts for at least 5 litres after break in


you will need to purchase 2 conrods extra with this engine, and change the conrod after about 1 litre after break in, and aftereach 5 litres after this also. it is very tight and stays tight (locking at TDC) even after 5 or 6 litres of racing.

i would recommend installing an extra copper shim durin break in and leave it instaleld for around 10 litres. take it out after this.

if you blow plugs, these are the first signs that you need to change the conrod immediately. I started cracking the plug elements, and didn't pay attention, i then blew a plug my next race day, and it pitted to button and top of the piston. This was due to a worn conrod. This occured to me 2 litres after the break in process.

i broke the engine in using heat. 1 tank idling at about 80 to 90 degrees, blipping throttle occasionally.
tank 2 did the same with more frequent blips of throttle
tank 3 i started driving it, making sure temps stayed above 90 degrees.
i used runnertime (JP racing fuel) 16%

parts are very hard to come by, i purchased some parts from pro shop futaba, Nexus racing also stocks parts. Novarossi parts (12 SCT) engine are identical, except for the piston and sleeve. The Max SL3 MF edition has a matched piston sleeve combo.
TomB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 06:01 AM   #3
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,271
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomB View Post
It's a hand modified novarossi, so it is top quality with some increased power.
Do you realy think this normal production model is handtuned ?
It is just a Novarossi engine fabricated to the better/tuned specs of Fantini and all is just made by machines.
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 10:18 PM   #4
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: www.moorebankraceway.com
Posts: 5,119
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roelof View Post
Do you realy think this normal production model is handtuned ?
It is just a Novarossi engine fabricated to the better/tuned specs of Fantini and all is just made by machines.

i think the internals of the case are hand modified. you can see that it has been dremeled out at the top of where the large bearing sits. i doubt that they developed a machine just to do this specific job.

i'm refering to the MF worlds edition though, not sure about the standard SL3, yes the sleeves might be machined though.
TomB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 09:07 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
ma racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 324
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

So, knowing that the Max Power and Novarossi mills are the same, I currently own an older .21. An XR Fantini that needs new internals. P/S/R. Will the new PLus stuff work? Or, do I need to stay with the non-Plus items ie. 321P etc.? Thanks
ma racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 09:13 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
captian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: city that never sleeps
Posts: 1,832
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ma racer View Post
So, knowing that the Max Power and Novarossi mills are the same, I currently own an older .21. An XR Fantini that needs new internals. P/S/R. Will the new PLus stuff work? Or, do I need to stay with the non-Plus items ie. 321P etc.? Thanks
yes it will!!! r7 and the piston sleeve will work from the plus
__________________
serpent america * max power * beast mods *kopropo usa* protoform * team cmdi
captian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 09:45 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
stefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Posts: 3,273
Send a message via AIM to stefan
Default

stefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 10:07 AM   #8
Tech Regular
 
ma racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 324
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

thanks guys, I appreciate it!!
ma racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 11:36 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
captian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: city that never sleeps
Posts: 1,832
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ma racer View Post
thanks guys, I appreciate it!!
make sure to check your clearance and shims. have fun
__________________
serpent america * max power * beast mods *kopropo usa* protoform * team cmdi
captian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 12:22 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
ma racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 324
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

will do captain. thanks. Any clue as to a reference point? The ol XR is worn from only one season of mild to heavy use. temps under control etc. but became hard to use so I took it to a local Max Power sponsored driver and he recomended an internal rebuild. Should I keep the stock shims in place? 30% nitro,,,in Houston no less. Thanks,
ma racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 01:40 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
captian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: city that never sleeps
Posts: 1,832
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ma racer View Post
will do captain. thanks. Any clue as to a reference point? The ol XR is worn from only one season of mild to heavy use. temps under control etc. but became hard to use so I took it to a local Max Power sponsored driver and he recomended an internal rebuild. Should I keep the stock shims in place? 30% nitro,,,in Houston no less. Thanks,
well if you are going to use the new stuff get the new head button and start with stock xrs which is two .30 shims but you have to check the new button first
__________________
serpent america * max power * beast mods *kopropo usa* protoform * team cmdi
captian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 03:53 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
ma racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 324
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Captian,
you referring to the plus 21-35 stock as opposed to Tuned? Y/N?
ma racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 06:00 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
captian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: city that never sleeps
Posts: 1,832
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ma racer View Post
Captian,
you referring to the plus 21-35 stock as opposed to Tuned? Y/N?
21-35. stock and the max xrs head shims set up
__________________
serpent america * max power * beast mods *kopropo usa* protoform * team cmdi

Last edited by captian; 01-30-2008 at 06:01 PM. Reason: add
captian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 03:34 PM   #14
Tech Regular
 
ma racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 324
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Ah! I got it. TY
ma racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2008, 10:02 AM   #15
Tech Master
 
captian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: city that never sleeps
Posts: 1,832
Default

let me know how it works out for you
__________________
serpent america * max power * beast mods *kopropo usa* protoform * team cmdi

Last edited by captian; 02-01-2008 at 10:03 AM. Reason: fix
captian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
maxpower MX 21 M5 opposite lock R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 08-26-2008 01:54 AM
MAXPOWER .12 P3 rcfoolz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 03-19-2008 02:27 PM
Looking for Maxpower M5b younghovaa Nitro Off-Road 0 11-21-2007 06:14 AM
MaxPower M3 .21 II Fast R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 07-16-2007 05:00 AM
MaxPower Bandeira Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 08-02-2004 12:43 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:02 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net