Wiki Posts
Search

Which nitro car/engine???

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2005, 03:45 AM
Tech Regular

Default Which nitro car/engine???

Hi,
I am an electric driver and looking at going to nitro 1/10. I was wondering what would car to get (hopefully well priced and good/parts availabilty), i was looking at the RDL Mongoose. Is this any good?

What would be a good engine for a decent price? is sirio any good? What pipe?

Do you have to use foam tires? all pics i see are nitros with foams!

thanks
Old 09-06-2005, 04:35 AM
Tech Adept

Hi,

Yes the rdlogics mongoose is an excellent car. I bought mine this season and couldn't be happier.

For the engine -- i went with an rb products v12 3port. This is the basic .12 engine from Rb. Works well -- not the most powerful but i have no problems keeping up at our track.
Old 09-06-2005, 06:43 AM
Tech Regular

the best car u can get is the car best supported by your LHS
what are your choices?

No point getting a GOOD engine yet if u dont know how to tune it... trust me i know...im still feeling the pain
get a cheap second hand one or a cheap basic one first...
Old 09-06-2005, 09:21 AM
Tech Adept

Car: serpent 710

engine: novarossi N12LS3
Pipe: get a suitable pipe from Novarossi
These are both top quality choices from my point of view.
Old 09-06-2005, 11:59 AM
Tech Champion

The best car handling I think is V1 RRR WC. It's the current world champ. Why buy RD logic ? This car is same as Team Magic G4 ( the original car ). In my home track, G4, RRR, 710 are frequent winning cars.

The best engine ? It depends how much money you are willing to spend. JP, Max, IDM, RB are premium modified engines. If you don't want to spent too much, Novarossi N12LL5, NSR12S5, OS TZ5 are respectable engines too. There is no point to risk yourself from buying second hand or cheap engine. You could always buy complete set P/S/R to renew engine life.

Dragon makes good point. If your LHS have a car of your choice and tons of spare parts, you are set