R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-27-2006, 10:28 AM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
Nitro Running HOT

I hope somebody can help me I'm a rookie in the Nitro world I have a Acme .15 motor I'm using Track's 10% Nitro fuel I think it's called Red Alert.. I have broken in the motor and tuned it to the best I could with the info that came with the motor. It is running around 260 to 280 heat wise I have a number 8 glow plug med to hot.. I have good smoke coming out of the pipe so it's running rich. What can I do to fix this????
ChaseRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 12:51 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Riketsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,514
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Riketsu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaseRacing
I hope somebody can help me I'm a rookie in the Nitro world I have a Acme .15 motor I'm using Track's 10% Nitro fuel I think it's called Red Alert.. I have broken in the motor and tuned it to the best I could with the info that came with the motor. It is running around 260 to 280 heat wise I have a number 8 glow plug med to hot.. I have good smoke coming out of the pipe so it's running rich. What can I do to fix this????
Get a better fuel (different fuel), open up the top-speed needle and check for airleaks.
Riketsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 07:09 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
Speedypeterb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Pompano Beach FL.
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Speedypeterb
Default

is the body cut out for cooling and also make sure the car is running free and not binding
__________________
Team Kyosho, Team Epic, IDM Engines, J-Tech racing fuels, Airtronics, Superiorhobbies.com
Speedypeterb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 08:15 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 364
Default

Hi!

We need more info, what you mean with ACME engine.

Some engine do run at 280*

So in order to help you we need more info about the engine and in what you are running it.
Edgar Millenium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 05:51 PM   #5
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 27
Default

Just for future reference for ya, hotter plugs cause the car to be ran at a lower temp and richer mix, colder plugs cause higher temp and a leaner mix. You get a little more power from a leaner mix in any combustion style engine, but sacrafice lenght of life. I personnally run my car with a super hot plug and a very rich mix and I don't notice a difference in the power. If you are going to run a hotter plug and richer mix, while tuning you don't want the car to hesitate when you punch the gas.



Switch to a hotter burning plug then run that bad boy rich, unless of course that is the normal temp for the motor.
spcards30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 09:46 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
ProudSavageOwnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Leboland Sydney NSW
Posts: 2,826
Send a message via MSN to ProudSavageOwnr Send a message via Yahoo to ProudSavageOwnr
Default

i had an engine running around 320 and nothing happened to it.....try getting some 15% or even 20% nitro..itll run abit cooler..and richen it out like 1 turn 1/2 turn and get an os a3 plug
__________________
FG leopard comp w/Trevor Simpson 28.5 bzm crank
HIP Baja 5sct
AE tc5 3.5t speed monster,Futaba 4pks
Raptor G4 ,Raptor e550,Gaui x5,Mini titan v2,Precision aerobatics bandit 4s monster,Carbon z scimitar Jr 11x
ProudSavageOwnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 12:11 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
SpeedBump57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 660
Default

IMO the 10% nitro is just not enough for the .15. You should be running 20% as most do with .12 to .18. The hgher nitro content will help cool the engine because you will be able to get the same power as with lower nitro content but with a richer fuel mixture hence the lower temps. Byrons makes a good 20% fuel as do others, I run Byrons.
SpeedBump57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Winter Nitro Running? Captpete Rookie Zone 8 07-13-2008 07:25 PM
Want to tune my nitro, but need to get it running first z28mccrory Rookie Zone 24 01-18-2008 05:06 AM
Nitro motor running hot Ashley Cobb Nitro On-Road 18 12-10-2006 03:03 PM
Running lower % nitro Illusion-Lighti Nitro On-Road 3 07-24-2005 10:12 PM
HPI RS4 Nitro 3 running problems racerhpi Rookie Zone 5 03-15-2003 11:07 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:21 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net